huangyu

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
R4i gold 3DS flashcard test

Two days ago, Rydian released the news that he received the R4i gold 3ds sample and will release a full review later. Related news in this Gba is here : http://gbatemp.net/t289660-r4i-gold-hands-on-impression And now i am here to send you a simple mini guide of this card in advance. i am not a review expert, so this post is just to help you know this card roughly.If you want to know more details about it, wait until Rydian's professional review...
rolleyes.gif
i am looking forward to his review too.

R4i gold 3DS Background and Conclusion

In the beginning,let's talk sth about R4ids.cn team and its two items ----R4i gold & R4i gold 3DS.

These two cards cards are released by R4ids.cn team. Their official site is www.r4ids.cn. They are running Wood R4 kernel or R4i official firmware.Until now (April 23th 2011),the latest wood kernel is Wood R4 kernel V1.28 and official kernel is R4i V1.51b,i use the wood R4 kernel firmware in this test.After you get this flashcard, you can download and use either of them.Personally,i suggest you use the Wood r4 kernel,because it updates more frequently and gives you better game experience.you can always find the latest Wood R4 kernel in the official site or our gba forum, so just download and use it when the new version comes out,very easy.

Package difference

IMG_2570.jpg

Front Package

IMG_2571.jpg

Back Package

In my opinion , there are two main differences between R4i gold and R4i gold 3ds. First is the appearance, as you can see in the pic, there is "3DS"label in the 3DS package, it shows that it is a 3DS flashcard. second, they are available for different DS consoles, R4i gold is only working for DS/DSi, and also you can not update the firmware to support 3DS.And R4i gold 3ds is working on both DS/DSi and 3DS with Wood R4 kernel.

Conclusion about the R4i item