Japan Virtual Console on American Wii ?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by rwdebes, Jun 10, 2009.

Jun 10, 2009
  1. rwdebes
    OP

    Newcomer rwdebes Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    is it possible to run or convert to NTSC japan virtual console games to play on my usa wii ???


    thanks .
     
  2. Red-Blue

    Newcomer Red-Blue Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Use Freethewads.
     
  3. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah freethewads to reigionfree.
     
  4. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    wds ftw! (wiizle diizle shiizle)
     
  5. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    you don't have to use "freethewads" since japan and usa are both ntsc.
    the only difference you might notice is ntsc j is a bit brighter with colors than ntsc u.
     
  6. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,503
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    That's right. I have Rockman Wad Japan VC on American Wii.. It works fine.. since both are ntsc.
     
  7. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i sense a test should have been carried out before this topic was made?
     
  8. Gamemaster1379

    Member Gamemaster1379 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    577
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Using Freethewads or using a patching program like Preloader for regionfree would work.
     
  9. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    is it just me or do ppl no read topics in there entirety anymore?
    no freethewads or regionfrii is needed at all because ntsc j will work on a ntsc u console and visa versa.
    if the wad was pal then yes that would be the case but it is not.
     
  10. JimmyBobAlex

    Member JimmyBobAlex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    I can't tell if some of the people in this thread are joking or not, either way it's making my brain hurt. Since when can you just install out of region wads without patching the region code in some way first(programs like preloader or directly patching through programs like freethewads)? Yes they're both NTSC, which refers only to video resolution and such, but that has nothing to do with region coding.
     
  11. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    i'm pretty sure that's what region codeing does.
    i had the Japanese weather channel on my wii without any patches and it worked on system menu 3.4u.
    now i'm on 4.0uand i even have some Japanese wiiware that works.
     
  12. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    correct

    preloader + region free channels hack = success.

    OR

    SEARCH = SUCCESS (it was a very common thing in the past so the answers are lurking somewhere)
    ASK = FAIL

    lol
     

Share This Page