Hacking Is there a way to update 8.1 Jap N3DS SysNAND to 9.0-9.2?

Tilde88

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2015
Messages
295
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
1,058
Country
United States
You will need a copy of the new revision of Super Smash Bros 4. It has the 9.2 update in it, and it can be used on the N3DS to make it GW 3.1 compatible.

Remember, only new revision of the cart. Old copies do not have the 9.2 update. If you have that white piece of plastic (Sky3DS), it can hold the ROM for you, and update via that.
 

andre104623

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
680
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Philadelphia, PA
XP
417
Country
United States
You will need a copy of the new revision of Super Smash Bros 4. It has the 9.2 update in it, and it can be used on the N3DS to make it GW 3.1 compatible.

Remember, only new revision of the cart. Old copies do not have the 9.2 update. If you have that white piece of plastic (Sky3DS), it can hold the ROM for you, and update via that.
Oh yeah that would work with a Japan console:glare: No OP there is no way at the moment for japan 8.1 users just update the emunand and it will work fine. Hopefully gateway will fix the 8.1 support. I was worried about this too and when the NEW 3ds support did come out and I got it working there was A LOT! of problems with gateway and 8.1 like it doesn't work at all just emunand does with no GW3D before the version number. Once I updated 8.1 emunand to 9.5 emunand everything started working
 

drfsupercenter

Flash Cart Aficionado
Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,909
Trophies
1
XP
1,163
Country
United States
There might be an updated copy of Smash Bros. in Europe and Japan as well, if anybody living there wants to waste some money trying to find one, let us know :P
 

andre104623

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
680
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Philadelphia, PA
XP
417
Country
United States
I thought 8.1J works with GW 3.1. Or are there issues?
No not without updating emunand first. Gateway and 8.1 New 3ds doesn't work on 8.1. So no mutirom menu, No devmenu, No GW3D before the system version no matter what size microSD you use so it's unusable. But when you format emunand in the gateway menu then boot up gateway mode you must turn on your wifi and close the new 3ds and let the update download. After about 15min-45min open the 3ds and it will ask you to update so update though the homemenu when you go back into gateway mode you will be on 9.5 emunand with everything working. Gateway knows of the problem and hopefully they can fix it
 

Kracken

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
257
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
134
Country
United States
No not without updating emunand first. Gateway and 8.1 New 3ds doesn't work on 8.1. So no mutirom menu, No devmenu, No GW3D before the system version no matter what size microSD you use

But all you need to do is install emunand and it works as usual? But people are afraid they'd update sysnand because of the lack of GW3D? I would personally never use GW without emunand anyways.
 

andre104623

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
680
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Philadelphia, PA
XP
417
Country
United States
But all you need to do is install emunand and it works as usual? But people are afraid they'd update sysnand because of the lack of GW3D? I would personally never use GW without emunand anyways.
I updated my post above. I know it sucks I unlinked my sysnand and emunand just to be sure I was in emunand. Updating in settings will update your sysnand DON'T DO IT
 

andre104623

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
680
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Philadelphia, PA
XP
417
Country
United States
But all you need to do is install emunand and it works as usual? But people are afraid they'd update sysnand because of the lack of GW3D? I would personally never use GW without emunand anyways.
You need to understand Gateway will not work with 8.1 emunand it will only work with 9.5 emunand. This applies to gateway 3.1 on Japan New 3ds 8.1 only
 

Kracken

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2015
Messages
257
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
134
Country
United States
I updated my post above. I know it sucks I unlinked my sysnand and emunand just to be sure I was in emunand. Updating in settings will update your sysnand DON'T DO IT

OK so essentially GW 3.1 does work with 8.1J, just not as intended (i.e. updating through settings)? I'd definitely wait until they fix this as that is pretty risky unless you are really confident in the process.

GW should put out a PSA regarding this as their site says "GATEWAY ULTRA 3.1.0 which brings support for the New 3DS, up to firmware 9.2 for regions EUR, USA and JAP!"
 

andre104623

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
680
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Philadelphia, PA
XP
417
Country
United States
OK so essentially GW 3.1 does work with 8.1J, just not as intended (i.e. updating through settings)? I'd definitely wait until they fix this as that is pretty risky unless you are really confident in the process.

GW should put out a PSA regarding this as their site says "GATEWAY ULTRA 3.1.0 which brings support for the New 3DS, up to firmware 9.2 for regions EUR, USA and JAP!"
If you unlink your system nand and emunand then you will know if you in emunand. Just put a theme on emunand like black,yellow,red and keep the sysnand white so when you go into gateway mode and your theme is on you know your in emunand. I will say though it is risky and gateway really should make a statement about 8.1J. I guess there's not that many people on 8.1 for them to care. I really want to do some tests on installing spider browser on sysnand since there is no browser. Then 8.1 users might be able to trigger the spider exploit on the N3ds. But till gateway fixes 8.1 will are not installing anything on sysnand
 

andre104623

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
680
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Philadelphia, PA
XP
417
Country
United States
OK so essentially GW 3.1 does work with 8.1J, just not as intended (i.e. updating through settings)? I'd definitely wait until they fix this as that is pretty risky unless you are really confident in the process.

GW should put out a PSA regarding this as their site says "GATEWAY ULTRA 3.1.0 which brings support for the New 3DS, up to firmware 9.2 for regions EUR, USA and JAP!"
Waiting might not be a good idea. Say if nintendo releases 9.6 or 10.0 whatever the N3ds can update the bootloader before booting the system and is the reason they said they wouldn't be supporting 9.5 emunand on N3ds because of that reason. Gateway did fix this and we are able to install 9.5 on our N3ds's but nintendo can do a lot more to the system then older 3ds's so if a new update does come out we might be waiting a while for the N3ds emunand update.

I would like to add when the new key encryption came in 7.1 I think. It took gateway 2-3 months to get emunand working again it was 2.3b with emunand 8.1. So we might in for a wait between updates
 

vingt-2

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2015
Messages
112
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
108
Country
Canada
What are you guys talking about? I have my JAP 8.1-0J Sysnand running latest updated Emunand with Gateway and multi-rom without any issue... Am I missing something in the discussion ?

Don't be freaked out by the lack of GW3D in front of the sys# and for all I know it's broken on all versions anyway.
 

andre104623

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
680
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Philadelphia, PA
XP
417
Country
United States
What are you guys talking about? I have my JAP 8.1-0J Sysnand running latest updated Emunand with Gateway and multi-rom without any issue... Am I missinge something in the discussion ?
We are talking about the New 3ds on 8.1 and no gateway mutirom menu, Devmenu, Classic mode, and the GW3D before the version number doesn't work no matter what sd card you use. This is a fact you can ask anyone here with a N3ds 8.1J. Cearp walked me though what to do because he has a 8.1 n3ds also
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • DuckDealer @ DuckDealer:
    question
  • DuckDealer @ DuckDealer:
    would anyone happen to know why trying to install the sonic cd port is just
  • DuckDealer @ DuckDealer:
    not doing anything at all
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    bad download?
  • DuckDealer @ DuckDealer:
    i was thinking that but ive tried it through Universal Updater and thru the github
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    run as administrator? dunno
  • DuckDealer @ DuckDealer:
    its for 3ds, shouldve mentioned
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    That is neat, but I wonder bout lag/ delay with it
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i remember have this for rca inputs over rf in the late 90's, iy was neat but i bet has a chunk of input lag when gaming.
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    thousand arm on ps1 is pretty cringe, but i can't stop playing it.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    $100 is still too steep
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I use to wire rca from vcr to coax in my teens fun times
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    yeah a decent long hdmi is $20 at best, i still have a came stop branded component and s video splitter.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    gamestop*
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Wish I could drill holes where I rent I'd have hdmi socket plates
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    You can get K3nv2 mum for less than $20, n that bitch has no lag at all.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    bro, hdmi and cat6 in every room is my dream home goals
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Good thing I already drilled @BigOnYa's wife
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    row row fight the powah!
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Cat6 is meh these days wifi pretty stable unless you ftp a bunch of shit all day
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i just prefer wired connections, more stability in general. i do ftp to my ps2 and og xbox and sometimes my 14tbof network storage for archival purposes
    .
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ye I use to have set ups like those but now I just fell less wires the better
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    when i say network storage i mean locally over openmediavault.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Just haven't had a reason to care for massive storage home media servers anymore
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Just haven't had a reason to care for massive storage home media servers anymore