Is my drive corrupt?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by WiiFan2012, May 23, 2010.

May 23, 2010

Is my drive corrupt? by WiiFan2012 at 3:06 AM (1,475 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. WiiFan2012
    OP

    Member WiiFan2012 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Country:
    United States
    I have tried FAT32, NTFS, and WBFS on one of the partitions of my Seagate FreeAgent GO 320GB external hard drive. Every time I plug it in and load up USB Loader, I get this annoying message:
    Sorry for the BIG photo, took it from my iPhone

    http://i497.photobucket.com/albums/rr332/W...pg?t=1274580213


    So, I assume this means my drive could be corrupt. Looks like I'll be buying another one...
     
  2. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    try this

    in the pc, format the drive to wbfs, then unplug from pc and plug to wii without turning disc off,
    turn on the wii and test,
    tell me if it does the same
     
  3. hdhacker

    Member hdhacker GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    Did you turn off the sleep mode using the Freeagent utility?

    Can you delete all the partitions, format it NTFS and copy files to it on your PC? If so, the drive is probably fine.

    When you created the partitions, did you make sure to make them ALL Primary? What OS are you using? XP is very explicit, but I think Vista and Windows 7 are a little trickier.
     
  4. WiiFan2012
    OP

    Member WiiFan2012 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Country:
    United States
    Yep I turned of the sleep mode the first day I got it, which it worked perfectly. Now it doesn't.

    Yep, I can format and use the partitions I create.

    I did not, but the disc utility did, and I am running Windows 7.


    The funny thing is, my Flash drive works perfectly.

    Any ideas?
     
  5. thesund0g

    Member thesund0g GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    The Boonies
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Try rebuilding the partition table/MBR from scratch. PartitionMagic had a CLI option for this; there are other methods, but i haven't had to do this in a while so I don't recall. Basically, if this is the case, the partition table is close enough that the PC can read it ok, but the Wii spazzes.

    Also, you're not doing a dynamic disk or any EFI crap, are you??
     
  6. WiiFan2012
    OP

    Member WiiFan2012 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Country:
    United States
    I have no idea if I am doing a dynamic disc or EFI....

    Edit: Went into Disc Utility and found a EFI System Partition.
     
  7. WiiFan2012
    OP

    Member WiiFan2012 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Country:
    United States
    Update:

    I tried reading the drive with Leopard's (have Win 7 via Boot Camp) and the disc cannot be read.
     
  8. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Country:
    Sweden
    I would use DBAN on it and try again.
     
  9. WiiFan2012
    OP

    Member WiiFan2012 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Country:
    United States
    Can't use that. Tried to burn the ISO to a DVD and no .exe was found in the DVD. Downloaded the .exe and could not install it..... The drive selection combo box wouldn't list ANY of my drives. Trying the KillDisc app. THAT won't detect my drive.... I'm getting to the point of buying another one.
     
  10. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Country:
    Sweden
    sounds like the USB part is fubar.

    Pop up the freedrive and out the harddrive and see if Windows work fine with it.
    If so, just get a external cabinette and put the HDD in it. Tada, new external drive.
     
  11. thesund0g

    Member thesund0g GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    The Boonies
    Country:
    Antarctica
    No, or else he wouldn't have been able to format it in the first place, silly [​IMG]


    Go download this: http://www.partition-manager.com/ plug in the drive, start the app and post a screenshot.
     
  12. WiiFan2012
    OP

    Member WiiFan2012 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Country:
    United States
  13. thesund0g

    Member thesund0g GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    The Boonies
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yup, that's your problem: you have it partitioned as a GPT disk. Most computers and devices still don't support these. When you hook them up to an unsupported device, you just see one huge unusable partition (on the original implementation). I forget how to do this in Partition Manager, but in the Windows Disk Manager (the thing built-in to Windows; right-click on My Computer and hit Manage). Lifted from the help file:

    Once it's a MBR disk, partition it and you are done! Depending on what you are trying to do with it, you may want to do FAT32, NTFS or 2 partitions, FAT32 (marked as active, this will hold your homebrew, UNEEK etc) -then- NTFS.
     
  14. WiiFan2012
    OP

    Member WiiFan2012 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page