Is it possible to activate a Ninetendo Wii Game without going to the s

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by karen3, Sep 5, 2009.

  1. karen3
    OP

    Newcomer karen3 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I play Super Smash Bros. Brawl on the Nintendo Wii. However recently the Nintendo Wii Sensor broke, so we cannot select the game we wish to play. Is there a way to go directly to the game?

    PS. We can play the game without the sensor, just cannot select to start the game...

    Thanks!
     
  2. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    use a classic controller or a guitar hero remote.
    or get a new sensor they're like $10 max.
     
  3. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    If you can't get out to get a bar, in a pinch you can light two candles the same distance apart as the shiny edges of the sensor bar and point the wii remote at that and use that.

    The sensor bar emits lights you can't see with your eyes but the wii remote sees it and it will treat the candles like a sensor bar.

    the sensor bar doesn't receive any information, it only plugs into the wii for power, it makes those lights so the wii remote knows where "center" is.
     
  4. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Orrr, if your Wii is old enough, you can install bootmii to boot2 and have that autoboot the HBC when you start up your system, and then load the game through GeckoOS from the HBC, which you can do with a GC controller.

    You can also use preloader 0.29 to autoboot into the HBC or even directly into GeckoOS in that case. Just make sure you're on a system menu that can use it first.

    I believe preloader also has a hack that can autoboot the disc on startup if you hold a certain direction on something.

    Edit: Though I suppose to install any of those in the first place you would need to get a working sensor bar/use a classic controller to get to the HBC as well. If you really don't wanna buy either of em, at least see if you can borrow something from someone else and just install those so you don't NEED them.
     
  5. lll

    Member lll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And a slightly more ridiculous suggestion: if you have a modchip, you could patch a backup of Brawl to autoboot.

    But yeah, if you can't get your hands on a replacement sensor bar soon enough, I think a Classic Controller will control the System Menu (not a GC controller, though).

    Or any pair of infrared light sources will do - all the sensor bar is is a set of four infrared LEDs on each side under the shiny black plastic. Candles (as mentioned above) emit IR as well as visible light so they'd work apart from the whole candlewax-on-your-TV thing. You could potentially get away with holding two TV/DVD/etc remotes roughly that far apart with a button held down on each if you were feeling masochistic...

    While I'm rambling about sensor bars, a good way to check if your sensor bar is working is to look at it through a digital camera's screen - I think really expensive cameras include IR filters but most don't, so you can see if the LEDs are lit.
     
  6. supagusti

    Member supagusti GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    Austria
    just get a replacement sensor bar [​IMG]
    or do the trick with the 2 candles if you're lack of money...
     

Share This Page