is it ok to install cmios rev5 in ios 249?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by k4ever, Apr 17, 2010.

Apr 17, 2010
  1. k4ever
    OP

    Member k4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Today I wanted to do an "update" to my wii, since some custom homebrew/firmware was kind of outdated. I went to filetrip and downloaded cios 38 rev 19, and also cmios rev5 ( I had rev 18, and cmios rev 3 ). I installed ( via network ) cios38 successfully, and I just used the default settings ( I think I used ios 249, but im not sure ). Then when I wanted to install cmios, it told me what ios base I wanted to use, and the default one was ios 249, so I was wondering what this could do to my system. Do I just install it with the defauult settings or do I use another ios? I really dont remember which base I did use when I installed my first cios38 ( it was rev14 ), and the first cmios (rev3).
     
  2. gameking66

    Member gameking66 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Country:
    United States
  3. k4ever
    OP

    Member k4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    Wont it interfere with cIOS 38?
     
  4. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    You don't get how this works...the cMIOS installer needs an IOS to install the cMIOS. That's what it asks you. It doesn't ask you in which Slot you want to install the MIOS, this isn't even possible. Reason for this: Many (or better, all new IOS) don't have the rights to do this, but Wanins cIOS can. You can also patch your IOS with Dop-Mii so that they have this right, but if you have Wanin's cIOS you're fine.
     
  5. k4ever
    OP

    Member k4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    I didnt know one IOS could have more than one cios ( in this case cmios also ).
     

Share This Page