Hacking IOS236 Installer Pro-P***** Edition

toxic9

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
812
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,218
Country
Hi!

Can anyone upload this app please?
I'm looking for IOS236 Installer v6 (I think it's the latest) but with the mod to remove the Anti Piracy Message...
That message if you press 1 you f... everything!

Thanks
 

Ryccardo

watching Thames TV from London
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
7,403
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Imola
XP
6,390
Country
Italy
Do you actually need that program, or just to install CIOS236 (itself fairly deprecated)?

In the latter case there are a few alternatives especially if you have HBC installed with AHBPROT support (since it's just IOS36 with a changed titleID and maybe trucha/etc patches)
 

toxic9

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
812
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,218
Country
I just would like to have it on my personal collection
I missed it, and it's very hard to find.
 

toxic9

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
812
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,218
Country
On another post @mr-exodia uploaded a DOL app to fix the AP message.
I tested his app and it didn't work. The message still shows up.

The IOS236 installer message changes after rerunning it for 6 or more times. It shows a hint to telling the user that he needs to proove he didn't pirate all wii games...
So, if we insert and run a wii game from disc, all RAM information is rewriten, and the IOS236 installer could run again. And why a wii game? what if we insert a Gamecube disc?
The answer is simple!
An easy fix for this Anti Pirate message (and everyone forgot it) was to reboot the console! SO easy!
Rebooting cleans all RAM information. If we insert a Gamecube disc, we are needed to reboot. We can't go back to wii menu... so the Pirate message do not indicate to play Gamecube games, because it simply cleans the memory it uses!
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,724
Trophies
4
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,469
Country
France
Oh I didn't know there were a v7, not even mods.
thanks for my collection too. too bad there's no changelog or info what this mod does.

I also didn't know about the antipiracy message, never had to install IOS236 more than once on the same console without rebooting, why would you?
I actually never had 236 because my 36 were never updated and still has trucha bug in it :) (still on 3.2E)
 
Last edited by Cyan,

toxic9

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
812
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,218
Country
this anti-pirate message is a classic on wii scene.
many of tutorials says to be careful and press button 2 when Installer asks to.
there is a myth if we press the wrong button (button 1) while installing IOS236, we are screwed!
and lots of people are afraid of pressing that button, because no one knows what happens next!
that's why I decided to test it and really press the wrong button!
this is what happens:

It unninstalls IOS236 and trolls you:
1.jpg

You run it again and it doesn't allow to install IOS236 again:
2.jpg

Running it 2 times it says it will give you a hint if you try harder:
3.jpg

After 6 tries it gives you a hint (to play an original wii game):
4.jpg

After that you can run the installer from beginning!
 
Last edited by toxic9,
  • Like
Reactions: Cyan

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,724
Trophies
4
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,469
Country
France
oh, thanks for the screenshots!
That's quite funny (now at least). it's indeed a waste of time, but the developer wasted his time to add this Easter egg and a counter :P
if it's only checking the RAM, then running a gamecube disc should also reset it. unless it's on a location not accessed by GCgames. but like you said, shutting down is enough.
 
Last edited by Cyan,

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,864
Trophies
3
Age
52
Location
Austria
XP
895
Country
Austria
Oh I didn't know there were a v7, not even mods.
thanks for my collection too. too bad there's no changelog or info what this mod does.

v7 MOD2

Changed startup mode:
If the "IOS36-64-v3351.wad" file is detected in the SD root, the automatic mode starts immediately (without waiting for 10 seconds), otherwise the Installer is started in standard mode

v7 MOD

Recompiled with the new libogc (for the new wiimote) and added the automatic mode.

v7 MOD2

Modificata la modalità di avvio:
Se viene rilevato il file "IOS36-64-v3351.wad" nella root della SD, parte subito la modalità automatica (senza aspettare 10 secondi), altrimenti l'Installer viene avviato nella modalità standard

v7 MOD

Ricompilato con le nuove libogc (per i nuovi wiimote) ed aggiunta la modalità automatica.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Cyan

toxic9

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
812
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,218
Country
oh, thanks for the screenshots!
That's quite funny (now at least). it's indeed a waste of time, but the developer wasted his time to add this Easter egg and a counter :P
if it's only checking the RAM, then running a gamecube disc should also reset it. unless it's on a location not accessed by GCgames. but like you said, shutting down is enough.

Yes! Running a GC game should also reset the memory!
The problem is that you can't actually test it, because you can't go back to Wii menu while playing a GC game.
You are also forced to shut down the console. (This is what the IOS236 dev didn't want you to know!)
On Wii games you can press "Home" and select Wii menu...!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Cyan

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
13,068
Trophies
3
Age
37
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
8,029
Country
Cyprus
I'm still trying to understand why anyone would want this for their collection? The V5 mod used by ModMii works just fine without any tricks. I guess the screenshots make for an interesting story but still I don't see why anyone would care to actually boot into this over V5 mod.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,724
Trophies
4
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,469
Country
France
my collection is more for preservation than use. even if it seems useless as nobody else would benefit from it unless asking for specific name/version. I don't intend to use them, and wouldn't recommend users to do it either.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

eyeliner

Has an itch needing to be scratched.
Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
2,428
Trophies
2
Age
42
XP
4,400
Country
Portugal
glad to see people archiving these nuggets out there
I wonder if a brave soul would eventually create a repository with these, along with what they do.
Should make up a nice virtual museum.
 

toxic9

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
812
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,218
Country
I have lots of goodies on my collection and some of them are no longer available online because of broken links...
These tools are important, in a retrospective way. I like to preserve the evolution of the scene.
And sometimes you find your old stuff useful!
How many of you ever needed something, and you remember you sent it to the trash can some years ago?
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,724
Trophies
4
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,469
Country
France
I didn't try all Waninkoko's tools, so I don't know.
I have only both wad installer and wad uninstaller v1 and v1.1
I also have a wad channel of the installer 2.1

I also have some "wad manager" but that's not what you asked.
 
Last edited by Cyan,

toxic9

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
812
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,218
Country
I found it on the depths of the internet!
The Pro-Piracy edition!
It's here in hope it doesn't disappear again!
 

Attachments

  • IOS236-v6-Mod.zip
    182.8 KB · Views: 589
Last edited by toxic9,
  • Like
Reactions: Nick1566 and Cyan

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Lol