Hacking Installing IOS questions

MarioMilo

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Hey all, I used this to hack my wii: http://wiihacks.pbworks.com/w/page/5250895/Hack%20Your%20Wii

N
ow, to play MH3 it says I need IOS55. I was wondering, if I were to install IOS53-64-v5406.wad and IOS55-64-v5406.wad, would I be able to play the backup copy of the game?

Current info: cIOS 222, 4.1e.

Sorry if this has been answered before. I've checked online in many places for this, please help :)

Lucif3r

Trophies
XP
Country
last edited by haruspex 2 years, 1 month ago

Awesome guide you got there. :rolleyes:
Redo the whole thing with a proper guide, such as modmii or the other sticky.

I love how people use stupid guides, then come here for help....

MarioMilo

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
What's wrong with this guide? I'm new to this so I'm a lil clueless. I'm learning the terms slowly though, but I had 3 days worth of experience haha.

Will using ModMii brick my Wii if I use it to install ios55 onto my 4.1e wii? :)

obcd

Trophies
XP
Country
Belgium
The guide you used is outdated, that's what is wrong with it.
Wii modding is a proces that changes occasionally. modmii follows these changes and uses the best solution for every job.

If you are using an usb loader, it will probably use a cios like 222 or 249. If this is the case, it doesn't matter if the official ios is installed or not.
A wii program can only use one ios at a time. That being said, be carefull not to mess with the ios used by your system menu. (Usually 60, 70 or 80)
Deleting or corrupting those ios can cause your wii to brick.

MarioMilo

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Ahk thanks people. Sorry for being a noob about things, I know how much some people would have raged at me for not knowing what I'm on about (I'm the same).