install hbc without dvd drive??

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by m-tek, Apr 24, 2009.

Apr 24, 2009
  1. m-tek
    OP

    Member m-tek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just got given a wii with "disc read error" on all games....

    What can I do to get hbc on it to run usb loader.. Can I put another dvd drive in it , install hbc then take the drive back out??

    What options have i got??

    Cheers
     
  2. Apekop

    Member Apekop GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Location, location, location.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    well its not gonna run the twilight hack without the twilight princess ey, so youll prolly need to get a working dvd reader in there
     
  3. m-tek
    OP

    Member m-tek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so will any working drive work a wii or are they paired to the mobo like 360's??
     
  4. Edgedancer

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    I am not sure what you mean by "paired to the mobo like 360's" but as of now, you have to run twlight princess to be able to install the homebrew channel.
     
  5. Social0

    Member Social0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    528
    Country:
    Belgium
    He's asking if the wii drive is hooked up to the wii like the 360 drive to the 360, where you need the correct keys to replace a drive
     
  6. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    There is absolutely no pairing. You can put any drive (DMS / D2A / D2B / D2C / D2C2 / D2E) in any Wii and it will work.

    You could borrow a drive from someone else's wii, install HBC, then give it back. Or use flatmii. Or buy a replacement drive. Or if you're not in a hurry, you could wait for Comex's Bannerbomb - which probably won't need a dvd-rom at all.
     
  7. m-tek
    OP

    Member m-tek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cool.. ive already got a chipped/softmodded wii ... I was given a faulty one for spares... But if I can getting running with usb loader I wont need a drive...

    Out of interest .. how far is bannerbomb from being released?? anyone know??
     

Share This Page