Importing a PAL 3DS to North America

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by awssk8er, Jun 9, 2012.

Jun 9, 2012
  1. awssk8er
    OP

    Member awssk8er GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    For a while now, I've been thinking about importing a Japanese Ice White Nintendo 3DS... but then I realized. I don't know ANY Japanese, and that's just a plain stupid idea.

    I then realized importing one from Europe would make more sense. Especially with the fact that full games are going to be available on the eShop, so I wouldn't have to buy games overseas all the time.

    I have three main questions/concerns.

    1) I know there are power differences because of different regions. Would I need a power converter to change from 220V to 120V (Correct?)? Or could I charge the PAL 3DS on my charger that came with my NTSC-U 3DS?

    2) Does the eShop take foreign credit cards? (Visa)

    3) Do they add any import fees or anything other than higher shipping costs? I was thinking about buying from Amazon.co.uk, but I'm not even sure if they ship worldwide.

    I'm hoping there's someone else here on the forum that has done that, and I want to hear about their experience. Thank you!
     


  2. DirkyD

    Newcomer DirkyD Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada
    To answer question 1, easiest to charge the PAL 3DS with a north american 3DS charger. I'm currently doing the opposite, north american 3DS charging using a european charger while I'm overseas.
     
  3. pmk010

    Member pmk010 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    To your right ->
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I haven't imported my 3DS from a different country and can't answer your questions however I do believe that certain online activities and things like download play may not work with your 3DS due to the 3DS being region locked. Here is a quote from wikipedia: (The 3DS has) Regional lockout for Nintendo 3DS, DSiWare, and Nintendo DSi-enhanced software between Japan, America and Europe/Australia.
     
  4. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    You can charge the european 3DS with the charger provided with your american unit - it's the output current that counts, not the input. By the way, no such things as PAL or NTSC 3DS'es. They're region locked, but that has nothing to do with the PAL/NTSC division. The eShop should take any credit card, at least to my knowledge.
     
  5. awssk8er
    OP

    Member awssk8er GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, thanks. I figured it was the charger itself, and not the 3DS.

    I forgot to mention that I knew that. I don't really care about download play or anything. Street pass works with different regions, and that's all I really care about.
     
  6. pmk010

    Member pmk010 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    To your right ->
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is such thing as PAL and NTSC 3DS's. Same for Wii and DSi.


     
  7. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Uhh... No.

    There is no such thing as a PAL/NTSC 3DS or PAL DSi - they're either EUR, JAP or USA.

    PAL = Phase Alternating Line
    NTSC = National Television System Committee

    Those are TV standards, not regions. They never were regions. This applies to home consoles connected to TV's, not independent handhelds.
     
    2 people like this.
  8. Ludicario

    Newcomer Ludicario Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    The european eShop takes Visa, you'll need a power converter 230V - 50Hz 7W. ;)
     
  9. pmk010

    Member pmk010 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    To your right ->
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    However people still use PAL and NTSC when referring to regions. Anyway let's stay on topic.
     
  10. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Let's stay on-topic indeed - a european 3DS takes the same current as an american one does, thus you can use an american charger no problem. I'm pretty sure that Streetpass is not region-specific thus it should also function normally. You shouldn't have problems with connecting to the eShop - you'll be connecting to the european one, not the american one though. The 3DS should work perfectly fine, it just won't accept american cartridges. That about covers it.
    EDIT: My mistake - I got confused lol.
     
    1 person likes this.
  11. awssk8er
    OP

    Member awssk8er GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you, that's all I needed to know. :P

    I actually thought that NTSC and PAL weren't the right terms when it came to handhelds, but I was looking on Play-Asia before and they used those terms. I didn't even realize I worded it that way. It was an accident, you guys are right.

    Edit:


    Wait... I will be? Don't you mean the other way around? With a European 3DS in America, shouldn't I connect to the European eShop?
     
  12. Skelletonike

    Member Skelletonike ♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,831
    Location:
    Steam City
    Country:
    Portugal
    I'm pretty sure that if he uses an European 3DS, he'll connect to the European eShop server, whether he wants to or not, I don't believe the place you connect from would change your eShop, since I've been to dif countries with my 3DS and always accessed the same eShop.
     
  13. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    lol, that's what I *wanted* to write but somehow mixed up the two 3DS'es. Yes, that's the case, sorry for the confusion, I'll edit now.
     
  14. awssk8er
    OP

    Member awssk8er GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    It turns out Amazon.co.uk won't ship region locked products to the US. Does anyone recommend another site?
     
  15. Kiaku

    Member Kiaku GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    273
    Country:
    United States
    Did you try ebay.co.uk yet?
     
  16. Ludicario

    Newcomer Ludicario Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
  17. Kiaku

    Member Kiaku GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    273
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder why there aren't any ice white replacement housings being sold yet...
     
  18. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Right. Handhelds or their games not being independent are definitely the exception.

    Rare instances of NTSC or PAL issues can arise when they run console games or TV output. Sega only released Game Gear and Nomad in 60hz form. Getting them into Master System backwards compatibility mode would have problems with games built for 50hz.

    In perhaps the most bizarre situtation... Super Game Boy was capable of executing region locked SNES data, stored on a region free Game Boy cartridge. The 16bit special mode in Space Invaders only runs under a correct region SNES.
     
  19. awssk8er
    OP

    Member awssk8er GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Most of them are higher than retail, but I guess it's the best way. It's hard to find without it being in the Mario bundle. They probably only sell the white one like that.

    Thanks.
     
  20. Ludicario

    Newcomer Ludicario Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    I found a lot more of Ice White 3DS alone than packed with Super Mario Land 3D in shops, but on the Internet, this is slightly different.
     

Share This Page