I shorted my Wii :( HELP!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by IxthusTiger, Feb 9, 2008.

Feb 9, 2008

I shorted my Wii :( HELP! by IxthusTiger at 7:06 AM (3,522 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. IxthusTiger
    OP

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    I bought an extra AC Adapter for Wii on eBay, and when I plugged it in, the brick sizzled and smoke came out of it. Now my Wii won't turn on even with the official AC adapter. Help! What do I do?
     


  2. paOol

    Member paOol GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    if it truly is busted. i'll buy your dvd rom off you [​IMG]

    maybe send it to nintendo if you still have warranty since you didn't open it up (unless its modded).
     
  3. tojomajojo

    Newcomer tojomajojo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United States
  4. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    thats sounds pretty bad, what was the adapter brand? I'm also looking for one, so i wont buy the one you got.
     
  5. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Just get an official one Lenselijer. You call Nintendo and they simply take your order. it was 30 euro's I think for a new one. Shipped and all.
     
  6. Upperleft

    Member Upperleft Namcoholic

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,049
    Country:
    United Arab Emirates
    That happened with my cousin but with official AC adapter
    he bought another adapter then it worked just fine [​IMG]
     
  7. Jdbye

    Suspended Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    Sounds like that's more than can be fixed easily. Like paOol said, try sending it to nintendo if you have your warranty and tell them what happened, just not that it was with an unofficial adapter [​IMG]
     
  8. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If they don't atke it you can always open it up and see if you can spot the problem yourself. If not you're screwed of course [​IMG].
     
  9. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Well... wtf did you buy a AC adapter when you have the offical?
     
  10. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    That is not needed. Try asking Nintendo maybe for a replacement unless its modded, which means your out of luck .
     
  11. IxthusTiger
    OP

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    There was no brand on the adapter other than "made in china." I wanted an extra one because I always take my Wii to others houses. My friend got me a wireless sensor bar, so I wanted a spare adapter to streamline the process of "grab Wii and leave." My system is modded so I don't want them to see what I did to the dv drive. Can I just replace a fuse or something?
     
  12. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Take out the chip.
    Dont try to replace anything.
     
  13. golden

    Member golden What a Digital Dummy!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    United States
    And if that doesn't work and you are forced to get a new one, take out your modded DVD drive as it is likely still good and replace the DVD drive with your new Wii and just sell the spare DVD drive to get some of your money back, you would lose about $100 I think.
     
  14. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Well just remove the chip.
    As long that you havn't burned the mainboard or rapaired any legs, just suck up the solder and repack it.

    Then send it.
    Then they got NO prove that you ever modded your Wii.


    And i dont think that they would look at the DVD drive first...
     
  15. golden

    Member golden What a Digital Dummy!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    United States
    I am pretty sure nintendo doesn't even look at your console at all, they dump it, then send you a new one. At least that's what they do with DSs.
     
  16. enriqueiglesias

    Newcomer enriqueiglesias Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    France
    In so far, at least in some countries in europe, nintendo will take in ANY wii, moded or not, with the chip inside or not, and for a fixed price (around 80€) send you one in working order (90% chance it will be a d2C revision drive one).

    Even more, they will remove the chip for you and send it in a little bag inside the shipping the box. The'll also send any discs that you may have forgotten inside properly packed or any cables or stuff that you also shpped by mistake.

    Although they don't take much of extra care in how they remove the chip from the console, but it' s usually fine and everything. Sometimes it arrives broken.
     
  17. IxthusTiger
    OP

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    Well, the repair shop down the street straight up refused to fix it because they don't have the parts since wiis are so scarce. I'm going to my friends house tomorrow, he's an electrical engineering major, and we're going to see what we can do. I hope it's just a fuse. Does anybody know if the wii has fuses? Or can point me where to look for them?
     
  18. enriqueiglesias

    Newcomer enriqueiglesias Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    France
    Well, on the drive board there are two fuses near where the cable connects to the drive board P3001 near six solder square pads and the are marked with an "N". But I don't know where the ones on the main board would be, and since your wii's not powering up, that's where you'd need to look. They are usually by the power plug, as your friend would know. In the pictures of the wii's motherboard the seems to indeed be one right by the power plug (bottom right corner of top picture by the letters pwr p11)

    [​IMG]
     
  19. IxthusTiger
    OP

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome! I will check out that fuse.
     
  20. IxthusTiger
    OP

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    My friend didn't have time to help me today. I bought a pocket multimeter, but I don't know what to do!
     

Share This Page