I finally bricked my WII by uninstalling System Menu :) Im just too go

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by nash79, May 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nash79
    OP

    Member nash79 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    Hi guys,
    As you may read in the title, I bricked my wii by uninstalling systm menu. Im not TOO pissed cause I had the reflex to install bootmii as a boot2 just before uninstalling it. I wasnt good enough to backup my nand.
    now the thing is. I have bootmii installed. I can run the HB Channel and Im able to run games from the menu replacement software. The thing is, im limited in using software that support GC Controller. So I can't get WAD MANAGER and I cant use USB Loader. Do you know if these software have some variants that use GC (Wiimote work fine once the game is launched so no worries).
    As far as my menu is concerned, Im left with two options, wait for the freedom menu (crediar apparently) or find a way to get the menu back in place (by encrypting a dumped nand with my keys and restoring it to mine; not sure thoiugh).
    Thanks in advance
     


  2. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
  3. KirovAir

    Member KirovAir Dutch Alcoholic Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I had the same problem. Lucky for you, I've spent 3 days to fix it and created tools (with help from #wiidev) to fix it. [​IMG]
    First get a setting.txt for your wii (google it), and then use the programs with a GC controller. [​IMG]

    FIX.rar =D

    When you remove the system menu as a wad, important files are deleted too, like setting.txt;
    A removed setting.txt breaks Wiimote support, and stops the sysmenu from booting. It won't be recreated with system menu installs. That's why I was screwed for a while. [​IMG]
     
  4. david432111

    Member david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    That reflex just saved you $250! Lol.
    Anyway just use Darkmystery's fix, but darkmystery misspelled the download url so look below.
    http://jessexd.nl/fix.rar
     
  5. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    Glad you got the help you needed on Wiidev, i was wondering if you got your wii fixed.
     
  6. nash79
    OP

    Member nash79 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    I hope it will work. Ill give it a try in a while. I have another wii, can I get a setting.txt from it? cause I cant seem to find it
    I hope it works [​IMG]
     
  7. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I think you make a blank setting.txt in the SD root and then you configure it with step 3.
     
  8. KirovAir

    Member KirovAir Dutch Alcoholic Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Here's a US setting.txt
    http://www.mediafire.com/?1zzjqzjijhd

    setting.txt are encrypted region settings of your Wii.

    Ye, thanks for your hint. They helped me ALOT. [​IMG]
     
  9. nash79
    OP

    Member nash79 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    can u plz post Pal setting.txt?
    thanks
     
  10. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    can't you dump it off your other Wii,
     
  11. nash79
    OP

    Member nash79 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    How? Nand dumper?
     
  12. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    might be able to use FSDumper or something new called FStoolbox
     
  13. nash79
    OP

    Member nash79 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    I dumped it, it's empty, is it because I have preloader installed? I used the search function with no luck. Can you please point me where I can find one for PAL? Thanks
     
  14. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    its NOT empty [​IMG] its just unreadable if you dumped it its fine
     
  15. nash79
    OP

    Member nash79 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    My WII_FS\TITLE00000010000002\DATA contains 0 files and O KB. How can I copy setting.txt to the root of my SD CARD?


    Update :
    I retrieved it through "setting replace" application
    let see how it goes now [​IMG]
     
  16. nash79
    OP

    Member nash79 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    It worked like a charm [​IMG] Thank you loads guys.
     
  17. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    what is this "setting replace" app or where you found it..?? [​IMG]
     
  18. nash79
    OP

    Member nash79 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
  19. Solecist

    Banned Solecist Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Figueira da Foz
    Country:
    Portugal
    hey guys ...iam with the same problem....but, already made all this things and even used a wadmanager 1.4 that works with GC controller....installed some things....and nothing.....my wii doesnt go to teh system menu....ive got a PAL Wii. help me please ! :S private msgs whatever u want! .... msn: andrepereirasantos@gmail.com
     
  20. nash79
    OP

    Member nash79 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    Did u install systemmenu WAD?
    Why dont u list all the steps u undertook so that we can troubleshoot what ur doing right and what ur not? You shoudl even tell us how u got here (what did u do to Eff up ur WII)
    Cause the method I used WORKS. Maybe ur problem is sthg else.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page