Huge 1.12 Suggestion

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Sn00p101, Sep 6, 2007.

Sep 6, 2007

Huge 1.12 Suggestion by Sn00p101 at 5:02 AM (3,883 Views / 0 Likes) 44 replies

  1. Sn00p101
    OP

    Newcomer Sn00p101 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    So I have an R4 and the one thing I want the R4 to have in the next update is Real-Time Saves. This is the only thing that makes me want to get a CyloDS Evo. So if the R4 team could do this, it could save me some money.

    Is there anyone else who supports my suggestion? I would appreciate positive feedback. [​IMG]

    Thanks
     


  2. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    the only thing is, it's a "planned" feature of CyloDS Evo.

    we don't know if it'll ever come out or if it's even plausible.
     
  3. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    plausible..
     
  4. queuewindow

    Newcomer queuewindow Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Arab Emirates
    What is a Real Time Save?
     
  5. TaMs

    Member TaMs Randomizer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Finland
    probably it means that you can save whenever you want, but i'm not sure.
     
  6. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know...the R4 doesn't have any extra memory on the card, so I'm not sure it it would be possible. The Cyclo Ds Evo on the other hand DOES have some memory built-in to the card (like...2megs, if I'm not mistaken), so it's likely possible on that card.

    But if it IS possible, that would be a good deal.
     
  7. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    It means save anywhere and continue the game from wherever it might have been that you left off. Like how most slot2 cards have real-time save.
     
  8. SynGamer

    Member SynGamer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I would assume that the save would be placed on the microSD cards...
     
  9. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States

    Yeah but it would have to have some of the surrounding codes to know what the save was about....to know where to jump you back into the game form...
     
  10. Kellicros

    Member Kellicros GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    Is it something like save-states in Emulators? that sounds awesome. [​IMG]
     
  11. zahimi

    Newcomer zahimi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Bermuda
    it is save state just like in emulators!
    [​IMG]
     
  12. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Yup sadly the slot2 cards only got realtime save/load for GBA games..
    And the Cyclo team must hurry i want the featrue for my Cyclo soon [​IMG]
     
  13. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,716
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All memory on the GBA is mapped which makes it very easy to read off and store, the DS on the other hand has several "write only" registers and a few sections not mapped making it a bit harder to pull off easily (you would have to intercept and note the writes which is potentially damn near impossible: some stuff gets loaded "on boot" and resides for quite some time.
     
  14. Sn00p101
    OP

    Newcomer Sn00p101 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    So it could work if there is memory on the R4 or if theres a specific folder on the micro sd?
     
  15. pkprostudio

    Member pkprostudio No

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Country:
    United States
    It's just like VirtualBoyAdvance! Ahhhh... good times... I remembered playing Mario Tennis and use the save every single time I score.
     
  16. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    but ya, i would love to have real time saves..
     
  17. Sn00p101
    OP

    Newcomer Sn00p101 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    Hahaha yeah, me too!!
     
  18. Rocky5

    Newcomer Rocky5 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    It should be possible if they can turn on and off the cheats ingame as this system must be running in the background for this to take affect then they must be abile to creat a save state on the card though it will not have a menu but a button combination like L,R,Select,Left to save and L,R,Select,Right to load but this would mean you are limited to one save state at a time per game.
     
  19. Sn00p101
    OP

    Newcomer Sn00p101 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, thats what I was thinking because of the cheats.
     
  20. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    perhaps the new acecard can pull it off?

    if i were to make any suggestions for 1.12 it would be this

    1.wii connectivity
    2.more refined cheat system(a la scds1)
    3.the ability to have different views in the file viewer

    the GUI was THE reason i passed up the R4 over my SCDS1
     

Share This Page