How to update to firmware 3.3 without updating to 3.4

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Dinoguy, Mar 21, 2009.

  1. Dinoguy
    OP

    Member Dinoguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United States
    I got a new used wii(It looks new,but it was from a pawn shop)for my cousins and I want to update it to the same firmware as my wii 3.3
    theirs is 3.1
    So how do I update it to 3.3 or do I just install starfall on theirs?(No wii game updates)
    What do you recommend?
    What advantages does the 3.3 update give you anyway?
     
  2. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    I would update to 3.4 so as to obtain all the IOS that the menu version offers and then proceed to downgrade to 3.2 and install starfall after which I would advise CIOSCORP v2 (This is for backups or you could just use the launcher if prefered. I like disk channel loading though.) and then the Wiigator's CMIOS With backup support. GC Backuplauncher 0.1 xi is the most recent version. when installing that be sure to press the x button once to add support to the Wii backup loader. (You will have full backup loading through the disk channel. Region free can be obtained through the use of Gecko OS or the wii backuploader if needed. It's by far my favorite setup. For a user that doesn't want backup loading then just go to 3.4 downgrade 3.2 and use starfall.
     
  3. BIG MOE

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    Click on the first link in my signature [​IMG] good luck
     
  4. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    or update using Animal Crosing: City Folk, but why to 3.3 if the good one is 3.2..??
     
  5. Dinoguy
    OP

    Member Dinoguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United States
    I have 3.3 and it works fine I just wondered if it was a good firmware so I upgrade then downgrade.
    Ok I'll try the same with my wii
    DO I have to uninstall anything?
     
  6. vettacossx

    Member vettacossx Wii Theme Team Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Right Behind You! Uh Oh!
    Country:
    Ireland
    why not DOWNGRADE to 3.2u while you can its the best FW because you can run Starfall and preloader (this is the only way for you to recover a bricked wii console without a modchip) plus CSM (customized system menus/wiimenu) region free gaming for Wii,VC,Wiiware,Gamecube (including loading from the disc channel)

    I am upping a video tutorial to downgrade and super softmod any console a video walk through of a running pir8s guide and softmiis guide as well as backup loading wii/gc ect

    i use this combined set of guides..
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=139700
     
  7. Dinoguy
    OP

    Member Dinoguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United States
    I installed starfall and bootmii (I think thats the name) on my 3.3 wii or it was 3.3 now its 3.2

    Whenever I run cIos downgrade 1.2 it returns me to the sytem menu ,does it matter if I installe the wii shop cios updater?(this is on the 3.1)
    Please reply I need to send it to them as fast as possible.
     

Share This Page