1. Mackk

    Mackk Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    I recently bought a PSP 3000 with 6.20 OFW on it, I plan on playing psp games, some homebrew and emulators on it. Does upgrading to 6.60 OFW so I can run 6.60 CFW and go without the permanent CFW offer any advantages (or is CFW like it is on the 3DS running it in "emunand" and running a later CFW than the OFW on the handheld)? If I go with permanent 6.20 CFW for now is it easy enough to upgrade to 6.60 CFW?
     
  2. G0R3Z

    G0R3Z Just Can't Be Bothered
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    737
    Country:
    I just bought a PSP 2000 (second hand) that has 6.60 on it. There is absolutely no way of telling if, when it's ever had 6.20 on it. Is it safe to flash it with 6.60 PRO permanently?
     
  3. ceifadorx

    ceifadorx Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Brazil
    yes, very safe.
     
  4. _nodii

    _nodii Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    x
     
    Last edited by _nodii, Jan 5, 2016
  5. _nodii

    _nodii Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Hi all. How does one update from CFW 6.20 PRO Permanent to 6.60 or above CFW Pro Permanent?
     
    Last edited by _nodii, Jan 5, 2016
  6. falken

    falken Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Above 6.20 there is no permanent.
     
  7. TecXero

    TecXero Technovert
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,811
    Country:
    United States
    If you're on a Brite (3000) then there is no permanent for you above 6.20, but it's really easy to boot up temporary CFW.
     
    cvskid likes this.
  8. YourHero

    YourHero GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,025
    Country:
    United States
    Do I have to upgrade my 6.37 console to 6.60 and then downgrade it to 6.20 to get the most here? I picked up a psp1000 model for 20 bucks and it's been sitting here collecting dust.
     
  9. TecXero

    TecXero Technovert
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,811
    Country:
    United States
    Just update to 6.61 and install ME or Pro on it. You can get the latest version of those on the Wololo forums. If you want iR Shell, you'll have to go for 5.00M33-6 instead, but there's very little reason to use it anymore.
     
  10. cvskid

    cvskid GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    United States
    IRShell works on 6.60 pro c2 on a fat psp but some features might not work, haven't tried all of it's features myself. Main reason to use it i figured was for the tv remote feature.

    Also wasn't the only reason to update to 6.61 was for the psp psn store? If so then that will be closing down soon.
     
    Last edited by cvskid, Mar 7, 2016
  11. TecXero

    TecXero Technovert
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,811
    Country:
    United States
    Without the firmware patch, iR Shell is pretty worthless beyond a fancy TV remote. There hasn't been a proper patch since firmware 5.00. There have been some unofficial patches, but they tend to be a bit unreliable. I thought 6.61 also fixed an issue with a particular game. Either way, it doesn't really matter. On a Phat, you're free to pick the firmware you want and its respective CFW.
     
    cvskid likes this.
  12. paper183

    paper183 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    I think there should be a mention in the guide that going to original firmware 5.00 on a phat system can mess you up if you have a patched 0x0005 key because you cannot update to 6.60 or any other official firmware either, so no 5.03. Only way to recover from this is with a pandora battery to be able to run the keycleaner.
     
  13. Foxi4

    Foxi4 Cynical Absurdist
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26,899
    Country:
    Poland
    If you're looking for something akin to IRShell that actually works on contemporary firmware, give Xplora 2 a try - great file explorer with a complete set of utilities.
     
  14. powelwojtasik

    powelwojtasik Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Poland
    Hi guys,
    I'm totally new to this forum and I have a question. Recently I bought PSP 3004 with CFW 6.35 PRO B4 installed and I would like to update it to 6.60 OFW and install CFW 6.60 PRO-C fix 3. The problem is there was no PROUPDATE on the console so I can't uninstall the 6.35 CFW like I should. So the question is, can I download any CFW 6.35 PRO B4 and use the PROUPDATE from it to uninstall the CFW that is currently installed or can it cause some problems? Or maybe I can use any version of PROUPDATE to uninstall the 6.35 CFW?
    I've read that 6.60 is the way to go cause it's the most stable and has no probs with most of apps so please help :)
     
  15. Nyap

    Nyap HTML Noob
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    971
    Country:
    hey I have a PSP 3004 with 6.39 - I currently have something called "pro-cfw" installed on it, have no idea what I'm doing and have a couple of questions
    a) what's the least risky way of downgrading to 6.2
    b) how do I install a cfw on boot
    c) why does it ask me to enter the date and time every time I reboot the psp?
     
  16. Tenshi_Okami

    Tenshi_Okami GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,484
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Just install the Infinity Permanent CFW, it's a little long, but it's worth it in the end
     
  17. Nyap

    Nyap HTML Noob
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    971
    Country:
    I have no idea what I'm doing D:
    do I need to uninstall the current cfw? will doing a factory reset delete cfw and bring it back to like it was at the factory, therefore letting me start fresh? can I update once I've installed cfw on boot, or will that break it?
    plz help D:
     
  18. Tenshi_Okami

    Tenshi_Okami GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,484
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    You don't have it installed Permanently right?
     
  19. Nyap

    Nyap HTML Noob
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    971
    Country:
    don't think so, I have to launch this app and then a bunch of games appear on the home menu (is that even what it's called lol)
     
  20. Tenshi_Okami

    Tenshi_Okami GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,484
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Just follow this and you will be good to go
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Softmod, (Hack),