How to Patch Games with an arm7.bin file..

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Curley5959, Jul 11, 2008.

Jul 11, 2008
  1. Curley5959
    OP

    Member Curley5959 CCC Member!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    HOW TO PATCH GAMES THAT HAVE A "SAVE DATA CANNOT BE ACCESSED" SCREEN

    This was taken Directly from my other topic, The Incredible Hulk - Patched and Working.. But due to people not knowing that games that come up with this message need to be patched, I thought I would create another topic.. If this is not needed, Just delete it, But I think that this IS needed because other people do not know where to go..

    Most Games that come up with this message, "Save data cannot be accessed, Please Restart" means that the game needs to be patched..

    We will be using the Max Crass Method to patch this rom..

    First of all, download this pack containing:

    DSLazy
    Max Overload 1.2
    arm7.bin
    README.rtf


    LINKS REMOVED! ARM7.BIN PRESENT.

    Next, we will extract this to a convenient place (Desktop for instance)

    Open DSLazy which is in the DSLazy folder..

    Click the ... button and browse for your Name Of Rom Here.nds file.. Click OK

    Click on NDS UNPACK and that will bring up a folder..

    Next, we have to copy the arm7.bin file into this folder that has popped up.. Replace the one that is already there..

    Next, we will click on NDS PACKER and choose a place to re-pack that folder (desktop again for example)

    Now, we will open up the Max Overload 1.2 folder and then open the Max Overload patcher

    Click on OPEN and find your Name Of Rom Here.nds file that you just replaced the arm7.bin file with (make sure you do not get these confused)

    It will come up with something like this for example

    Arm9
    Rom offset: 00001000
    Entry addr: 02000700
    Ram addr: 04000000
    Rom size: 000CAS58
    Card read end not found


    That is basically it, close all of these programs and copy the newly patched Name of Rom Here.nds file onto you flash cart..

    It should work but I only have an r4.. And I can tell you that most games work on that..

    I hope this guide has helped you guys out

    ...and I would just like to thank acevampire whose video on youtube was very helpful.. And also the forums at max console where I got the Max Overload 1.2 and DSLazy files from.. And also our very own Rayder for giving me the hint to Google Max Crass Method


    Enjoy.. [​IMG]


    EDIT: Just found out that you do not even have to patch it with the Max Overload Patcher!! Thanks for that find cosmiccow....

    Steps in this colour do not have to be taken because they do not contribute to it working.. It does not make a difference but if you like, You can patch it if you want.. [​IMG]

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------vvvv IMPORTANT vvvvv-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Recently a few people have been having some trouble with opening DS Lazy.. There is a solution..

    Code:
    The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000135). Click on OK to terminate the application.

    Solution
    90%+ of the time this error message occurs because you do not have the latest version of the Microsoft .NET Framework installed on your computer. By default, the .NET Framework comes installed on Windows XP computers, and can be downloaded for free for older operating systems (like Windows 2000). DDT requires atleast version 2.0 of the .NET Framework (your Windows XP may have an older version - v1.1). The easiest way to remedy this problem is to download & install .NET 2.0 from the following link:

    Download .NET 2.0

    If you're sure you have an adequate version of .NET, the problem may be with a corrupt or mis-installation of .NET. This does not happen often, but it is possible and will prevent you from running the DDT. I'm no expert on "fixing" .NET issues (just like an engine guy usually can't fix your transmission), but I did find this article which gives some helpful information about repairing a .NET installation:












    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    EDIT rscarrab found a fix for DS-X users.. Here it is..

    Success!! METAL SLUG 7 WORKS ON DS-X*! (*to a certain degree)
    Use the "Max Crass Method"; Further info & Max Crass zip package http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=90078

    Basically i extracted MS7 using "DSlazy" and manually pasted the "arm7.bin" file contained in the "Max Crass zip package", re-packed and patched using "Max Overload 1.2 patcher".
    When Max Overload 1.2 patcher is finished you should see this in the dialog box:

    Arm9
    Rom offset: 00004000
    Entry addr: 02000800
    Ram addr: 02000000
    Rom size: 0004D7B8
    Card read end not found

    It created a .PAT file which was identical to said .nds in terms of file name (ie. Metal Slug 7.PAT) but not size (should be 1kb).
    I patched the file while it was on the DS-X so there was no need to copy anything over.
    The .PAT file was present in my "apps/metal slug 7/" folder after patching.
    I forced the EEPROM to save (loaded up CV: POR, saved, switched off then turned it back on) and it was done.

    Please note: (1)I removed the save file, make sure no save file is present. (2) It seems that you need to use the arm7.bin provided in the Max Crass zip package.

    I didnt want to use DSlazy, I have been using a donor/patient type patching program (arm7 injection) that uses "Sim City (J)" to arm7 patch the patient rom (props to Bad_Ad84 for making that program, who in turn thanks others for the method and so on and so on...). It seems most likely the Sim City (J) arm7.bin file is useless for injecting the newer releases. Back to using DSlazy...

    Aside from all of that iam pleased to be playing MS7. Iam aware that there is supposedly meant to be issues regarding freezing after using sleep mode (this did not happen for me, though the bottom screen dissapeared... not a bother though, the map looks shite). Others mentioned issues such as in-game resetting... so far i have beaten the first boss and reached the 2nd level, with not a hiccup. Of course one-play through without significant issue isnt enough to warrant MS7 to the status of "100% working" on the DS-X catalogue of compatible games... Im sure if Simon "Scorpei" van de Berg says it "works with problems" than i should expect a hiccup any minute now... ->(Scorpei's DS-X Compatability List) http://wiki.scorpei.com/index.php/DSX_compatibility_list

    EDIT: For any of you that are aware of this method already than fine, others, such as my fellow DS-X users in this thread, may not be aware of this fix and so im saving time for those who dont want to read up on; "Max Crash", "Incredible Hulk: a guide to patching the rom" and the "Max Overload 1.2 patcher".
     
    1 person likes this.


  2. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If all you do is replace the Arm7.bin, isn't that just what people had to do back last year (and DSX users had to do until January)

    Or is there a subtle difference that I haven't noticed :|
     
  3. Curley5959
    OP

    Member Curley5959 CCC Member!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    not sure.. [​IMG] I dont really cover the DSX Im afraid.. I dont know about them [​IMG]
     
  4. Miss_Mina

    Newcomer Miss_Mina Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Currently Unknown
    Country:
    Canada
    Very usefull [​IMG] Keep it up [​IMG]
     
  5. recacer

    Newcomer recacer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    holy crap... was never really sure what the patchers were all about. i tried this on carnival games (im using m3ds real)... and it worked perfectly.

    my daughter thanks you.
     
  6. Curley5959
    OP

    Member Curley5959 CCC Member!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Ohh, Thats why I like to make guides.. I help people that dont know how to do it.. "Especially Little Boys..!!" Umm, It slipped.. [​IMG]
     
  7. GatorDeb

    Member GatorDeb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    United States
    I did that for Carnival Games and still doesn't work with a CycloDS Evo.
     
  8. Curley5959
    OP

    Member Curley5959 CCC Member!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    EDIT: rscarrab found a fix for DS-X users.. In first post...
     
  9. Curley5959
    OP

    Member Curley5959 CCC Member!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Some games have recently been stuffing up for people, So i thought I would revive this thread before heaps of other threads flare up [​IMG]
     
  10. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Is Max Overload even necessary? I thought that just the act of replacing the ARM7 was enough to get the games to work, and that the Max Overload patcher was specifically for the slot-2 Datel products.
     
  11. Dark^'^Knigh

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm sure you're right, as I've never needed to do any more than replace the ARM7.bin to get the games to work. I note he edited the original post advising the MO is not required.

    At the time, Curley 'rewrote/elaborated' in his own words the nfo that comes with the original download file, hence the inclusion of the MO part.
     
  12. Curley5959
    OP

    Member Curley5959 CCC Member!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I did?? Im joking..

    And if anyone uses this method, let me know how my guide was to doing it.. It will help me out with other setups for guides..
     
  13. SignZ

    Member SignZ Timelord

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,080
    Country:
    Germany
    I did that on the new Sonic game (dark brotherhood). And it works on my R4 [​IMG] Thx
     
  14. go185

    Member go185 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    btw, just in case anyone was wondering, the "Max Crass Method" is the same thing as the "arm7-fix" that I developed, but the people on the Max Console forums just took it (more like "stole it") and renamed it.
     
  15. ravnel

    Newcomer ravnel Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I love using the arm7 injector. Is there any updates to it? I hate using the dslazy. i found it hard to use and it didnt work for me.
     
  16. Twiggy12

    Member Twiggy12 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Aussie land (Australia)
    Country:
    Australia
    wow it works thanks heaps i never would have thought it was that easy! great job again curley! lets just hope the sonic game was worth it...
     
  17. Curley5959
    OP

    Member Curley5959 CCC Member!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    53 users looking.. WOW...

    no problem Twiggy..


    PM me with questions if you have trouble or post here.. [​IMG]
     
  18. dragonx321

    Newcomer dragonx321 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Singapore
    How did you do it? i did the instructions carefully and the sonic game still didnt work
     
  19. Curley5959
    OP

    Member Curley5959 CCC Member!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    hmmm, let me try doing it and Ill see if it works.. Do you have firmware 1.18??

    Hang on, Ill try it..
     
  20. Curley5959
    OP

    Member Curley5959 CCC Member!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Works fine for me..

    has everyone here deleted the arm7 file from the sonic folder and then replaced it with the other one, Not just replace??
     

Share This Page