Tutorial How to make your Wii display in 3D.

Do you think this will work?


  • Total voters
    14

Anon10W1z

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
1,112
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere over the rainbow
XP
173
Country
United States
Let me start off by saying that for this guide you will need:
  • A Sony Bravia EXxx 3D-capable TV (Where "xx" can be anything) or any TV capable of "Simulated 3D"
  • 3D glasses compatible with your TV.
  • The TV's remote (duh!)
  • Time and patience (stop if you don't have at least a bit of these two)
Note: The steps in this guide are for the Sony Bravia EX-whatever 3D-capable TV's. Any TV can do this job, but these are specific steps for those certain TV's. Steps may vary for TV's from other brands.



So we'll start off right here.

  1. Turn on the TV, and your Sony 3D glasses.
  2. Switch to the Wii's input (AV or component)
  3. Press the "3D" button on your TV remote.
  4. Change the "Off" setting to "Simulated 3D"
After wearing your 3D glasses, the Wii will gain some depth-perception to it. For example, look at the Photo Channel banner and animation!




Tip: You can use your Wii to charge your 3D glasses (either USB port is fine to use (if you use USB loading on one port, then the other can charge your Sony 3D glasses)

Tip2: Since Netflix runs on the Wii, you can stream its library in 3D!
 

DaggerV

Archmagi of the Emerald Moon
Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
932
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
359
Country
United States
Nice, might work on any 3D t.v. with simulated settings. Will have to try on my brother's next time I'm over.
 

BORTZ

DO NOT SCREENSHOT
Supervisor
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
13,202
Trophies
2
Age
32
Location
Pittsburgh
XP
15,077
Country
United States
Its simulated 3D right? like the TV guesses or plays the video back twice for both eyes or something right?
No, it upconverts the 2D video signal to 3D, which you can view via 3D glasses. It does a pretty good job.
Oh oh ok. I guess i have less of an idea than i thought. Thanks.
 

PsyBlade

Snake Charmer
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
2,204
Trophies
0
Location
Sol III
XP
453
Country
Gambia, The
I don't think that this can work well.
The converter does not know which object belongs where.
At best it could make educated guesses.
But there will allways be cases where it guesses totally wrong.
Just compare it with upconversion in other dimensions (size, colour, time).
 

Anon10W1z

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
1,112
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere over the rainbow
XP
173
Country
United States
I don't think that this can work well.
The converter does not know which object belongs where.
At best it could make educated guesses.
But there will allways be cases where it guesses totally wrong.
Just compare it with upconversion in other dimensions (size, colour, time).
Well, it does do a pretty good job of detecting objects (take it from me)
 

Anon10W1z

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
1,112
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere over the rainbow
XP
173
Country
United States

arbiter34

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
19
Trophies
0
XP
148
Country
United States
You should re title this thread as "How to make your display in 3D." I would hope if you have a 3dtv that has 2d-3d conversion, you'd have to common sense to realize you can use it.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Mini Smartphone iLight 11 Pro The World's Smallest 11 Pro Android Mobile Phone, Super Small...