How to make a Minecraft Server without Hamachi

Discussion in 'General Tutorials' started by dicamarques, May 13, 2012.

May 13, 2012
  1. dicamarques
    OP

    Member dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
    Introduction

    So you love minecraft and you host a little server for you and your friends, but then comes hamachi which makes everything slower (lag), if you have these types of problems (or if you are tired of hamachi) this guide is for YOU!

    Stuff You Need

    Preparing the environment

    Ok after you install your OS in your computer and installing Java and Minecraft its time for making your server:
    1. Create a folder in your computer (it can be somewhere in your desktop for example)
    2. Go to dl.bukkit.org (downlod link above) and download the latest recommended build
    3. After that create a new notepad and add this inside:
      Change -Xmx****M to a value of ram you want to alocate for your server (java 32bits can only use a max of 1gb (1024M))
      FOR JAVA 6
      Code:
      @ECHO OFF
      SET BINDIR=%~dp0
      CD /D "%BINDIR%"
      "%ProgramFiles%\Java\jre6\bin\java.exe" -Xmx1024M -Xms1024M -jar craftbukkit.jar
      PAUSE
      FOR JAVA 7
      Code:
      @ECHO OFF
      SET BINDIR=%~dp0
      CD /D "%BINDIR%"
      "%ProgramFiles%\Java\jre7\bin\java.exe" -Xmx1024M -Xms1024M -jar craftbukkit.jar
      PAUSE
      
    4. Now save it as .bat
    5. Double Click it and let the server generate the map and the files (it may take 3min to boot up for the first time)
    6. Now close the server by typing " Stop " on the console
    Configuring your server


    Congratulations you have a functional server but nobody can connect to it :D

    • In your server folder you'll see a file called " server.properties ", open it with wordpad
    • You'll see something like this: (leave online-mode=true if you want to use your server only with paid accounts and not cracked)
      Warning: Spoilers inside!
    • You just need to change the following values:
      - server-ip= (leave blank)
      - online-mode=false
      - server-name= (give it a name :P)
      - motd= (describe the server)
    • Now boot your server, and then go to your minecraft and go to the multiplayer, the ip for YOU that is hosting the game is going to be " localhost "
    • See if everything is alright and try closing your server using the in game chat by typing " /stop "
    Making your server accessible from anywhere in the world!!!

    You've made it, you have a server but now only YOU can access it, so let's move on:

    1. Go to www.no-ip.com and register on that website (don't worry it's free)
    2. After registering login and then add a host by clicking "Add a Host" (pretty obvious :P)
    3. On this page your are only going to change one thing:
      - "Hostname", Type the name you want for your ip and select a No-ip Free domain from the box on the right
    4. Now hit "create host" and your almost done :D
    5. You remember the D.U.C. in the beginning? I hope you have downloaded it because we are going to need it now, anyway download it and install it
    6. Enter your login and password in the box and your done.(REMEMBER: You must have this running every time you turn your server on otherwise nobody can connect to your server!) Edit: (Well not ALL the time because your external ip might not change for weeks, or for some people it can change evyday, it differs from ISP to ISP)
    Your almost done


    Now we need to port forward your router otherwise nobody can connect to your server even using your no-ip link.

    Option 1#
    See this link: http://gbatemp.net/threads/port-forwarding-why-and-how.331901/ (thank you Rydian)

    Option 2#
    1. Go to www.port-forward.com and on your left side select your router brand and model,
    2. After that see if you find Minecraft on the gigantic list
    3. Follow the guide knowing that minecraft uses the port 25565, you can change it on your server.properties files, but when you give the link to somebody you have to add this ": (the port your using) " For example: lasthopecraft.servebeer.com:25585
    4. After messing with your router boot your server once again and then go to this site canyouseeme.org, and in the box add your Port (25565), if you did everything correctly it you should get a Green Word saying that can see you.
    And there you have it now you just need to give the ip you created in no-ip.com to your friends and say good bye to hamachi! :rolleyes:
     
    Margen67 and costas94 like this.


  2. thiefb0ss

    Member thiefb0ss GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Moscow
    Country:
    Russia
    Nice guide.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  3. dicamarques
    OP

    Member dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
    Thanks :D
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  4. pwsincd

    Member pwsincd Garage Flower

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,976
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have created the server , but cannot connect on localhost : error in server is : Outdated server! < what i gotta do here?
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You need to update the sever... you're using old server software. You should download the latest version from minecraft.net.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  6. pwsincd

    Member pwsincd Garage Flower

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,976
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have 1.4.2 server created is 1.3.2 not sure what to do .. its a cracked version of minecraft we have.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You need to download the 1.4.2 server software.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  8. pwsincd

    Member pwsincd Garage Flower

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,976
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have in both exe and jar formats , but when following the tutorial created here it doesnt use those . damn confused..
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  9. pwsincd

    Member pwsincd Garage Flower

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,976
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Doh craftbukkit 1.4.2 needed dumb moment .
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  10. Sop

    Banned Sop groovy dude lmao

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Location:
    qld
    Country:
    Australia
    Also, you should add a basic tutorial on plugins (Essentials? Worldguard? PEx?)
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  11. dicamarques
    OP

    Member dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
    This is a basic tutorial, for small servers for playing with a few friends withou too much lag, but I like the idea :D I also need to learn how to use some plugins. But its noted :)
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    In general the easiest server mods to use are bukkit plugins, since installation is as easy as dropping some .jar files into the plugins folder and restarting the server.
    http://plugins.bukkit.org/
    Once the server has run and found the plugins, it'll generate each plugin's config file (and a folder with extra data if the plugin needs it).
    You can edit the plugin settings and restart the server software to apply everything.
    However some plugins want/need some sort of permission setups, and that's a more in-depth, annoying process.

    Of course, this relies on bukkit being updated for your minecraft version, as it's always slow to update (for legit reasons, though).
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  13. dicamarques
    OP

    Member dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
    If you want you can use the beta build, its a bit stable but you can use it until the recommended build is out.
    http://cbukk.it/craftbukkit-beta.jar
    "A Beta Build is in between a developer build and a Recommended Build. These builds simply work and are promoted much more frequently than a Recommended Build." from Bukkit Forums
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not even talking recommended, sometimes it'll be a week or three before the beta comes out (like with the huge 1.3 changes).
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  15. AnimeFanLuver

    Newcomer AnimeFanLuver Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    When i join my server, it says Failed to login: Bad Login
    Help! I did everything!
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  16. dicamarques
    OP

    Member dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
    Are you using the cracked version or the premium version of minecraft? If you use the cracked make sure that on the server.properties file the option online-mode= is set to false.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  17. JornTenge

    Newcomer JornTenge Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    United States
    Yay, now i got a server.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  18. dicamarques
    OP

    Member dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
    Glad i could help ;)
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  19. JornTenge

    Newcomer JornTenge Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    United States
    Is it possible to make another server with no-ip?
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  20. dicamarques
    OP

    Member dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
    On the same machine? Yes, but beware mc servers need alot of ram and cpu so becareful. With diferent ip's? Yes, you can have up to 3 free ips on no-ip. If you add more servers give them diferent ports on the server.properties and on the router
     
    Margen67 likes this.

Share This Page