How to install HBC on 4.2 without Bannerbomb?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ThaDraGun, Nov 17, 2009.

Nov 17, 2009
  1. ThaDraGun
    OP

    Member ThaDraGun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    Canada
    Is it possible to install HomeBrew Channel without bannerbomb?

    I decided I would update my wii to 4.2 and was following the guides. It told me I should reinstall HBC with bannerbomb so that HBC channel would be running under the right IOS. What I should have done was reinstall preloader and then installed HBC from that, but I was lazy and thought the bannerbomb way would be faster so I deleted HBC and stuck bannerbomb on my sd card. Now it wont work. It just keeps freezing. I've tried at least 10 versions of bannerbomb and none of them work.

    Why is it freezing? Bad SD card, bad boot.elf file?
     
  2. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    u have to load v2 of bannerbomb (the version that works on 4.2 systems) via the sd card button on the main system menu.

    This is different from what the bannerbomb v1 veterans are familiar with, and it sounds like u fall under this category.

    hope this works for u

    Posts merged

    and of course there are alternative exploits available other than bannerbomb

    1) bannerbomb
    2) indiana pwns
    3) smash stack (US consoles only)
    4) twlight hack (only works on 3.4 systems and below)
     
  3. ThaDraGun
    OP

    Member ThaDraGun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    Canada
    Ya I was trying v2 and none worked.
    hxxp://bannerbomb.qoid.us/index.new.php

    Thanks I'll try one of the other ones.
     
  4. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    or u could just load the exploit u already have, bannerbomb v2, via the method i told u... which was via the little sd card button on the main system menu screen!!
     
  5. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
  6. ThaDraGun
    OP

    Member ThaDraGun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep I totally didnt read that completely. I didnt know you could load it from the sd card button. When the tutorials said sd card menu I thought I had to go into the menu settings one just like the other versions.

    I ended up figuring out a way. I loaded the hackmii boot.elf in the apps and found out I could load it from USB loader GX which I was able to access still because of the forwarder on my wii menu.

    Also for the first time ever I was able to install bootmii as boot2. Ive run the hackmii installer on so many different wiis and actually many times before on this wii too and it never let me for some reason. Now that Ive seen it I think I like preloader better tho. It lets me put in the hacks and it boots the wii up without having to select an icon.
     
  7. ThaDraGun
    OP

    Member ThaDraGun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    Canada

    Woah, chill guy. Sorry I didnt purposely double post. I didnt even know it posted twice.
     
  8. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    Just to clarify
    the update to 4.2 section tells you to go to the sd card channel settings
    the modify 4.2 section you to go to the sd card menu.

    Read it thoroughly next time
     
  9. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    pretty tired, mighta came off more harsh than intended

    fyi, priiloader is nowhere near as good a bootmii as boot2, if u prefer priiloader thats fine, but install both... if u don't, it is a big mistake, research it if u dont believe me

    bootmii as boot2 +nand backup = virtually unbrickable

    priiloader by itself = can recover from some bricks

    priiloader + bootmii as ios +nand backup = can recover from more bricks than priiloader by itself
     
  10. ThaDraGun
    OP

    Member ThaDraGun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    Canada
    Yah I hear ya. It would be a good idea to keep it. Also I found a thread thats said you can use the Bootmii Configuration Editor and have it autostart the wii menu so I'll have to do that.
    I would rather have both since preloader lets me disable updates etc. If I was to install both, how to I access the preloader menu? Still by holding the reset button?
     
  11. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    correct, if u configure bootmii to disable autoboot (this means it will launch the system menu at startup) it will then load w/e u have priiloader set to load, it could be priiloader, the system menu, the homebrew channel, bootmii, or any file u have installed... I recommend checking out using priiloader to boot one of these crazy intro videos

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=189411&hl=
     
  12. ThaDraGun
    OP

    Member ThaDraGun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the help jackass. If there weren't idiots like me then there would be no need for this forum. I bet you've never made a mistake before either eh.
    It was a pleasure. I hope you have a wonderful evening sir.
     
  13. ziddey

    Member ziddey GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    542
    Country:
    United States
    lol go hank somewhere else. this is the hacking forum


    yes, you can edit the bootmii ini file to autoboot the system menu or hbc after a certain amount of seconds or right away.
     

Share This Page