How to create my own homebrew

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by JinTrigger, Apr 26, 2010.

Apr 26, 2010
  1. JinTrigger
    OP

Member JinTrigger Asentrix Studios

United States
    I've been playing a lot of homebrew and pretty much enjoying them. I've also been wishing a lot of homebrew exists that doesn't and then it came to me....Why not create my own homebrew. Correct me if I'm wrong but don't I need some C++ experience (I have a C++ for dummies book). Other than that, what else would I need to write my own homebrew.

2. impizkit

Member impizkit Lazy Lurker

Australia
    You are going to need more than a for dummies book. That I can tell you. Im no programmer so I cant say much beyond that.

3. JinTrigger
    OP

United States
    I figured as much, which is why I'm asking. It'd be something constructive for me to do when I'm bored.

4. azure0wind

Member azure0wind 7 years flew so fast.

Indonesia
    You need to know:
    -C++
    You need to have:
    -devkitARM
    (If you want to make DS GAMES you should have):
    -DSGM (DS game maker, must installed devKIT ARM first)

5. Berthenk

Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

Netherlands
    You don't really need that one, but it will make stuff easier. You must pay 12 bucks for the Pro Edition, which you really need, because you can't make good games without Pro.

6. azure0wind

Indonesia
    yea, i dont really like to use that either. i think i saw someone @ temp who create program like DSGM too... but i forget [​IMG].
    anyway learn C++ and installed devkitARM first if you want to make Homebrew. [​IMG]

7. Berthenk

Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

Netherlands
    Wasn't it... Skullcollecter(tor?)...? He used to make threads about a game and make another thread about another game a day after...

Anyway, making DS homebrew is pretty hard, so I'd advise you to start with PAlib.

8. JinTrigger
    OP

United States