How can I play some MAME games on DS?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by hammerhead13, Dec 3, 2008.

Dec 3, 2008
  1. hammerhead13
    OP

    Newcomer hammerhead13 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I am looking for an MAME Emu to Play Xmen, Knights of the Round, AVP, The Simpsons, Captain Commando on my DS. I know there is a Neo Geo EMu that I have used for NG Games, is there one to play these? Thanks!
     
  2. Tall Alien

    Banned Tall Alien Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i wanna play marvel vs capcom on ds how?
     
  3. Meatbrain

    Newcomer Meatbrain Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately no. Arcade games are just too powerful [​IMG]
     
  4. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    To say "Arcade games are just too powerful" makes no sense. It's like saying "Console games are just too powerful." For one, the games don't really have power in any sense of the word, but more importantly, arcade machines, like consoles, vary in their specifications. Some arcade machines, like the Neo Geo, can be emulated on the DS, and some, like say the CPS-3, or let's go nuts, the Triforce, can't. Plenty of machines probably could be emulated on the DS, as shown by MarcaDS, which supports quite a few different machines.

    X-Men might be possible to emulate on the DS, but it's a stretch. It ran on a 68000 at 16MHz (the Neo Geo ran at 12MHz on the same processor). Maybe with no sound and still (much) below full speed, probably not worth it. Same goes for AVP and Marvel vs. Capcom, those were both on the CPS-2; possible, but not practical or enjoyable.

    Are you aware that Knights of the Round and Captain Commando had SNES versions? You might want to try them out in SNEmulDS, I can't vouch for how well they'll work, but give it a shot. That said, a CPS-1 emulator (which is what KotR and CC ran on) would probably be pretty workable on the DS; it had a 68000 ranging from 8MHz up to 11 (not sure what they were clocked at for these particular games), which even leaves room for sound; a 3.6MHz Z80 should be pretty manageable, games which used just the YM2151 might work out OK.

    Just looking at the Wikipedia article on The Simpsons, it looks like it would be extremely workable on the DS, except for using Konami's own custom processor, which nobody (especially DS developers) really has that much experience with. If someone worked up a core for that, which only runs at 3MHz, there'd probably be plenty of room for at least one (the YM2151 again), probably both sound chips.

    After all this though, there's still the resolution to worry about. Quick glance, the CPS-1 outputs at 384*224; that is, it's as wide as both DS screens put together when you turn it sideways. The height you can probably fudge, but losing 128 pixels of horizontal action is going to hurt.
     
  5. DukeDizko

    Member DukeDizko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    Hm, ok, but let's go back way more in time...what about Robocop (1) or Pac-Land? I mean The Simpsons-arcade would be tooo lovely...Wasn't there a Mame-Emu for the DS? Or am I mixing that up with Wii?
     
  6. Meatbrain

    Newcomer Meatbrain Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    Country:
    United States
    ^^ The same can be said of the usual conventions "sunset" or "sunrise". The sun doesn't move: the earth does, but it's still more conventional to use the said terms, and not many people bother to criticize you for doing so.

    Also I would expect you to know the difference between emulation and porting. The MarcaDS you referenced looks to me like a compilation of MAME games that were ported, but I can't be sure since I don't speak French...
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure MarcaDS is an emulator, not a collection of ports. You have to have the rom files for it to work correctly, unless I'm horribly mistaken.
     

Share This Page