Homebrew How can I change my OT name in Ultra Sun & Moon and not get a Game Sync fail message?

IggyJet

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
78
Trophies
0
XP
179
Country
Brazil
Hello ~

Apologies if this is not the right place to ask, I just can't seem to find much clear info on this.

I wanna change my OT's name in Ultra Moon, but I messed up and set up Game Sync too early. I know just changing the name won't do it, but I don't exactly know *what* I have to change in order to make it work (if it's at all possible).

After deleting the current game sync profile on the website, what do I have to do? Is it even possible or am I bound to this save's data?

Thanks for any help ~

Edit: solved.
 
Last edited by IggyJet,

Metalchilla

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 17, 2016
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
161
Country
United States
I believe you can use pkhex to do that.
Also, about the game sync thing, I'm not entirely sure, but there's a specific number that is bound to your data that you can find in your trainer profile. I believe you can change that too in pkhex but wouldn't recommend it
 

IggyJet

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
78
Trophies
0
XP
179
Country
Brazil
I believe you can use pkhex to do that.
Also, about the game sync thing, I'm not entirely sure, but there's a specific number that is bound to your data that you can find in your trainer profile. I believe you can change that too in pkhex but wouldn't recommend it

Yeah, I just don't know how I go about changing the values or how they would affect my save file. I mean, if it's even possible to change the OT name and still be able to register a new game sync code or something.
 

IggyJet

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
78
Trophies
0
XP
179
Country
Brazil
you should change the tid sid. name doesn't matter

Do you know if I have to wait for the current profile to be deleted from the website to make it work? I haven't been having any luck with this and I'm not sure if it's because of that.

I created a new save and after I got access to the Plaza, I changed the info of my old save with the new save (name, TID, SID and Game Sync ID code). No luck, it says the new Game Sync code is invalid. After some research I saw someone saying I should've given the new save my old save info (TID and SID) and then get the new Game Sync code to switch up with the old one. I did that as well and I still get the same message when I try to register the new Game Sync ID.

Am I missing something? :(
 

Sonansune

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
3,734
Trophies
1
XP
2,143
Country
Canada
Do you know if I have to wait for the current profile to be deleted from the website to make it work? I haven't been having any luck with this and I'm not sure if it's because of that.

I created a new save and after I got access to the Plaza, I changed the info of my old save with the new save (name, TID, SID and Game Sync ID code). No luck, it says the new Game Sync code is invalid. After some research I saw someone saying I should've given the new save my old save info (TID and SID) and then get the new Game Sync code to switch up with the old one. I did that as well and I still get the same message when I try to register the new Game Sync ID.

Am I missing something? :(
idk how u did. i have done multiple times back in gen6 without any problem..
 

IggyJet

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
78
Trophies
0
XP
179
Country
Brazil
I figured out what I was doing wrong. I didn't pay attention to the PGL site saying I can only register 1 copy of each game and luckily my old Game Sync ID was deleted today after queuing it for removal last Sunday. I was also missing a crucial step which was actually getting a Game Sync on the new save, opposed to what someone had said that you just had to go online to get the code from your save file. The game does generate a new code without a Game Sync just by going online but you won't be able to register it with the old game. I guess I misunderstood that part.

So here's what I did to get it working:

-> Delete your current Game Sync profile (can take up to a week and all your online data/records will be gone for good)
-> Back up and export current/original save with JKSM (keep a clean copy somewhere else in case something goes wrong).
-> Reset the game and get access to Festival Plaza (1st Pokémon Center).
-> Back up and export the new save before going online (it's a good idea to keep a clean copy of this save somewhere else in case you need a clean save in the future)
-> Open the new save with PkHex, change OT's name and swap the new save's TID and SID for the old ones (original save).
-> Import the new save file with the edited information, go online, get a Game Sync and register that game on PGL.
-> Export the new save again
-> Open the original save, put in the new name and the new Game Sync ID code generated from the new save under the tab SAV.
-> Import the original save with the new info.
-> Wait a bit to be able to get a Game Sync going and voilà.

Now I'm waiting to see if PGL will catch that and ban me from using some of the online features. I'll update this post in case it happens.

@mods apologies if this sort of instructions aren't allowed here, feel free to delete the entire thread if it's not allowed.
 
Last edited by IggyJet,
  • Like
Reactions: NotABot

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ancientboi is old he needs Walmart PA system
    +2
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    Splitter @ $39 it says. I'll consider it. Thanks
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Coupon makes it 30
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My gaming stick can finally get use
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I did see Walmart got new electric scooters now ab won't run out of juice in the middle of the parking lot
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    :O:O:O $12. Cool
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yeah but one two ports
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'd rather spend like $15 more for double
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Lol hogwarts legacy has a Arachnophobia setting to turn on
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I'd rather spend like $150 more for a surround receiver.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I bought the game at launch never fucked with it until recently
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Its fun, I like it, even tho I'm not a big harry potter fan. Like a wizard rpg. Flying around on a broomstick is cool.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Flying sucks ass on it
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Nuh just takes a min to get used to. I think you can upgrade or buy new broomstick also that are better.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I weirdly like inverted controls on all flying type games
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Prob can change it, inverted flying controls.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Only thing that annoys me is trying to find wtf to do in it
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Alright off to the store, later gators.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Some places amaze me were not in network with your insurance would you still like an appointment
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    uhhh, I think I'll just stick with my PSP 3001
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    lol, Now I gotta go to the store for more Coffee Mate n other stuff.
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: lol, Now I gotta go to the store for more Coffee Mate n other stuff.