Hacking Homebrew Channel Beta 9 and GeckoOS 1.07

toneman

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
9
Trophies
0
XP
52
Country
United States
Are there any issues running the modified (trucha signed) discs for Guitar Hero 1, 2, 80's (NTSC) with the latest Homebrew Channel beta 9 and GeckoOS 1.07? When I try to load the discs I hear the DVD drive working, but it doesn't get beyond the "Launching Game", "Lang: Default"...then it just hangs there. I have to perform a hard reboot. I have tried changing settings and forcing different options. I even tried region free. It can load a standard backups fine

Anyone else having this problem or do they work fine for you?

Toneman
 

toneman

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
9
Trophies
0
XP
52
Country
United States
nutta_nic said:
latest HBC is 1.0.1 not beta 9 and have you installed the ios needed to play guitar hero?

Ok, so I have a newer version of HBC (1.0.1) that is compatible with the version of GeckoOS (1.0.7) that I am using. What else do I need to do besides trying to launch the game in GeckoOS? What exactly do you mean by "have you installed the ios needed to play guitar hero"? I am new to the HBC and GeckoOS
smile.gif


Thanks for the reply
 

nutta_nic

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
556
Trophies
0
XP
164
Country
you'll need to look it up then, it's best you learn a bit about what your doing before trying to do it
 

toneman

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
9
Trophies
0
XP
52
Country
United States
nutta_nic said:
you'll need to look it up then, it's best you learn a bit about what your doing before trying to do it

I meant that I was new to using the HBC and GeckoOS (together). Not totally new to HBC. I have been using HBC to run emulators and applications with no problem. I would like to know why my modified games are not loading in GeckoOS. I have researched the forums and have tried many things.... it appears that I am doing everything right.

Just looking for a little guidance from those willing to help

Toneman
 

nutta_nic

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
556
Trophies
0
XP
164
Country
you should downgrad to 3.2, then try it again

EDIT

do the 1:1 copies of the games work?
have you updated via the disks?
what modchip do you have?
have you got IOS - 35 installed?
 

toneman

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
9
Trophies
0
XP
52
Country
United States
nutta_nic said:
what firmware are you on?

My modified (trucha signed) discs for Guitar Hero 1, 2, 80's (NTSC) were working before the Nintendo update that stopped trucha signed from booting. From what I read, I thought I could simply install GeckoOS and boot them from there. I tried all the different settings, region free force ntsc etc. It will launch normal backup's so it appears to be functioning properly. I really just wanted to know if anyone else was having issues running their modified (trucha signed) discs for Guitar Hero 1, 2, 80's (NTSC) or if there had been any changes


Do the 1:1 copies of the games work? All my 1:1 backups work, including NGC Multidisks
have you updated via the disks? I believe I have updated via some disks
what modchip do you have? Wiikey (Ver 1)
have you got IOS - 35 installed? No, not sure how this would be done


Thanks again
 

toneman

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
9
Trophies
0
XP
52
Country
United States
djdynamite123 said:
QUOTE said:
Will modified games work in GeckoOS using Wii firmware 3.4U?
yeah but what do you mean modified? TRUCHA SIGNED? if so make sure your in geckoOS before inserting the disc!

Right, TRUCHA SIGNED. I have Wiikey v1 (1.9s Update), Wii 3.4U, GeckoOS 1.07 and HBC 1.0.1. All my original backups work. When I launch GeckOS and insert my modified Guitar Hero Discs, I launch the discs and hear the DVD drive working, but it doesn't get beyond the "Launching Game", "Lang: Default"...then it just hangs there. I have to perform a hard reboot. I have tried changing settings and forcing different options. I even tried region free.

Any help will be appreciated...

Toneman
 

RCintron

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
53
Location
Dominican Republic
XP
102
Country
I have the exact same problem: I installed the HBC and gecko os just to play GH 80s, but my wii freezes in the launching screen

This is what I have installed:
HBC 1.0.1, gecko os 1.07b, 3.3U, Wiifree chip
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic: clocked higher of course +1