HG/SS JPN version glitch?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by TheDiver, Nov 8, 2009.

Nov 8, 2009

HG/SS JPN version glitch? by TheDiver at 3:18 PM (1,539 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. TheDiver
    OP

    Newcomer TheDiver Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Taiwan
    It seems like the mass discussion started two days ago, but over at 2ch and other Japanese forums and boards there's been a serious glitch going through all the people who currently own Japanese Versions of Pokemon HG and SS, and that applies to all the Japanese releases, I'm posting this info for those who did import the HG/SS version, and of course, if this is a software related problem, those people who downloaded it.

    The details of the glitch is not clear, nor is the conditions of the glitch occurring clear (One thing for sure is it's not time related, people at 2ch have reported the glitch occurring at game times of 60hrs-200hrs, or so they say.), but in a nutshell, the glitch makes your save vanish, just like the good ol' Generation I-III versions. Again, it's not confirmed whether it's a hardware or software problem.

    Whether this glitch is real or not is well, unconfirmed, there is a chance this is a big, big load of BS, but it's always good to be careful about it, especially after HG/SS has two confirmed glitches (Folding up DS screen into sleep mode sometimes, and going up a ladder in the Twin Islands from its back leading up to Articuno can both crash the DS into black screens.) and a buttload of smaller ones.
     
  2. coolness

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I also have that problem
    Now my Pokemon Pearl sav have been deleted?
    And also it was on a original Card
     
  3. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    eh, if it kills my sav, i'll just get my old backup sav. [​IMG] simple as that.

    if it was on my real SS cartridge, then i'll be pissed. >:(
     
  4. Momamaco

    Newcomer Momamaco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    yeah that would blow since some people put so much time into these games atleast we know these glitches will be fixed for America they always fix that junk
     
  5. Silent Storm

    Member Silent Storm GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    548
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't know, I have just extend my game time well past 60 hours (188 hours) and its still there.
     
  6. heartgold

    Member heartgold GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,276
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No problem, I have a backup save on my computer and usb =PP
     
  7. TheDiver
    OP

    Newcomer TheDiver Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Taiwan
    From the speculations currently flowing on the net (The websites in Asian areas, that is, apparently people who imported HG/SS haven't encountered this problem yet.), the reason this bug occurs seems to be because of the autosaving that goes on every Elite Four run, successful trade/battle, and box switching.

    Reasoning behind this is said to be because the last time the game autosaves, the data, due to the glitch, becomes corrupted, and it tries to load the backup data (The time you saved prior to the autosave), but because the initial save is an autosave, both files could not be recognized and the game becomes botched and shows a blue screen of death (I'm not sure what this meant, but it's this: http://imepita.jp/20091019/522110)

    If you have a niconico video site account, here's a video of what happened:
    http://www.nicovideo.jp/watch/sm8634378

    And this is the Japanese wiki page specifically discussing this glitch:
    http://www31.atwiki.jp/hgssreport/pages/13.html

    Again, I can't make it out whether it's a pure pile of BS or the horrifying truth...
     
  8. geminisama

    Member geminisama Metsu

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,045
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I didn't see anyone bawwwwwing on the HG/SS Gamehax forum, so I doubt it being there. If it did happen, the person probably just got unlucky, and had a random problem. They happen, or maybe he was playing on a flashcart.
     
  9. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    yeah, and probably dropped his ds/ds lite/dsi while playing and screwed his sav up.
     
  10. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States

    I wouldn't doubt that.

    Some people can be quite careless when it comes to their DS's.
     
  11. outgum

    Member outgum Pokemanz Master

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    If this happened to me... i'd be GUTTED, im so into my pokemon...
    It would be like repeating my childhood with pokemon blue >_<
    I couldnt go through that again XD
    But yeah, as stated before, The USA version will fix anything like this, they always do, thats why they let the jap's have the buggy versions first =O
    There kinda like.... Test samples, and the US gives themself the best one lol
     
  12. Sanderino

    Member Sanderino I guess you only know what you got 'till it's gone

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    773
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That's pretty serious, in a good game. I've never noticed glitches on my DS games tough.
     

Share This Page