Help with this format

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by PH33r, Aug 30, 2007.

Aug 30, 2007

Help with this format by PH33r at 2:31 AM (878 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. PH33r
    OP

    Newcomer PH33r Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    How do I open ds.gba files??

    I've searched and couldn't find it. I found some converter but I can't run it either...

    I'm trying to play Duck Hunt, the homebrew port, and the zip file only contains a ds.gba file.

    Sorry if it's already been explained, but as I said I couldn't find.
     
  2. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    It's a special kind of .nds made for Slot 2 devices. Generally if it only comes in .ds.gba it won't work in Slot 1, but you can try stripping out the first 512 bytes of the file and try it as a .nds.
     
  3. PH33r
    OP

    Newcomer PH33r Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I see.

    I have a slot 2 device though, ez flash 3 in 1. I tried opening it with Rudolph's GBA emulator but it didn't work. Can I use it with that?

    Thanks again for your help,
     
  4. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Write it to the NOR with Rudolph's tool then use the Boot Slot 2 option of the R4 to launch it in PassMe mode.
     
  5. yooeee

    Newcomer yooeee Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    does boot slot 2 only work when loading to the NOR and not with PSRAM?
     
  6. madlobster

    Newcomer madlobster Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    When you choose the .ds.gba file in PSRAM mode, press select instead of A. It'll load it into PSRAM and exit to the R4 menu. You can then start it with Boot Slot-2.
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    You can try running it through the "pme2nds" program to strip off the 512 bytes automatically if it can be done. I think Duck Hunt works with it at least.
     

Share This Page