Help with gamecube games on my wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Trinta, Apr 6, 2010.

Apr 6, 2010
  1. Trinta
    OP

    Newcomer Trinta Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Brazil
    I want to know if I can download gamecube games,burn them on an mini cd(the real name I forgot) and play them on my wii.Is that possible?
     


  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yes (If you mean mini-dvd, cd doesn't work)

    You can also burn (multiple) GC games on normal discs.

    It won't work if you have a newer drive though
     
  3. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Then why did a Min-DVD get stuck in my Wii?
     
  4. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    How should I know?
     
  5. Trinta
    OP

    Newcomer Trinta Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Brazil
    Buddy you probably has put the mini-dvd in a wrong way in your wii.Oh and I have the firmware that I got from muramassa the deamon blade and I want to know how to burn multiple gamecube games in one normal dvd BUT without hacking my wii
     
  6. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    It was the right way; I was even able to play the game burned to the Mini-DVD.
     
  7. Trinta
    OP

    Newcomer Trinta Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Brazil
    Do you use your wii A LOT,and change discs A LOT,because i think that there is some problem on your wii not the mini-dvd.even though depending on the quality of the mini-dvd that can happen.
     
  8. electrico

    Newcomer electrico Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Greece
    I have burned a lot of GC games to a usual dvd (TDK +R) and runs great.I've played many games in that way (mario sunshine,paper mario metroid 1-2 ) without a problem.I am curius how a wii can "suck" a mini dvd,cause the slot is for a classic dvd.
     
  9. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    It does
     
  10. electrico

    Newcomer electrico Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Greece
    Yes ... i am wrong.
     
  11. rayben

    Member rayben GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    I have a launch wii and it wont play multi game gamecube disc. All the research ive done on it suggests that multi game needs a modchip.

    But in order to play ANY burnt media, you need to have DVDx installed (Comes with the homebrew channel).

    Also, you need the cmios.
     
  12. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Wrong, DVDx is needed for playing DVD movies only, not for backups
     
  13. Trinta
    OP

    Newcomer Trinta Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Brazil
    so....the entire time the gamecube could become the superior console against the ps2 if nintendo did not had the idea to use mini-dvds instead of normal dvds and then we could have a better wii?nice nintendo nice.....(if I am wrong please post below)
     
  14. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    Yes TJ cool is on the gbatemp home visit team. Hes on his way now to find out why your mini-dvd was so sticky when u put it in. swing by my place on the way back maybe u can plug in my usb HD since i forgot which one to plug it into and im so lost.......
     
  15. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Where did you get your info???

    If you have a modchip, gamecube backups should just work, multi game disc or not shouldn't matter.

    If you don't have a modchip, you need:
    - A drive that can read DVD-Rs
    - Good quality DVD-Rs(or DVD+Rs and a burner that allows bitsetting)
    - A gamecube compatible cIOS installed(rev19 should do it)
    - A cMIOS
    - A way to boot the MIOS while reading a DVD-R(cioscorp + disc channel or NeoGamma)

    And on softmods it totally doesn't matter if it's a multi game disc or not. (as far as i know)
     
  16. Fear_the_Tubes

    Newcomer Fear_the_Tubes Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    They used mini-DVDs to help them defend against piracy of the software which ultimately failed anyway. Back when the GC first came out I recall reading comments from some of the higher ups at Nintendo. They said they expected the mini-DVDs to become to standard size for all disc based media and were hoping to eventually release a hand held that would use the same media as the Gamecube.

    Also the GC could read fullsized DVDs, you just had to modify the case (or make a new one) so that they would fit. Most people opted for the bigger case because it was easier to find standard sized DVD-Rs that worked with the console that it was to find blank mini-DVDs.
     
  17. elimist

    Member elimist GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    Can a game cube's laser move enough to read a whole dvd? Does this need a gamecube modchip?
     
  18. rayben

    Member rayben GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Ah I stand corrected.
    Wasnt aware Cios had anything to do with it.
    Im still on rev 14 because as far as i knew there wasnt a reason to upgrade.

    Guess I have a reason now [​IMG]
     
  19. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    My policy is to upgrade unless there's a reason not to.
     
  20. rayben

    Member rayben GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Yeeeah, huge fail on my part.
    Last year I couldnt get multi game disks to work so I've already got every individual backup id want .

    All those wasted DVDs [​IMG]
     

Share This Page