HELP ON verification of R4 and INSTALLING YSMENU

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by henrytlh, Dec 2, 2009.

  1. henrytlh
    OP

    Newcomer henrytlh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Hi all. I'm new to my r4 and also my nds. As stated, i am having problem on my ysmenu using r4. I tried a few methods to install r4(using a2h ysmenu generator and also manually install. Bt no matter hw hard i try, the results returned the same. after install, i tried loading multiple games including kingdom hearts, bomberman land touch! 2, mario kart etc.) the only game that seems to work is mario kart ds. others just stuck at the last bar. the only thing that is moving is the square box at the left of the loading bar rotating. anybody know solution to this?

    here is my r4 version. I'm not sure what version is mine so i'm using the official v1.18 kernel.
    [​IMG]

    p/s i heard that it can be solved by using the panasonic sd formatter. Bt i formatted it with FULL(ERASE OFF) and the results remain the same.

    thanks all in advance for your help
     


  2. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Freshâ„¢

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    HOLY CRAP @ sticker on box.
     
  3. Shorkio

    Member Shorkio GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    Your harddrive
    Country:
    Finland
    Can I ask where you bought that? Just curious... [​IMG]
     
  4. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Need a pic of the back of the card...
    Preferably after you've carefully unscrewed the back and even more carefully lifted it off and should lift straight up.
    If yours doesn't have a screw hole, it's a fake.

    http://en.r4-revolution.com/fake_r4_cartidges
    Pic 1: REAL on the Right.
    Pegs and hole have dark green around them, Area circled in red is filled in with dark green.

    Pic 2: REAL on the Left.
    MicroSD card logo is clean cut.

    Pic 3: REAL on the Left.
    Contacts are not dull, stamped number on the chip is below 0812 like "ATF01 0733#".
     
  5. henrytlh
    OP

    Newcomer henrytlh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Malaysia
    [​IMG]

    can't seem to unscrew the case of my r4. no matter hw many times i turn the screw still remain at the same place ><

    i bought it together with my nds. its a addon package.
     
  6. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Judging by your pic... I'm gonna have to say it's a fake.

    1). Officials (to the best of my knowledge) have black screws. -- Yours has a silver one.
    2). There is brown 'trim' around the contacts. -- Yours has just the contacts on PCB.
    3). The contacts are bright/shiny looking (may be the pic). -- Yours are too flat/dull.
    4). The contacts have fair sized gaps or spaces between them. -- Yours is too tight.
    5). The tracks are exposed before connecting to the connects. -- Yours aren't exposed.
    6). The PCB has no 'pinholes' in it near the contacts. -- You've got many 'pinholes'.
    And the biggest point, yours has no circle mark above the screw.

    The above points, tell me it's fake. Along with the fact that official R4's haven't been made in over a year and you only recently bought yours doesn't help.
    On the box, right on the front (I can see it, but not make it out), you should see a website for the people who made it... if it just says "http://r4ds.com", then check the back of the box.
     
  7. henrytlh
    OP

    Newcomer henrytlh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Malaysia
    thanks twistidsinz. juz found out that my r4 is R4 PLUS on the r4 card itself. THere is a PLUS word there bt i didn't notice it before since it is not so obvious. Currently i'm using kernel v2.0. Bt i can't seem to find any guide relating about how to install YSMenu on r4 PLUS =(...

    thanks for helping
     
  8. henrytlh
    OP

    Newcomer henrytlh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Malaysia
  9. henrytlh
    OP

    Newcomer henrytlh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Malaysia
    tried this way also (censored) and choose the 4th option(run like any other nds file)

    manage to run 2 games only. that is avalon code and mario party DS. Others including shin megami tensei, kingdom hearts 358.2 days doesn't seem to run. the loading bar stuck at the end of it

    here is the image of it. only the box at the
     
  10. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    You've probably got outdated infolib.dat/extinfo.dat/savlib.dat files...
    You can grab the most recent update from here: http://gamewiki.jp/uploader/dsma/src/dsm0097.zip.html

    Just put them into your TTMenu folder.


    Also, open up your YSMenu.ini (in the TTMenu folder) and find the line that says:
    Code:
    [FILEINFO]
    COLOR_TEXT=0x####
    Change the #### to "8000" so it reads: "COLOR_TEXT=0x8000" and it should make text show up in the box when you select a game
     
  11. henrytlh
    OP

    Newcomer henrytlh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Malaysia
    anybody know the solution to it can help?
     
  12. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think that's what twistidsinz post was all about. Did you try his suggestions?
     
  13. henrytlh
    OP

    Newcomer henrytlh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Malaysia
    didn't see his post when i leave a comment. sorry about it. will let u all know the results later
     
  14. henrytlh
    OP

    Newcomer henrytlh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Malaysia
  15. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you do a complete reinstall onto a blank microsd card or just overwrite what was already on there?
     
  16. henrytlh
    OP

    Newcomer henrytlh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Malaysia
  17. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is no guide to making it work on the R4 Plus as far as I know. It was designed to run on real R4's and not clones. Did you encrypt the firmware? If you did try decrypting it and copying it on again.
     
  18. henrytlh
    OP

    Newcomer henrytlh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Malaysia
  19. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
  20. henrytlh
    OP

    Newcomer henrytlh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Malaysia
    i'll try again now following a guide at romulation

    thnx =)

    will let you know the results later
     

Share This Page