help on hacking NDS pokemon roms

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Dr.Killa, Jan 25, 2010.

Jan 25, 2010
  1. Dr.Killa
    OP

    Banned Dr.Killa Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    United States
    how can i change where pokemon appear, like say i want a totodile to appear on route 1 or something..so all pokemon can be caught?
     
  2. Dark^'^Knigh

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    Isn't that easily accomplished using Pokesav, or am I missing something?
     
  3. SCVgeo

    Member SCVgeo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, you are missing alot. Sigh. People think Pokesav is some all powerful, all accomplishing program.

    Anyways, Dr. Killa, you can use PPRE to do that. I assume you meant for HG/SS since you mentioned route 1. If you mean for DP you can use one of D-Trogh's programs for that.
     
  4. Dr.Killa
    OP

    Banned Dr.Killa Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    United States
    ok i got it, and im at here:[​IMG]

    so if i changed it for canalave city, i would be able to make pkmn appear when i walk?
     
  5. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    No, it changes the Pokemon found in Canalave when swimming/fishing. As of now, you can't add new areas where Pokemon appear, just change the Pokemon that appear in areas.

    Also, there's a slew of other DS Pokemon hacking tools. I actually made a minor Pokemon hack a while back. It wasn't great, mind you, but I made it. I think PokemonCommunity.com has a lot of Pokemon hacks and tools, or at least guides.
     
  6. Dr.Killa
    OP

    Banned Dr.Killa Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    United States
    also if a leave a spot with ????, will it make nothing appear or will it make the glitch box appear?
     
  7. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I think it's an empty slot, so there should be nothing appearing for that slot.
     
  8. Dr.Killa
    OP

    Banned Dr.Killa Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    United States
    oh...and what does the min and max options do under the surf/fishing options?
     
  9. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I think it's the levels they can be. Like if I put 15 under Min and 20 under Max, they can be from levels 15-20. That's what I thought.
     
  10. Dr.Killa
    OP

    Banned Dr.Killa Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    United States
    does anyone know what mt. coronet R216, R211 and R200 are?
     
  11. Dr.Killa
    OP

    Banned Dr.Killa Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    United States
    bump

    and is there a tool that can edit the player sprites, and trainer pokemon? dont tell me to google because i tried searching
     
  12. Dr.Killa
    OP

    Banned Dr.Killa Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    United States
    oh i tried this and it does make a ??? box appear, the kind that doesnt exist, like after your turn the match just ends

    ALSO is it possible just to change the ablilities of pokemon, not pokesav, like edit the games memory so that all pokemon will have the abilities and moves i want
     
  13. dan80315

    Member dan80315 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    For trainer pokemon, go to project pokemon forums and search under their tools. You get a trainer editor where you edit NPC's pokemon as well what they look like.

    As for your own in-game trainer sprite, that's a lot more difficult to edit. I'm currently trying to do this but it's hard because you need to know the offsets of there the game gets the palettes from as well as finding out how big the sprite sheet is in Tile Molester before you can edit it. With PokeTex you can easily recolour your own sprite though.
     
  14. Dr.Killa
    OP

    Banned Dr.Killa Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    United States
    thanks but i cannot find it
     
  15. ryu15

    Newcomer ryu15 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, I didn't want to make new topic, so i'll ask here. How can I change Lucas' name when I have chosen Dawn as player character? I want him to be named "Diamond".
    Cross it: Is it possible? What tools are required?

    EDIT: Ok, I consulted certain specialist and played around with thenewpoketext. Now I have 2 requests.

    1) I opened rom, extracted the gametext and altered it. According to tutorial now I have to patch msg.narq with modified .xml. The tutorial concerned HG/SS hacking, so I didn't realy figured out the thing with a/0/7. I patched and made the rom, but apparently it didn't work. Anybody know what did I miss?

    2) Also how can I alter the name value? Character counterpart's name in some lines has forme of: \v0103\x0001\x0001
    It's very similar to actual character's name value (\v0103\x0001\x0000 as it's stated in tutorial).
     
  16. Dr.Killa
    OP

    Banned Dr.Killa Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    United States
    you can easily change characters names with pokesav..
     
  17. jack2230

    Newcomer jack2230 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Australia
    What sort of Pokemon Game is it.

    e.g. Nintendo DS, Game-boy Advance, Game-boy Color.

    If it's NDS use: Wild Encounter Editor DP which you can download here

    If it's GBA use: Advance Map
     
  18. Gariscus

    Member Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Australia
    You obviously didn't read this topic... [​IMG]
     
  19. Dr.Killa
    OP

    Banned Dr.Killa Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    United States
    i have wpedp, i just need to find out how to change trainer pkmn
     

Share This Page