Hacking [Help] New 3DS Boots and shuts off with loud pop

MirroredFlower

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Buford, GA
XP
76
Country
United States
I am unsure whether this is a CFW problem or a system problem. Whenever I boot up my 3DS, it immediately shuts off with a loud pop.

System Info: New 3DS w/ A9LH + Luma3DS
 

Jhynjhiruu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
817
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
1,688
Country
I am unsure whether this is a CFW problem or a system problem. Whenever I boot up my 3DS, it immediately shuts off with a loud pop.

System Info: New 3DS w/ A9LH + Luma3DS
Have you ever taken it apart? That sounds very much like one of the screen ribbon cables being disconnected.
 

dAVID_

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2016
Messages
1,405
Trophies
1
Location
The Game
XP
2,198
Country
Mexico
Ah yes, my sister's 3DS XL also had this problem. Although I think It may be a hardware failure rather than
having to do with a CFW.

Probably the ribbon cable as mentioned above.
 

MirroredFlower

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Buford, GA
XP
76
Country
United States
Have you ever taken it apart? That sounds very much like one of the screen ribbon cables being disconnected.

Do you know which cable it would be? I currently have it opened up and I am looking for the cable.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2017-12-13_18-38-41.png
    upload_2017-12-13_18-38-41.png
    30.3 KB · Views: 233

Jhynjhiruu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
817
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
1,688
Country
Do you know which cable it would be? I currently have it opened up and I am looking for the cable.
There, and the same place on the other side. Be really careful though, cos a lot of ribbon cables in the 3DS are VERY fragile, and really, really hard to get back into their slots. Get some thin tweezers, and take your time.
 

Attachments

  • screen.PNG
    screen.PNG
    62 KB · Views: 218

aos10

Yuuki chan
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
4,738
Trophies
1
Age
36
XP
3,807
Country
Saudi Arabia
Just quick question, did you happen to shake the 3ds fast? or dropped on something soft that made it bounces?
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,118
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,454
Country
Norway
Do you know which cable it would be? I currently have it opened up and I am looking for the cable.
It could be a few different ones. Not all the ribbon cables will cause this issue if disconnected/damaged but some will. The upper screen ribbon cable is the most likely culprit, because of the way it twists through the hinge it can be more easily damaged. Can you get the 3DS to boot by putting the hinge at certain angles?
 

MirroredFlower

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
20
Location
Buford, GA
XP
76
Country
United States
It could be a few different ones. Not all the ribbon cables will cause this issue if disconnected/damaged but some will. The upper screen ribbon cable is the most likely culprit, because of the way it twists through the hinge it can be more easily damaged. Can you get the 3DS to boot by putting the hinge at certain angles?
Nope. I just fixed the ribbon cable but it keeps shutting down, this time without a popping noise. I’m beginning to believe this is a battery problem if not a ribbon cable
 

ry755

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2017
Messages
535
Trophies
1
Age
19
Location
California
XP
1,436
Country
United States
I had an issue years ago with my DS Lite where it wouldn't turn on because one of the fuses broke off. Maybe look for loose or broken off components? Does the case rattle if you shake it?
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,118
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,454
Country
Norway
I reconnected it to the port it was originally connected to
So it was disconnected?
Make sure the cable is intact, even a small tear will cause problems. Also, it's not always easy to tell if a ribbon cable is plugged in properly, so it's possible it's not making contact even though it looks like it's all the way in.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Poor psi he actually has to do work at his job now