Help ! Bootloop after installing CBHC

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by rich6619, Dec 18, 2016.

  1. rich6619
    OP

    rich6619 Member

    Newcomer
    38
    2
    Mar 10, 2009
    Canada
    Hey guys,

    So I decided to install CBHC. I had already had HaxChi setup using these two guides:





    I downloaded Haxchi v2.3u1 and CBHC v1.4 and added them to my sd card to install. First I installed Haxchi over my existing, rebooted, then installed CBHC everything seemed fine until I rebooted and I get the initial WII screen then wii menu screen (not the actual menu but the prompt) , IOSUHAX screen and then it just loops from wii menu screen to Iosuhax over and over.

    Does anyone know whats going on here ?

    Any help would be much appreciated !
     
  2. xtheman

    xtheman GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,847
    5,275
    Jan 28, 2016
    United States
    First don't use video guides. They are always outdated.
    Second set cbhc to autoboot "System Menu" by pressing home button while it says autobooting.
     
    MichiS97 and rich6619 like this.
  3. rich6619
    OP

    rich6619 Member

    Newcomer
    38
    2
    Mar 10, 2009
    Canada
    I'm not getting autobooting displaying on the screen though. Just goes right to "Wii Menu" then "IOSUHAX" and loops.
     
  4. kajeinarsson

    kajeinarsson Member

    Newcomer
    24
    2
    Dec 10, 2016
    Game on sys or USB?
     
  5. xtheman

    xtheman GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,847
    5,275
    Jan 28, 2016
    United States
    Its not on USB. Otherwise his wii u would have an error code on boot
    That means you installed an old and different coldboothax. It can be fixed by compiling fw.img with coldboot.
     
    Last edited by xtheman, Dec 18, 2016
  6. rich6619
    OP

    rich6619 Member

    Newcomer
    38
    2
    Mar 10, 2009
    Canada
    Game is on Sys.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Weird because I can't remember installing the game to usb and I had no usb plugged in when I installed CBHC

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    https://github.com/FIX94/haxchi/releases

    The most recent CBHC from here is what was installed
     
  7. xtheman

    xtheman GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,847
    5,275
    Jan 28, 2016
    United States
    I'm sorry I meant not on usb.
     
    Last edited by xtheman, Dec 18, 2016
    rich6619 likes this.
  8. rich6619
    OP

    rich6619 Member

    Newcomer
    38
    2
    Mar 10, 2009
    Canada


    Heres a video I took of the loop.

    Thanks for the reply's by the way !
     
  9. xtheman

    xtheman GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,847
    5,275
    Jan 28, 2016
    United States
  10. FIX94

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Global Moderator
    7,202
    9,242
    Dec 3, 2009
    Germany
    ???
    there is a very slim chance that running the haxchi/cbhc installer wont actually overwrite the rom.zip even though I try everything to ensure it does, so it probably didnt even install the cbhc specific rom but you are still on your old haxchi rom so I hope in your haxchi config.txt you had a button you can hold to get into the homebrew launcher, from there just re-run the cbhc installer and let it install again and hope it actually does so this time.
     
    rich6619 likes this.
  11. rich6619
    OP

    rich6619 Member

    Newcomer
    38
    2
    Mar 10, 2009
    Canada
    Nope, nothing unfortunately as you can see in the video. Not sure whats going on.
    Can I still try the "compiling fw.img with coldboot" ?
     
  12. xtheman

    xtheman GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,847
    5,275
    Jan 28, 2016
    United States
    Yes that should fix it.
     
    rich6619 likes this.
  13. rich6619
    OP

    rich6619 Member

    Newcomer
    38
    2
    Mar 10, 2009
    Canada
    Thanks Fix94 I just swapped the config to go into Hombrew launcher by pressing "a".

    Thanks as well xtheman166

    So now that I am in the hombrew launcher should I try to install again with the same method ?
     
  14. FIX94

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Global Moderator
    7,202
    9,242
    Dec 3, 2009
    Germany
    ???
    just click on CBHC again and click install on the same game.
     
    rich6619 likes this.
  15. rich6619
    OP

    rich6619 Member

    Newcomer
    38
    2
    Mar 10, 2009
    Canada
    Ok installed again and worked perfect. I set autoboot system menu and boot into system menu with no issue. Thank you all for the help ! Not sure what caused this.

    Am I able to remove the fw.img file I have on the root of my sd card now ?
     
  16. FIX94

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Global Moderator
    7,202
    9,242
    Dec 3, 2009
    Germany
    ???
    I'm not sure why it happens to some people either, I did install it so many times by now I'm impressed I did not experience this issue myself yet. Yea you can now remove that fw.img and in fact the sd is not required to boot since it is all running internally now.
     
    rich6619 likes this.
  17. rich6619
    OP

    rich6619 Member

    Newcomer
    38
    2
    Mar 10, 2009
    Canada
    Yeah really odd. Oh well nothing to serious !

    Ok awesome, thanks again for the help. Very much appreciated !
     
  18. C0mm4nd_

    C0mm4nd_ Aspirant Wii U homebrew dev :P

    Member
    697
    337
    Oct 9, 2016
    Italy
    Usually it fails overwriting when you have USB plugged (and it freezes)
     
    rich6619 likes this.