Having issues running ISOs or CSOs on my PSP

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by CyberFish, Jan 3, 2009.

Jan 3, 2009
  1. CyberFish
    OP

    Member CyberFish GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    So I flashed my PSP with 5.00M33, and cannot get ISOs or CSOs to run from the memory stick. I have the ISO folder at the root, and put the games in there. I also have the settings set for no umd, and M33 firmware. Am I doing something wrong?? Do I need to set the MS up a different way??

    Thanks in advance.
     


  2. f00had

    Member f00had GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you using Sony NP9660 for loading ISOs? You have the folders set up correctly.
     
  3. CyberFish
    OP

    Member CyberFish GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    No. I have that set to M33 firmware. Should I switch it to Sony NP9660?
     
  4. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    I always use the Sony loader and never had problems. As long as you have custom firmware and have the ISO folder in the correct place, I don't see why it shouldn't work. Just make sure you put just the .iso game in the ISO folder. Meaning don't do this:

    root>ISO>Daxter (folder)> Daxter.iso

    It should be:

    root>ISO>Daxter.iso
     
  5. blueskies

    Member blueskies GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Country:
    United States
    What is the difference between using the M33 vs Sony NP9660 loader?
    And while I'm asking, what's flash0/flash1/etc about?

    My psp came already hacked so some of this stuff is still unknown to me. [​IMG]
     
  6. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    the are all of the PSP's internal memory.
    flash0 is the firmware, flash1 is the settings, I think.
    The others I don't know. Don't mess with them unless you know what you are doing. [​IMG]
     
  7. Cavedude

    Member Cavedude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    Sony NP9960 should always be used to run ISO/ eboots.
     
  8. CyberFish
    OP

    Member CyberFish GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    Switched it to NP9960. No change. The PSP is not even showing there is a game on the MS. I tried MGS PO ISO and CSO and neither show up. I ripped it straight from the UMD that I own onto my laptop then transfered over to the MS.
     
  9. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If your PSP isn't even showing an icon you must be doing something wrong. Take everything important off your stick, use the PSP settings menu to format it, and then put JUST the .ISO file for the game you're trying into the ISO folder that's been created.
     
  10. CyberFish
    OP

    Member CyberFish GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    Formatted the MS with the PSP. Still nothing. Id like to think I am not this stupid, but.......
     
  11. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Formatting the stick will create the correct directory structure. If you still don't see the uncompressed ISO file when it's placed directly into the ISO folder that's created then there's something up with your firmware.
     
  12. CyberFish
    OP

    Member CyberFish GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    I tried to return it to factory settings so I could flash it again, but it still stayed 5.00M33. LOL.
     
  13. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Return to factory settings just formats flash1....just your personal settings like Wallpaper, Nick Name and internet details. Doesn't really have any other helpful effect for your situation.
     
  14. CyberFish
    OP

    Member CyberFish GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    Ill try downgrading again with the MMS and Pandora later. Ill report back.
     
  15. pika9323

    Member pika9323 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    Germany
    Make sure your ISO has a short Name like Dax.iso and no spaces in the name.
     
  16. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cyberfish...you could always just use Hellcat's Recovery Flasher. Simple fast and no need for the Pandora!
     
  17. Seven

    Member Seven oh hell no

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    United States
    Are there any error messages that come up?
     
  18. CyberFish
    OP

    Member CyberFish GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    Ill probably have to do it that way. The MMS and Pandora didnt do anything. However, put the regular battery back in and everything is fine.

    It might be the name. Im naming it "MGS Portable Ops.iso". Maybe just MGS.iso.

    As far as errors, no. However, nothing is showing up though. Thats the issue. It is saying that there is nothing on the memory stick.
     
  19. tbgtbg

    Member tbgtbg Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have another memory stick you could try? I just wonder if maybe there could be something wrong with the stick. What brand is the stick? How big is it?
     
  20. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try as you said ...rename it I know that Naruto: Ultimate Ninja Heroes 2: The Phantom Fortress has to be renamed for it to work as its too long!
     

Share This Page