Guide to Punchout for Ntsc/J consoles (finally got it working)

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by seitetsu, May 20, 2009.

  1. seitetsu
    OP

    Newcomer seitetsu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    So, ive had a bitch of a time getting this to work.

    I started on 3.2j, tried everything possible, upgraded to 4.0j still with no luck using any burning methods or loaders I could find.

    Finally I got it to work by downgrading all the way down to 2.2 using this guide http://fathertom.net/hardwii/?p=488

    Then I changed my region from NTSC/J to NTSC/U using anyregionchanger1.2

    After that I installed the update to 3.2U using anyregionchanger AFTER changing all my regions.

    I have thus a fully functional USA wii capable of playing any NTSC/U NTSC/J Pal games (with appropriate launchers of course)

    In summary, change your region and load using whatever method you like. It's all good from there.
     


  2. seitetsu
    OP

    Newcomer seitetsu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    Well, what I ended up doing in the end is installing updates on my own region up to 3.2j, then just manually changing my region to US but not installing any updates. This way I can have a US region wii that is actually still running on the NTSC/J foundation. For all intensive purposes I still have a jp wii, but it's running american software. This is easily done by just changing the top menu options in anyregion changer. You can change them back anytime you wana play a gamecube game without installing any additional software / reverting to anything. It's just changing the menu options.
     
  3. k0sm0s

    Newcomer k0sm0s Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Singapore
    oh well, guess there is no actual solution for it then [​IMG]
    thanks for taking all the trouble to try to get it to load
     
  4. seitetsu
    OP

    Newcomer seitetsu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    The copy you downloaded works perfectly, it`s the simple fact the Japanese WII is not equpt to play Punchout as far as I can tell. The game apparently just doesn`t have the internal codes to run it is the only conclusion I could make. What you have to do is make sure you`re on firmware 3.2 or less (3.3 may work too) and literally change your region (you can do this temporarily) to USA.

    I tried brickblocking, 002 patching, gamma loading, gecko booting, usb booting, updating to 4.0, and alot of other methods, and the closest I could get was that same 002 error, or a simple black screen when booting with gecko or with my wiikey2 hardware, but AS SOON as I switched my region from NTSC/J to NTSC/U using **anyregionchanger 1.2** it worked perfectly not only from CD, but from USB also. The pal copy I originally downloaded worked too (with forced NTSC).
     
  5. Tsuchy

    Member Tsuchy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    United States
    Hey Thanks Seitetsu really appreciate it it work out just great now for me
     
  6. seitetsu
    OP

    Newcomer seitetsu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    NP, glad you got it working [​IMG] it's definitely a game worth playing.
     
  7. Bloodlust

    Member Bloodlust GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    I had no idea that any region changer was updated to 1.2. You mean it supports direct switching of regions from J to U for 4.0? Any link?
     
  8. bathingapebape

    Newcomer bathingapebape Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Nihon
    Country:
    Japan
    good to know...I've been going crazy all day trying to figure how to make it work.
     
  9. Bloodlust

    Member Bloodlust GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    ?????????? [​IMG]
     
  10. bobcntsa

    Newcomer bobcntsa Newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, I just hope I won t brick my box [​IMG]

    edit : works fine no brick at all!! [​IMG]
     
  11. Wii_Juggalo

    Newcomer Wii_Juggalo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 3.2u Wii and It won't let me load punch out and i can't seem to find a 002 patcher help please
     
  12. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,503
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    Interesting. I am on 3.2u with starfall and normal wiigator 0.3g and burnt it on sony dvdr 8x speed using imgburn and I played so far. Nothing's wrong.
     
  13. starscreamX

    Newcomer starscreamX Newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for your informative post seitetsu. However I have a problem with my Jap Wii not able to read any discs after the firmware upgrade from 3.2j to 3.2u.

    I followed your instructions exactly and now I have a 3.2u successfully running on my Jap Wii. All the menus are in English now but all my backup discs fails to load or even show up on the wii main menu.

    Is there something to do with Wiikey?

    Thanks
     
  14. mk123a

    Newcomer mk123a Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    hey starscream, sounds like its a region conflict with your Wiikey. Your Wiikey was originally set to NTSC-J to go along with your Jap Wii. But now your on an NTSC-U wii...so you will have to change your wiikey region to US.
     
  15. Kanzensan

    Newcomer Kanzensan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Hi guys, which part in anyregionchanger do I change to get punchout working?

    There are various options in changing Japan/ese ro USA/english in this app. Is it only the System Menu one near the bottom or do I change the rest?

    I only want to play punchout and keep my system as a Japanese system really and will change back to Japanese region when I am bored of it.

    Please help, thanks [​IMG]
     
  16. bubbleboy

    Member bubbleboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    United States
    Wonder if the game itself is patchable ? Don't really want to change settings too much.
     
  17. Kanzensan

    Newcomer Kanzensan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Just in case this got missed on the first page since mine was the last post on the 1st page.
     
  18. starscreamX

    Newcomer starscreamX Newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States

    Thanks mk123a! I upgraded to Wiikey 1.9s USA from Wiikey 1.9g JAPAN.

    After installing Wiikey 1.9s USA, you must run the Wiikey 1.9s CONFIG. There are two things you must do:

    1) Change to REGION FREE
    2) Change DVD-R reading speed to 3x (don't set to 6x or else it won't read any discs)

    Hope this helps! [​IMG]
     
  19. bobcntsa

    Newcomer bobcntsa Newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    @Kanzensan : Just change the game region setting from japan to us, it won t change the menu langage.
     
  20. Kanzensan

    Newcomer Kanzensan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Starscream, there is no detail on the instructions on how you change the region in anyregionchanger. Can you please advise what options you need to change? Thanks;
     

Share This Page