goldeneye black screen

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by jpcapone, Nov 11, 2010.

Nov 11, 2010

goldeneye black screen by jpcapone at 7:17 PM (6,478 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. jpcapone
    OP

    Newcomer jpcapone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    i am trying to load golden eye but after hitting start game in usb loader the screen just goes black. any ideas or suggestions? no trolls please i used search before i made this post....
     
  2. CarbonX13

    Member CarbonX13 GBAtemp 台灣人

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,399
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Country:
    Taiwan
    We can't help you if you don't provide more details on this.

    1) What region is your game in? NTSC-U or PAL?
    2) What USB Loader are you using?
    3) What region is your Wii? NTSC-U, PAL, NTSC-J, or other?
    4) What settings are you using in USB Loader? Is Error 002 enabled?
    5) What cIOS are you using? Waninkoko's or Hermes'? What revision? What IOS base and IOS slot?
    6) What system menu are you on?
    7) Are your IOS in general up to date?
     
  3. jpcapone
    OP

    Newcomer jpcapone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    much appreciated!

    1) NTSC-U
    2) USB Loader GX 1.0
    3) NTSC-U
    4) ERROR 002 is enabled
    5) how do i tell this?
    6) same as above
    7) same as above
     
  4. PPSainity

    Member PPSainity Blinded by Science

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    2) Are you sure about this? Run USB Loader GX, navigate to the settings / credits screen. On it the revision will be listed, latest beta being r938.

    5) Navigate to the same settings / credits screen above and it will list what IOS USB Loader GX is using. Additionally, determine if the game is set to use a different IOS by checking the game's specific load setting by navigating to the game load settings screen from the game's spinning disc screen's settings option.

    6&7) Install and run a program like SysCheck v2.0.1. Use it to generate a system report, sysCheck.csv, and copy&paste the text results in your reply. I've included a sample of such a report below so you know how it looks.

    Sample SysCheck Report:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    -[]D

    EDIT: Essentially, other than what version of USB Loader GX you are using, and whether or not you have a good image of the game, you should be fine running the game using cIOSx rev20 with an IOS57 base.
     
  5. jpcapone
    OP

    Newcomer jpcapone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    excellent, thanks for the replies. i will reply with more info and try the suggestions as soon as i get home from work in an 1hr
     
  6. jpcapone
    OP

    Newcomer jpcapone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    ok
    2) rev 929
    5) IOS249 REV 15

    please provide any suggestions or tips
     
  7. PPSainity

    Member PPSainity Blinded by Science

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
  8. jpcapone
    OP

    Newcomer jpcapone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    will do
     
  9. jpcapone
    OP

    Newcomer jpcapone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    ok i have installed everything as you suggested. i did the network install for the ios249 and base of 57 - i still got the black screen and now i am playing with the game load settings. here are some of the settings

    IOS is set to IOS249
    002 i have tried anti and yes

    any other suggestions would be appreciated...
     
  10. jpcapone
    OP

    Newcomer jpcapone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    i am on version 4.1u do i need to update that?
     
  11. PPSainity

    Member PPSainity Blinded by Science

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    When using USB Loader GX it is best just to leave the 002 fix to "yes" globally. Anti was only needed when older cIOS had 002 fixes built-in that caused conflicts.

    Goldeneye 007 should work with the default settings of USB Loader GX, just as long as everything is NTSC, system, firmware, game. You should be fine.

    One thing is, when you "upgraded" USB Loader GX, you replaced the old boot.dol, by renaming the r938.dol and overwriting it, right? If you just dumped the new r938.dol in the SD:/apps/USB Loader GX/ folder you will still be running r929. Also check to see that USB Loader GX is using cIOSx 249 r20, listing it in the credits screen.

    If all else is correct, then you might have a bad rip of the game. There have been reports that using a Game Cube controller does cause the game to freeze if it is left plugged in. Others have mentioned that some using retail discs have been experiencing problems, hinting towards a possible bug in the game. There's an interesting thread on these latter two issues here, you may want to add your experience to it.

    You can verify if your game image is good by using the VERIFY command in Wiimms ISO Tools, wit.exe, visit the site for more info on how to do that. If you are using a Game Cube controller, I recommend not, and unplugging them until you get the game working. You may want to try different cIOS, like Waninkoko's cIOSx rev20b using an IOS56 base instead of IOS57, possibly try Hermes' cIOS v4 or v5.1. Wanin's 249 rev20b with base 56 or 57 both have been confirmed to work, so I don't hold too much stalk with playing around with other cIOS. After that point, I'm all out of ideas... It should be working unless there's something we missed. Post back your results, if it still won't go hopefully someone can still help out more.

    -[]D
     
  12. jpcapone
    OP

    Newcomer jpcapone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    thanks ill get to work
    oh should i update to 4.3u?
     
  13. PPSainity

    Member PPSainity Blinded by Science

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    No, you should not need to update to SM 4.3U. USB Loader GX uses cIOS, so the state of your IOS and SM doesn't really matter in this case.

    -[]D
     
  14. jpcapone
    OP

    Newcomer jpcapone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    thank you very much. i definitely copied the gx update correctly and its reflected in the credits. now i have to report that Wiimms ISO Tools gives me this error on the iso (i assume i have a bad copy as i ran it against another iso and it doesnt kick out any errors.)

    C:\tools\wit\bin>wit verify c:\wii\pm-goldeneye-007.iso
    ***** wit: Wiimms ISO Tool v1.20a r1945 cygwin - Dirk Clemens - 2010-11-05 ***
    **
    !! wit: ERROR #13 [INVALID WII DISC] in wd_check_part_offset() @ src/libwbfs/wii
    disc.c#1540
    !! Partition 0 [DATA]: End of data (1173c0000) behind end of file
    !! (6c2b6000): /cygdrive/c/wii/pm-goldeneye-007.iso
    +OK .0 UPDATE SJBE52 /cygdrive/c/wii/pm-goldeneye-007.iso
     
  15. CarbonX13

    Member CarbonX13 GBAtemp 台灣人

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,399
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Country:
    Taiwan
    Yes, it's likely a bad copy as well then.
     
  16. jpcapone
    OP

    Newcomer jpcapone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    it was a bad copy. i am playing now. thanks to everyone who weren't dooshes in pointing me in the right direction. specifically wit.exe because that was the killer................. and the man that pointed me to it!!!!!!
     
  17. codezer0

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    Also trying to play Goldeneye here.

    Running it off cfg-usb loader v60-222. Running hermes cIOS v5 (or 5.1, can't remember at the moment), and IOS249 rev20b.

    In short, when i start up the game, and it's asking me if I want to create save data, the game doesn't respond to the controller, at all. I know it's still working, because I can press the home button and get the menu properly, and it works for other games too. I'm at a loss because unlike my issue with Red Steel 2, there is no alternate .dol to load up, and thus I can't even start the game.
     
  18. jpcapone
    OP

    Newcomer jpcapone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    dude i have never had to use the alt dol method. all i know is that i did the things in this string and i got a good copy. was on line tonight getting my b kicked...
     
  19. codezer0

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    I had to use it for Red Steel 2.

    Still can't figure out why the game won't respond to the controller when I want to create the save data.
     
  20. nimbulan

    Newcomer nimbulan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I'm willing to bet USB Loader GX is the problem. I get a black screen trying to launch games that work perfectly in CFG Loader (in fact, I haven't gotten any games to work in GX yet). I'm fully updated just like you, with a 4.2U Wii.
     

Share This Page