Hacking GC backup trouble

mrpink

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
7
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
Hi,

Having a bt of trouble trying to play backup GC games on the wii. I have the IOS249 installed. The backup launcher and the MIOS patcher are on the sd card. When I click into the MIOS patcher(shows black screen with white writing) it tells me to press
A to install, B to Remove patch, etc. However when I do press A on the gamecube controller nothing happens. The screen stays the same.


I greatly appreciate any answers. Thank you.
 

Acetic Orcein

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
169
Trophies
0
Location
Earth
XP
213
Country
I'm just copying his from xzxero's guide (well I dont this step is there anymore but nevermind)

Run MIOSpatcher
press right once on a gc controller to change the mios to v8
press x to allow wii back up launcher loading
press A to install.


Erm I dont know if this will make a difference or not?
 

bjorno

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
429
Trophies
0
XP
209
Country
Netherlands
I think i know the solution
smile.gif

Is your GC controller a wavebird (wireless), if it is, then that explains why it wont work, playing GC backups via gamecube launchers you need a wired one.
 

mrpink

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
7
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
Thanks for the replies. But nope it didn't help. When I press right on the controller nothing happens. It still says version 5 at the bottom and nothng happens when i press A . The controller is a normal controller(wired) and it works ok as i've been usng it on the gamecube.

Thanks.
 

mrpink

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
7
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
I've tried both. This seems to a bit of a mystery as i've seen the same question posted on other forums , youtube and so on, But no one has answered their question.
 

VashTS

Beat it, son
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
4,266
Trophies
1
Age
38
Location
Upstate NY
XP
3,258
Country
United States
wii specs might help, but this sounds like a strange problem...try reinstalling cios38rev14 (or 15 if released today) maybe the mios patcher is having a problem...redownload the mios patcher, format your sd card using panasonic formatter, and put only mios patcher on sd. if that still doesn't work try searching for a mios wad and manually install
 

mrpink

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
7
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
I probaly sound like an idiot here but whats cios38rev14. I just folowed a tutorial for the GC back up launcher and it said nothing about Ciosrev .

Thanks for the replys VashTS and Dmon84
 

mrpink

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
7
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
I probaly sound like an idiot here but whats cios38rev14. I just folowed a tutorial for the GC back up launcher and it said nothing about Ciosrev .

Thanks for the replys VashTS and Dmon84
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    gee, it sure is BORING around here...
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Especially now
  • ZhiShuiTingLan @ ZhiShuiTingLan:
    How to upgrade fast
  • ZhiShuiTingLan @ ZhiShuiTingLan:
    I can't understand English at all, I can only rely on translation
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    Upgrading quickly can depend on what you're trying to upgrade. Can you provide more information about what you're looking to upgrade, and what you're hoping to achieve by upgrading quickly?
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It's a good idea to wait it out and let things happen naturally tinkering with update files can cause worse than good
    +1
  • BlazeMasterBM @ BlazeMasterBM:
    i farted
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Stop eating so much garlics
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Did someone say upgrading? Are we trying to upgrade the system or the toaster?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    My toaster is IP68 so I work on it in my bathtub
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    What kind of thermal paste are you using for on bathtub's vCPU hypervisor
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Corsair
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    That's a good, real thermal paste. I bet it's given you great results.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I'm a huge fanboy and brand loyal so we can argue about the kind you use
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Jif. I get horrible results, I'm going through probably 12 jars of it a week and at least 8 PCs.
  • Shape @ Shape:
    It's no argument.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Try jelly it makes it moist
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Why is corsair the best paste tho fr?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Because some random guy on the internet said it was
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    thermalgrizzly kryonaut is the best paste
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: thermalgrizzly kryonaut is the best paste