GC backup trouble

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mrpink, Nov 12, 2009.

  1. mrpink
    OP

    mrpink Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 12, 2009
    Hi,

    Having a bt of trouble trying to play backup GC games on the wii. I have the IOS249 installed. The backup launcher and the MIOS patcher are on the sd card. When I click into the MIOS patcher(shows black screen with white writing) it tells me to press
    A to install, B to Remove patch, etc. However when I do press A on the gamecube controller nothing happens. The screen stays the same.


    I greatly appreciate any answers. Thank you.
     
  2. Acetic Orcein

    Acetic Orcein GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    169
    0
    Nov 23, 2008
    Earth
    I'm just copying his from xzxero's guide (well I dont this step is there anymore but nevermind)

    Run MIOSpatcher
    press right once on a gc controller to change the mios to v8
    press x to allow wii back up launcher loading
    press A to install.


    Erm I dont know if this will make a difference or not?
     
  3. bjorno

    bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    428
    1
    Sep 13, 2009
    Netherlands
    I think i know the solution [​IMG]
    Is your GC controller a wavebird (wireless), if it is, then that explains why it wont work, playing GC backups via gamecube launchers you need a wired one.
     
  4. mrpink
    OP

    mrpink Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 12, 2009
    Thanks for the replies. But nope it didn't help. When I press right on the controller nothing happens. It still says version 5 at the bottom and nothng happens when i press A . The controller is a normal controller(wired) and it works ok as i've been usng it on the gamecube.

    Thanks.
     
  5. mrpink
    OP

    mrpink Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 12, 2009
    Anybody know ?
     
  6. dai-a

    dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    351
    0
    May 16, 2009
    United States
    Springville Utah
    Are you using the D pad and not the control stick?
     
  7. mrpink
    OP

    mrpink Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 12, 2009
    I've tried both. This seems to a bit of a mystery as i've seen the same question posted on other forums , youtube and so on, But no one has answered their question.
     
  8. VashTS

    VashTS Beat it, son

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    VashTS is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    3,946
    730
    Mar 14, 2009
    United States
    Upstate NY
    wii specs might help, but this sounds like a strange problem...try reinstalling cios38rev14 (or 15 if released today) maybe the mios patcher is having a problem...redownload the mios patcher, format your sd card using panasonic formatter, and put only mios patcher on sd. if that still doesn't work try searching for a mios wad and manually install
     
  9. Dmon84

    Dmon84 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    129
    0
    Oct 15, 2009
    Gambia, The
    Stuttgart
    Try cMIOS rev3 from Wanin.
     
  10. mrpink
    OP

    mrpink Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 12, 2009
    I probaly sound like an idiot here but whats cios38rev14. I just folowed a tutorial for the GC back up launcher and it said nothing about Ciosrev .

    Thanks for the replys VashTS and Dmon84
     
  11. mrpink
    OP

    mrpink Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 12, 2009
    I probaly sound like an idiot here but whats cios38rev14. I just folowed a tutorial for the GC back up launcher and it said nothing about Ciosrev .

    Thanks for the replys VashTS and Dmon84
     
  12. mrpink
    OP

    mrpink Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 12, 2009
    anyone?