GBAtemp Not Loading

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by xShinobi, Feb 26, 2008.

Feb 26, 2008

GBAtemp Not Loading by xShinobi at 10:07 AM (2,603 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. xShinobi
    OP

    Newcomer xShinobi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Recently, when I try to access GBAtemp my browser says 'Cannot find server at GBAtemp.net'.
    I am able to access it sometimes, but not all the time.
     


  2. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Happens to me as well. GBAtemp needs new server [​IMG]
     
  3. xShinobi
    OP

    Newcomer xShinobi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Ok. Glad to know it's not only me.
     
  4. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yep, same here, very very slooow to load, you would think some major game has been released or something.
     
  5. Fiddy101

    Fiddy101 Newbie

    It works as good as usual for me
     
  6. tjas

    Member tjas The Gbatemp HRManager

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    BoZ
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It's been working perfect for me..
     
  7. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    It's very difficult to tell where this comes from.

    The site loads perfectly for me and for some people, and for many others it won't load (unless using a proxy).
    I don't have an explanation but I'll try to solve this issue using regular procedures: restarting server, tweaking the DNS configuration, etc..
     
  8. Osaka

    Member Osaka GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United States
    It's working for me now. it wasn't before
     
  9. .::5pYd3r::.

    Member .::5pYd3r::. Viva La Pizza

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    The GREAT Southern Land :D
    Country:
    Australia
    Happening to me as well [​IMG]
     
  10. Austinz

    Member Austinz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    Australia
    Yep i got it before too, then refreshed a minute later and it was fine
     
  11. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,712
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Same as Austinz here. Flushed my windows DNS and initially no change so I guess it was something a bit higher.

    Also while Costello tweaks server side you might try openDNS or something similar:
    http://www.opendns.com/

    If you want proxies:
    http://www.samair.ru/proxy/
     
  12. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    This is the first time since 10PM (EST) yesterday that I've been able to login. Maybe it has something to do with the gnarly storm that's raging through the USA right now.

    Seems to be working fine now though.
     
  13. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Finally works for me. Didn't yesterday.
     
  14. kikuchiyo

    Member kikuchiyo 大阪に生まれた男

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    687
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I had troubling accessing the site from work all day. I got home and was able to do it fine, but got the same server issues.
     
  15. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe a Denial of Service (DOS) attack type of thing?
     
  16. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    Nope, if it were the case no one would be able to access the site at all.
     
  17. djgarf

    Former Staff djgarf I Am A Raver

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,955
    Location:
    England U.K.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the site is running really fast for me
    very odd that it's only certain people having problems
     
  18. PikaPika

    Member PikaPika GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    AZ
    Country:
    United States
    It was slow for me last night, but it's fine now. Strange indeed.
     
  19. dice

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I'm having no problems...
     
  20. Rhuarc

    Newcomer Rhuarc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Site was so slow it wouldn't even load last night, but it seems to be ok again.
     

Share This Page