GBA games not loading save files on M3Sakura

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Odori, Jan 13, 2010.

Jan 13, 2010
  1. Odori
    OP

    Newcomer Odori Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Well, my problem is that the save files won't work with the M3Sakura. When I boot up the file, regardless of the .sav I use, it simply says "New game".
    This happens to all GBA roms.

    Here is some misc information:

    M3 DS Real
    Firmware: 1.45 sakura
    4gb kingston flashcard
    Using the GBA expansion that came with the M3 DS real.

    Tried using the gba exploader and got the same problem. Anyone care to help?
     
  2. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,810
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Incompatible save type most likely, like eeprom.

    As for gba exploader, you have to use the 0.58X patch.
     
  3. Odori
    OP

    Newcomer Odori Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    all the sav files are .sav.

    I have the 0.58X patch.

    Games still do not save...
     
  4. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,770
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Have you tired going into the setting and turning on Real Time save?
    That used to happen to me and I went and did that, now it doesn't happen anymore.\
    And gba exploader is kinda hard figuring out how to make it save, I am not even sure how it works
     
  5. Odori
    OP

    Newcomer Odori Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Call me ignorant, but how do I turn on the real time save for GBA games?

    editL nevermind, figured it out. [​IMG] Now to see if this works!
     
  6. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,770
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Alright there are two ways
    Go to where you GBA games press down on one and move your stylus to the left and a second menu should open when you release
    Then in that menu There should be an option that says Real-Time Save, touch the on space of it
    Or just press Y when on a rom and repeat what I said up there in the menu
     
  7. Odori
    OP

    Newcomer Odori Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    When I turn on the real time save function, the games seem to get stuck at the "Now Loading..." screen... [​IMG]
     
  8. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,770
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Back up your card and reformat it
    Best suggested to use this program and not Windows to do this
    http://filetrip.net/f1380-SDFormatter-Version-2-0-0-2.html
    And then try again. If it fails again, delete the rom and save file, and redownload it again.
    Because a lot of the time when that happens it is often one of the 3 that is corrupted.
    Again if that all doesn't work, try downloading the the lasest firmware from The M3 Sakura FAQ

    EDIT: How large is the rom? Because I found the larger the GBA rom the longer it takes to load.
     
  9. Odori
    OP

    Newcomer Odori Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    It's Mother3 translated, so yeah, it's a very big rom. 32mb. I'm formatting anyway with the program you recommended, so I'll report back to see if it works
     
  10. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,770
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Ah, I had a little trouble with that rom once.
    Yeah it should work after formatting your card, then give it a minute to load. Games that big take some time to load up
     
  11. Odori
    OP

    Newcomer Odori Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Should I keep the format at FAT32 or change it to FAT52?
     
  12. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,770
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I didn't even know there was a FAT52
     
  13. Odori
    OP

    Newcomer Odori Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    That worked perfectly, thanks! [​IMG]
    Gonna try it with the quick load option...
     
  14. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,770
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Your welcome and alright, best of luck for you ^-^
     
  15. Densetsu

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    If you find that your saves aren't working with the quick load option, you'll have to switch it back to patch load.
     

Share This Page