GBA ExpLoader 0.3

Urza

hi
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
6,493
Trophies
0
XP
742
Country
United States
GBA ExpLoader 0.3
eWin Expansion and EZF4 Deluxe support
%5B1798%5Dez53in1a.jpg

A new version of Rudolph's GBA ExpLoader (formerly known and 3 in 1 Expansion Tool). Support for the eWin Expansion Pack and EZ-Flash 4 Deluxe have been added, along with some bug fixes. Download and engrish below. Nod to Destructobot for the tip.

[title:Changelog]V0.3 2008/2/21 R4/M3S, set to disable the reset time to correct defects.
EEPROM_V111 patch to fix defects.
NOR failure mode FLASH1M_V103 patch fixes.
"Delux-EZ4 lite" and "EWIN EXPANSION PAK (2in1)" support
PSRAM / SAVE SDRAM mode of data, "GBA_ExpLoader" boot file when SAV
Written specifications to change (from now until then GBA RAM / BIN to boot).

download.gif
Download
icon11.gif
Developer's Blog (Japanese)
 

Destructobot

Crave the Hammer
Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
5,002
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
Portland, OR
Website
Visit site
XP
321
Country
United States
A quick heads up for anyone new to this app: In NOR mode, the descriptions of the (A) and (X) buttons are swapped. (A) writes a game to the NOR flash memory, (X) runs the game that is currently written to NOR.
 

gh0ul

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
128
Trophies
0
Location
bleh
XP
270
Country
United States
quick update, awesome.. at this rate a 1.0 version would be out by summer. joy. im waiting until then
 

Destructobot

Crave the Hammer
Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
5,002
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
Portland, OR
Website
Visit site
XP
321
Country
United States
I dont really understand this. What does it do exactly? I remember it just automatically patches the game, right? but doesnt the eWin pack already do that?
This is a loader for slot 2 expansion packs (and the EZ4 Deluxe, which it uses as an expansion pack). It basically takes the GBA games from a slot 1 cart and writes them to the memory in the expansion pack. You need a loader and a slot 1 cart because expansion packs don't have their own built in menu or storage like standalone flashcarts do.

The eWin is just like the 3-in-1; it only does what the program running on the slot 1 cart tells it to do. The official loader for the eWin expansion does have autopatching, but it has quite a few shortcomings, and some save types don't work.

From what I can tell, GBA ExpLoader is far superior.
 

Eyedunno

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
142
Trophies
0
XP
11
Country
Can't wait to try this. One more hour until I'm off work and I go nuts.

Edit: For what it's worth, Destructobot, I assume the problem you mentioned only occurs when your DS is not set to Japanese (which is undoubtedly most people on GBAtemp, but hey
tongue.gif
). The Japanese version correctly labels A and X in NOR mode.

I've been messing around with this using both my Ewin and my 3-in-1. Fun Fun. It's neat to be able to use the same save files between the two of them, even though I never use my 3-in-1.
 

Eyedunno

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
142
Trophies
0
XP
11
Country
For what it's worth, Destructobot, I assume the problem you mentioned only occurs when your DS is not set to Japanese
I would assume so, as Rudolph would surely notice such an error in the Japanese menu.

BTW, thanks for translating my comment on Rudolph's blog.
Well, I didn't really translate it as such, I was just trying to give a more complete explanation. Apparently Rudolph had it set so that X loads the file and A runs it, but he was more accustomed to having it the other way around, so he changed it back and just forgot to change the text on the English side of things.
 

jurassicbond

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
163
Country
United States
I'm having trouble figuring out how to use this. How do I save game and then reload it with the save file intact? I'm using a R4 + EWin if that makes any difference.
 
P

pasc

Guest
Could someone tell me what the folder structure should be called ?

I know the saves go into GBA_SAVE, the GBA GAMES don't matter (?) and what is the GBA_SIGN folder written about in the readme file for ?

AND: how do I get old 3 in 1 Tool saves to work ? I heard renaming them should do the job
unsure.gif
.
 

Destructobot

Crave the Hammer
Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
5,002
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
Portland, OR
Website
Visit site
XP
321
Country
United States
I know the saves go into GBA_SAVE, the GBA GAMES don't matter (?) and what is the GBA_SIGN folder written about in the readme file for ?
Games go wherever you want them. You can now navigate to any folder to get to the GBA games. The sign folder stores patch data for games that you have run. A file will be placed in the GBA_SIGN folder for each game you run, so that the rom doesn't have to be scanned for the save type each time you run it.

QUOTE said:
AND: how do I get old 3 in 1 Tool saves to work ? I heard renaming them should do the job
unsure.gif
.
Rename the save file to match the rom it goes with, and put it in the GBA_SAVE folder. Saves from the 3in1 ExpPack Tool and VBA should work without any sort of conversion.
 

azotyp

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
1,162
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Poland
Website
Visit site
XP
524
Country
Poland
I have a question did anybody managed to load Lord of the rings return of the king with that with saves without patching rom on pc, because I had to patch that rom (thou I dont need that program cose I have modified firmware to load gba roms).
 

Venko

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
159
Trophies
0
Location
England
XP
254
Country
I'm using the old "Rudolph's 3-in-1 Tools" at the moment and would like to make the switch to this replacement application at some point in the future. Before I do so I want to be sure that I'm not sacrificing perfect game playback for flawed playback (I hear that this one has some game specific issues unlike the 3-in-1 Tools).

So, is there a bug list that I can look at anywhere?
 

neonix

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
163
Trophies
0
XP
78
Country
United States
A quick heads up for anyone new to this app: In NOR mode, the descriptions of the (A) and (X) buttons are swapped. (A) writes a game to the NOR flash memory, (X) runs the game that is currently written to NOR.
Just so I can feel like I'm giving something back to the community, I've hex edited the file to correctly label (X) and (A) in NOR mode in English. Download: http://www.sendspace.com/file/x4a8lq
Mirror (because don't you hate when you google something like this and the guy's sendspace link is dead?): http://rapidshare.com/files/94678169/GBA_ExpLoader_mod.nds
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The wolf tried eating her but failed
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    God help us all
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    *little red riding hood grabs the shotgun*
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Well shit my ring camera needs charged I wonder what was stolen from me
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Just opened 10 youtube tabs on my phone in chrome. Not even half of half of 600MB. lol
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Which phone do you have
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    a nearly 6 yr old moto g5 plus
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Not saying its not happening for you. Your image is right there. I just dont know why yours is so high and mine is so low. :)
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It could be other factors high ram refresh rate etc
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    know a good app to double check? perhaps my phones own memory usage stats is full of shit. lol
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Samsung UI is probably a ram hog as it is
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Yeah. Could be a number of things. My old ass phone has a custom rom on it too so a lot of the bloat is gone, and its not using the moto UI
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @K3N1, I'm using an XCover 5
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    re youtube on phones. Newpipe is the way
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    3x playback speed and no adverts plus whole load of other things.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Until it gets a lawsuit notice
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    Not sure what path they would use for this one
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    On a different note entirely I randomly ended up on a hardware mods website. Lot of stuff for the GBA and DS it seems that I had missed entirely.
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    as well as the option to pay $2 for a surface mount standard fuse
  • Oleboy555 @ Oleboy555:
    i use re vanced
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    VPN YouTube premium $15 a year with a Turkey connection lol
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    D, E, F, G...
    K3N1 @ K3N1: