Hacking Gateway 3DS - Been ootl for 2 years and have a question

Liyern

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Nederland
XP
34
Country
Netherlands
So question,

Recently been itching to play some 3DS games after years of ignoring the system and was wondering what I could do to play the latest games again. I own a 2DS with Gateway 3DS and it's running the last official update from the official Gateway 3DS site (11.2.0-35E). Now I've seen that the team behind Gateway 3DS has given up on Gateway completely and im wondering:

What are my options now? Ditch Gateway and get a completely new card? Or is there a different firmware I could get that might work with Gateway? Or maybe some other magic that has been conjured in the past 2 years? :P

Thanks for the help!
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2019
Messages
757
Trophies
0
XP
931
Country
United Kingdom
So question,

Recently been itching to play some 3DS games after years of ignoring the system and was wondering what I could do to play the latest games again. I own a 2DS with Gateway 3DS and it's running the last official update from the official Gateway 3DS site (11.2.0-35E). Now I've seen that the team behind Gateway 3DS has given up on Gateway completely and im wondering:

What are my options now? Ditch Gateway and get a completely new card? Or is there a different firmware I could get that might work with Gateway? Or maybe some other magic that has been conjured in the past 2 years? :P

Thanks for the help!
3ds.hacks.guide
 
  • Like
Reactions: Liyern and Lacius

Liyern

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Nederland
XP
34
Country
Netherlands
3ds.hacks.guide

Question, I did all the steps and everything went fine. Not sure if you know but, Im still running on an already existing EmuNand (Gateway ofcourse :P), do I move my EmuNAND to my SysNAND or do I skip that step in the guide? Not sure what this will do (My way of thinking is this option will add the EmuNAND version to my SysNAND so I'll be back to quare one) so thought I'd ask.

Thanks alot though!
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2019
Messages
757
Trophies
0
XP
931
Country
United Kingdom
Question, I did all the steps and everything went fine. Not sure if you know but, Im still running on an already existing EmuNand (Gateway ofcourse :P), do I move my EmuNAND to my SysNAND or do I skip that step in the guide? Not sure what this will do (My way of thinking is this option will add the EmuNAND version to my SysNAND so I'll be back to quare one) so thought I'd ask.

Thanks alot though!
Just my opinion
I'd delete emunand and start fresh
Of course you can always move it
I don't really know much about emunands
 
Last edited by Idontknowwhattoputhere,

Liyern

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Nederland
XP
34
Country
Netherlands
If you haven't updated yet and you want to be able to use the saves from your Gateway games, don't just yet. Let me know and I'll tell you how to recover them. Would have been easier to do it before installing B9S but oh well.

I havent updated yet no, I basically stopped at that part. Im at the part where basically says "If you had a previous EmuNAND, and would like to move it to SysNAND..... etc." I dont care what happens to my save files or anything else really. (Using same SD card as where I had my Gateway Files on btw, not sure if that matters but everything worked up untill the step im currently at).

I just wasnt sure if moving my current EmuNAND to SysNAND would do anything for me (I don't even know what it does :P, didnt have this stuff 4 or so years ago, at least not to my knowledge.) But I heard that If I choose to skip that option, and dont remove it either, it will just be taking up space. So im a little unsure what to do now.

Not sure how one goes about removing the EmuNAND, im not even sure what I installed now :P just winging it a little here. I know the most basic things but thats it, other than that I just followed the guide to the letter.
 
Last edited by Liyern,

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,069
Country
Australia
I havent updated yet no, I basically stopped at that part. Im at the part where basically says "If you had a previous EmuNAND, and would like to move it to SysNAND..... etc." I dont care what happens to my save files or anything else really. (Using same SD card as where I had my Gateway Files on btw, not sure if that matters but everything worked up untill the step im currently at).

I just wasnt sure if moving my current EmuNAND to SysNAND would do anything for me (I don't even know what it does :P, didnt have this stuff 4 or so years ago, at least not to my knowledge.) But I heard that If I choose to skip that option, and dont remove it either, it will just be taking up space. So im a little unsure what to do now.

Not sure how one goes about removing the EmuNAND, im not even sure what I installed now :P just winging it a little here. I know the most basic things but thats it, other than that I just followed the guide to the letter.
If you don't care about any of your data (including things like Activity Log, Mii Plaza etc), then you don't have to move your emuNAND to your sysNAND but either way you should remove the emuNAND. Just follow the move emuNAND guide for the easiest instructions to follow.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Liyern

Liyern

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jul 28, 2019
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Nederland
XP
34
Country
Netherlands
If you don't care about any of your data (including things like Activity Log, Mii Plaza etc), then you don't have to move your emuNAND to your sysNAND but either way you should remove the emuNAND. Just follow the move emuNAND guide for the easiest instructions to follow.

Quick question before I continue, I did the format and everything now it tells me to update. I just do the update through the regular menu where you normally update right? Just making sure before I do anything wrong (Kinda goes against all your instincts xD). Cause it says underneath the "Update your device" part - "Updates while using B9S + Luma (what you have) are safe" I dont have to turn on Luma or anything right? (I have Luma installed, pressing Power + select takes me into that menu).

I just click the update button like any other regular 3DS right? xD

EDIT: Got it working, Homebrew App launches just fine. Thanks all for the information!
 
Last edited by Liyern,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: +2