G6 lite and MAC?

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by riell, Jul 17, 2006.

Jul 17, 2006

G6 lite and MAC? by riell at 11:06 AM (992 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. riell
    OP

    Newcomer riell Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Italy
    Hello, I just received my g6 lite from winsunx and I was wondering if I could use my macbook pro to manage it, and, if so, where can I find the appropriate software?
    Thanks
     
  2. carloandreacchio

    Member carloandreacchio GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    SA, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes, you can, if you install parallels (with windows) you can use the g6 lite software provided by g6 themselves.
     
  3. riell
    OP

    Newcomer riell Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Italy
    thanks a lot! [​IMG]
     
  4. DDRFan2006

    Newcomer DDRFan2006 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Odenton, MD
    Country:
    United States
    But natively there is no Mac OSX Client?

     
  5. carloandreacchio

    Member carloandreacchio GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    SA, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Correct there is no mac native client, however parallels allows ultra fast emulation of the windows system. As riell has a macbook pro, he is able to run windows seemlessly.
     
  6. spinal

    Newcomer spinal Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    France
    what about linux? Does it work well with wine?
     
  7. suchiru

    Newcomer suchiru Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 12" Powerbook, and I just installed Virtual PC running the guest as as 2000 PC. It works fine. It's pretty fast. If you don't want to use Bootcamp to install Windows on you Macbook then I would recommend this option. It works really well, and will run very fast on your macbook as it runs almost at normal speed on my Powerbook. Good luck.
     
  8. pelago

    Member pelago Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    879
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Virtual PC doesn't work on Intel-based Macs (like the Macbooks).
     
  9. _Mazza_

    Member _Mazza_ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Parallels does though [​IMG]
     
  10. carloandreacchio

    Member carloandreacchio GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    SA, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Parallels is not bootcamp, i believe they do not work together (however i may be wrong). however, parallels is much much faster then virtual pc as it uses the intel core to process the windows commands, instead of directly translating them, or somehting along those lines which is total mumbojumbo to me (i'm sure someone will prove me wrong)

    Carlo
     

Share This Page