1. sks316

    sks316 Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness remaster activist
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,846
    Country:
    United States
    The NAND image was 99.99999999999% most likely valid. Just softmod the system using dev.3ds.guide and you should be fine.
    Make a backup of the new system's NAND first.
     
  2. SirKelly

    OP SirKelly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Germany
    First I need to buy another 3ds for that ( As I only have a 2ds and new 3ds xl and all are not moddable as newest firmware ) and as you can know from my other posts I dont have any money at all and if I dump the nand of the then newly modded system the Godmode9 will be gone with the replaced nand wouldnt it
     
  3. sks316

    sks316 Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness remaster activist
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,846
    Country:
    United States
    ... What?
    First, if I'm understanding correctly, you're worried restoring the old NAND on the new system will remove GM9. I don't think you're right.
    Second, please use better grammar. It's impossible to understand what you're saying.
     
  4. SirKelly

    OP SirKelly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Germany
    Sorry Im not the best at english :/ and yeah sadly I dont own a second 3ds sadly
     
  5. CheatFreak47

    CheatFreak47 Catgirl Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,515
    Country:
    United States
    edit: nevermind, ignore this post.
     
    Last edited by CheatFreak47, Jul 18, 2017
  6. sks316

    sks316 Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness remaster activist
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,846
    Country:
    United States
    Just save money, keep the 3DS NAND backup from the old one, and let us know when you get a new one. I know how it feels when you want something but need to save money for it. I'm currently saving for an NES Classic!
     
    SirKelly likes this.
  7. CheatFreak47

    CheatFreak47 Catgirl Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,515
    Country:
    United States
    OK @SirKelly so let me get this straight:

    1. You got a broken dev unit that you fixed
    2. Found it had unknown tech demo on it
    3. Tried to update the firmware and bricked it
    4. Hardmod dumped the NAND and destroyed the dat0 pad on the board, but did get a NAND dump?
    5. If so, what bootrom error is the 3DS now showing at boot?

    Hate to break it to you, but if that's the course of events, you're pretty much fucked unless you can manually bridge the dat0 line and get console see the NAND again. Your only hope of getting into that NAND now is by doing that and using the (currently unreleased) ntrboothax to get the console running boot9strap and boot into GodMode9, on that specific 3DS board.

    Another dev unit won't work, another retail unit won't work.
    All 3DS units, dev and retail have console unique keys that would prevent that NAND from working on another unit.

    That NAND backup you have is useless without knowing the console unique OTP and NAND CID.
     
    Last edited by CheatFreak47, Jul 18, 2017
    HudU_ likes this.
  8. SirKelly

    OP SirKelly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Germany
    Well no as the system doesnt want to work at all as the dat0 point doesnt connect anymore yeah Im probably fucked as I know that one point would be the R2 one but I cant find another point to connect those two again
     
  9. CheatFreak47

    CheatFreak47 Catgirl Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,515
    Country:
    United States
    Like I said, you'd have to manually bridge the connection around the destroyed pad somehow- or find someone that would know how to do something like that. Unless you can get that board specifically to see the NAND again, you're pretty much boned.

    No other units have the same NAND CID or OTP so even if you flashed the backup you have to one, they wouldn't be able to read the NAND, bricked or not.

    And what bootrom error code do you get when you attempt to power it up?
     
    Last edited by CheatFreak47, Jul 18, 2017
  10. SirKelly

    OP SirKelly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Germany
    Well Im fucked :v And I get like the default one first the normal Boot Rom rerror ( 84 sommething then A lot of FFFfFf and 000000
     
  11. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,922
    Country:
    United States
    take an picture of the screen. make sure the errcode is readable.
     
  12. SirKelly

    OP SirKelly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Germany
    Cant Upload the Pic but it states
    BOOTROM 8046
    ERRCODE: 00F800EF
    FFFFFFFF FFFFFFFF
    00000200 00000000
     
  13. CheatFreak47

    CheatFreak47 Catgirl Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,515
    Country:
    United States
    Interesting, that's the bootrom error that comes up when you have an SD card reader attached still (as opposed to NAND not found)
    Are you sure the pad is actually destroyed or is it possible that it's just damaged and something is bridged that isn't supposed to be?

    I'm not a hardmodder but it might be wise to take some HD photos of the board next time you open the thing and get some close ups of the pad you think might be wrecked, it wouldn't be hard for me to get someone that's an experienced hardmodder to look at those photos if you take them.
     
    Last edited by CheatFreak47, Jul 18, 2017
  14. 8BitWonder

    8BitWonder Small Homebrew Dev
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2,268
    Country:
    United States
  15. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo watching Thames TV from London
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7,330
    Country:
    Italy
    "Panda" is exactly no different than saying "[dev] 3DS" - depending on the context, you may be talking about all consoles in the 3DS series, those with a dual core processor/128MB ram and a full size SD slot, or only the first model with non-locking 3D slider and a green 3D available indicator :)
     
  16. SirKelly

    OP SirKelly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Germany
    I have looked over all these connections again and cant find anything that is connecting that shouldnt connect to be honest I made some pictures but I cant upload them to here because it states that I cant upload anything over 2mb
     
  17. lisreal2401

    lisreal2401 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    791
    Country:
    United States
    No, assuming you're NAND is already dumped, get another 3DS with Luma and use Godmode9 to flash the NAND to it. You "should" be able to browse the files from it, if not, then I guess it's dead.
     
  18. Slattz

    Slattz Easygoing Fairy
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Ireland
    NAND's are console specific, that wouldn't work at all.
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  19. CheatFreak47

    CheatFreak47 Catgirl Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,515
    Country:
    United States
    You don't know what you're talking about. That is not how it works.
    NANDs are encrypted with console specific keys that are derived from the console's OTP and NAND CID, there is no way doing that would work, all you would do is temporarily brick the console, until you restore it's own nand.
     
  20. lisreal2401

    lisreal2401 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    791
    Country:
    United States
    I was under the impression it would be unbootable but you could read out files from it. I did this once with a NAND not unique to another 3DS and it did work.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Challange, Nintendo, System