Fixing windows updates on Vista.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Rydian, Nov 23, 2010.

Nov 23, 2010
  1. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Got a laptop here, Dell Inspiron 1501 with Vista Home Basic (32-bit), no service packs.

    Windows updates give this error.
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/958044
    The article the error links me to is this one.
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/947366

    Various support/fixes suggest by MS for this situation include...
    • Using the standalone SP1 installer instead of the web one.
      It gives the same error.
    • Running the readiness tool.
      It takes half an hour and doesn't fix anything.
    • Close stuff.
      Everything's closed, even tried it on a new account.
    • Uninstall security programs.
      Removed McAfee and disabled windows defender, nothing.
    • A repair install.
      This had my hopes up as I could use my Vista SP1-integrated disc to repair install with SP1 already installed... but it won't let me, I need to repair install with a non-SP1 disc.
    I don't HAVE a non-SP1 disc (nor any blank DVDs), and I'm not going to wipe all this lady's stuff.

    If there any way I could network boot a non-SP1 disc image?



    This is serious, any trolling will be reported with the speed of a chipmunk on crack and the fury of a thousand suns.
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,716
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried safe mode with the standalone?
    I have not seen this issue with vista yet (not that I doubt it exists I just do not really service that much vista) but when I see it on XP safe mode can usually work around it unless it is something like those theme packs (startup options are messed up).
     
  3. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Can't do windows updates in safe mode under Vista/7, unfortunately.
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,716
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    From doing more checking it seems that windows states there's no updates having been done (even though windows update itself lists previous updates), thus I do have the inconsistency issue the article states and will need to repair install.

    Can I do it via a non-SP disc over a network?
     
  6. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,716
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Go go geocities era website http://netbootdisk.com/

    Failing that (laptop ethernet is not as bad as laptop wifi when it comes to such things but hey) what about slicing up a partition, extracting the iso/copying the data and going manual.
     
  7. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Oh yeah, I totally forgot about that type of thing, thish is odd since I've had to do it before on XP in one situation.

    I suppose a dedicated partition would be better than simply rubbing it out of a folder like you could do with XP's install disc?
     

Share This Page