FireFox 5.0 Final released

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Satangel, Jun 22, 2011.

Jun 22, 2011

FireFox 5.0 Final released by Satangel at 11:21 PM (4,226 Views / 0 Likes) 67 replies

  1. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    The changes are a lot less than with the 3.6 to 4.0 jump, but this is mainly because they decided to greatly shorten their release schedule.

    Download it here.

    Changes:

    Improved HTML 5 and CSS3 support
    Improved overall performance
    Firefox 5.0 Web apps
    A Do-Not-Track option [​IMG]
     


  2. pistone

    Member pistone GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    in your heart...coz secretly you love me !!!!
    Country:
    Albania
    its even for linux [​IMG]
     
  3. toguro_max

    Member toguro_max GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    380
    Location:
    São Vicente, Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    What the hell? Version 4 just got released...
    I use firefox, but that's something I kinda don't like. With each new version, lots of extentions stop working (specially internet banking ones).
     
  4. Nimbus

    Member Nimbus sudo /usr/bin make-me-a-coffee --nosugar --cream=1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Probably being lazy.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    GODDAYMN! [​IMG]

    HELLYEAH! [​IMG]

    I've been using this sucka since it was in it's infancy stages of Beta, nice to see it got released so far ahead of schedule. Hope it works, Aurora was it's codename If I remember correctly, and it in beta was more stable than FF 4.0 was entirely, at least for me

    Is totally going to be updating when he gets to college today.

    Oh and for the record, I've tested these extensions on the FF 5 beta (Aurora) and they work fine without any issues

    NoScript
    Easy Youtube Video Downloader
    Youtube to MP3
    Personas
    Download Statusbar

    By the way, doesn't FF5 no longer use Xulrunner on Linux. If it doesn't thank god, Xulrunner was more of a problem for me than anything else, either that or it's working properly now.
     
  5. chartube12

    Member chartube12 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,727
    Country:
    United States
    Oh wow! It's finally faster than IE9. But it won't last. In a few updates it will be over bloated again, just like how 2.5+ did.
     
  6. Nimbus

    Member Nimbus sudo /usr/bin make-me-a-coffee --nosugar --cream=1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Probably being lazy.
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    [​IMG] What are you talking about, Internet Exploder 9 has always been slower than everything else! Hell Internet Exploder has always been slower than anything no matter what release it's been at.

    Don't make me start a Browser War here....JK I never would do such a thing, no I'd reserve that for the EoF! [​IMG]
     
  7. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    5? i am still stuck on 3 and i love it (though i also use 4 on another computer)
    i think the delay form 3 to 4 has made them decide to release 5 probably bcz some important features were reserved from 4 to be put on 5
    amazing actually
     
  8. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Fuck it, I'll upgrade. FireFox 4 is great, but it still feels a bit incomplete.
     
  9. cwstjdenobs

    Member cwstjdenobs Sodomy non sapiens

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lol already on it, didn't notice. None of the plugins stopped working or anything.
     
  10. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    have you tried ie9. It's actually pretty good. Personal speed test i did just now between Firefox (Aurora, 6.0a2) and IE9 - (both on second start up):

    Firefox: 4.5 seconds
    IE9: 2 seconds
     
  11. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    you can update via "about firefox" option rather then downloading it separately
     
  12. SamAsh07

    Member SamAsh07 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,693
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Country:
    Bahrain
    IE9 ftw tyvm, only used FireFox for scripts to fill surveys lol.
     
  13. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    The only plugin that isn't working for me is the roboform thing I had. Dammit. Oh well.
     
  14. chartube12

    Member chartube12 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,727
    Country:
    United States
    Personally I have never had a problem with IE since 8 came out. But had a few problems with FF from 2.5 til 3.4. I only started using FF again because FaceBook purposely blocks certain features unless ur on ff. Having 2 or more great browsers is a good idea anyways, in case one or 2 get targeted by hackers.
     
  15. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
    google toolbar work with firefox 5 BUT you may need this (it may let other plugins work as well as it for testing addons, to see if they work on the firefox you are using)

    till there an official update to Google toolbar
     
  16. s4mid4re

    Member s4mid4re  

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
    start-up time/performance is greatly affected by add-ons. I don't know how controlled your test is, but have you disabled add-ons?

    but I do agree that ie9 is much better than previous releases.
     
  17. chartube12

    Member chartube12 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,727
    Country:
    United States
    I don't cared to use plugins on any browser.
     
  18. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seems to be working fine, no outward appearances are different but I may notice things performing better now, I guess.

    Incidentally, Firefox 5 still fails the Acid3 test, it scores a 97/100
    Which is funny because I recall Firefox 4 getting a 98, maybe.
     
  19. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nope, no add ons, complete vanilla install on both. In fact, if anything, IE9 has more to load as i'm signed in with my google account on that one (custom background etc.)
     
  20. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Internet Explorer has always been substantially slower for me. I do mean substantially. It could take a full minute to get the browser to a point where I could even type, closer to two minutes before I could navigate. Every other browser I've ever installed has been faster.

    Pretty cool that FF5 is already out. It would be no surprise if add-on compatibility was still pretty great, if not exactly the same as for FF4. It isn't like FF3 to FF4. They didn't change nearly as many core aspects for this version.
     

Share This Page