Homebrew file too fragmented?

Superfighter

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 4, 2018
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
385
Country
Israel
every game i try to boot in swiss showed me this: file too fragmented?
i tried other sd cards i have one 128gb trancend then 64gb sandisk then 32gb sandisk.. everyone is formatted to fat32 and 32k allocation size and no matter what it keeps this message again and again...
any solutions?
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,754
Trophies
4
Age
45
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,643
Country
France
a file shouldn't be fragmented if you just formatted the partition and copied the file right away.
it becomes fragmented if you already have files on it, and use the partition for a long time, you deleted/added files a lot of times on it.

if you don't want to format, there are tools to make a file unfragmented.
I'm using Contig for that.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/downloads/contig
it only "move" the file to a location where it can fit entirely. if there's no such area it might not work. formatting the card is probably a good idea.

I use it with Power Defragmenter (it's a GUI for contig).
 
Last edited by Cyan,

toxic9

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
819
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
1,297
Country
TESTED:
Sandisk 32Gb formatted with windows formatter (default options)
games are on .iso 1.35Gb
chinese SD adpater
they boot up perfectly.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,754
Trophies
4
Age
45
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,643
Country
France
contig is a command line program, you can't double click on it.
if you want to double click, use Power defragmenter, it has a graphical user interface for contig and is easier.
 

toxic9

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
819
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
1,297
Country
yes, fat32 always!
are you on windows?
I think you should replace your card reader...
do you have another one?
 

Superfighter

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 4, 2018
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
385
Country
Israel
contig is a command line program, you can't double click on it.
if you want to double click, use Power defragmenter, it has a graphical user interface for contig and is easier.
ok tnx

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

yes, fat32 always!
are you on windows?
I think you should replace your card reader...
do you have another one?
yes

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

contig is a command line program, you can't double click on it.
if you want to double click, use Power defragmenter, it has a graphical user interface for contig and is easier.
i tried it and the problem still happens maybe the sd gecko or the firmware of swiss have to do with the problem?
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,754
Trophies
4
Age
45
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,643
Country
France
maybe, sorry I can't help you because I never tried Swiss.
you'll have to wait for someone else to come help you.
Maybe ask in official swiss site/forum instead? I don't know if you'll get a quick answer here.
 

toxic9

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
819
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
1,297
Country
I mean card reader on PC.
Do you have another PC with card reader?
or an external one?
Give me your feedback.
 

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
4,316
Trophies
2
XP
14,576
Country
Germany
@Superfighter
Are you using Swiss on a Wii (since you posted this in the Wii forum)? For a Wii Swiss is not the best decision in my opinion.

Assuming you are using a GameCube and do not have the same choices as on a Wii:
Swiss supports the exFAT filesystem on SD cards. And… to my surprise I got the best results with that.

I tried multiple SDs in different sizes:
  • Freshly formatted
  • Checked md5sums of the game images after copying
→ Swiss still complained for some games the files were invalid or something like that.
It seems to me the GameCube is rather picky with SDs. I got all of my games working on a 64gb Kingston micro-SD with exFAT. It is a long shot, but please try exFAT.
 

Superfighter

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 4, 2018
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
385
Country
Israel
@Superfighter
Are you using Swiss on a Wii (since you posted this in the Wii forum)? For a Wii Swiss is not the best decision in my opinion.

Assuming you are using a GameCube and do not have the same choices as on a Wii:
Swiss supports the exFAT filesystem on SD cards. And… to my surprise I got the best results with that.

I tried multiple SDs in different sizes:
  • Freshly formatted
  • Checked md5sums of the game images after copying
→ Swiss still complained for some games the files were invalid or something like that.
It seems to me the GameCube is rather picky with SDs. I got all of my games working on a 64gb Kingston micro-SD with exFAT. It is a long shot, but please try exFAT.
there isnt in gbaremp forum for gamecube and gcforever is kinda dead.. and yes i useing gamecube not a wii.. what is md5sums?
 

toxic9

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
819
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
1,297
Country
i have a lot of microsd card reader to pcs it will matter what i will use if it will be the same micro
sd card?

Of course.
The Card reader (is also the card writer).
It's the card writer device that "writes" the information (fragmented) on the card.
 

toxic9

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
819
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
1,297
Country
I mean you need to change this: 510c-Ln-wML._SY355_.jpg.............NOT this : xszbnr1481798663623.jpg
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: I've got hiccups