Hacking Fieldrunners Downgrade method. Question?

Priyam

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2012
Messages
228
Trophies
0
XP
687
Country
India
In the dsi ware downgrade method, the first step after system transfer from a9hl 3ds to un-hax 3ds we back up the nand in the un-hax 3ds, so, does it imply that if we messed up during the a9hl process, we don't have to worry and can just simply re flash like the people doing the hardmod ?
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,144
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,094
Country
Australia
In the dsi ware downgrade method, the first step after system transfer from a9hl 3ds to un-hax 3ds we back up the nand in the un-hax 3ds, so, does it imply that if we messed up during the a9hl process, we don't have to worry and can just simply re flash like the people doing the hardmod ?
Yep, if you have the game with the exploit save you can read and write your NAND.
 

Priyam

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2012
Messages
228
Trophies
0
XP
687
Country
India
Well, you'll have to be able to get into the home menu. So if you brick it's no good. But if you can update by recovery mode you can still downgrade again.
I see, I thought I don't have to worry a thing like the hardmod users.
Anyway thanks, it's appreciated.
 

annson24

The Patient One
Member
Joined
May 5, 2016
Messages
1,191
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,843
Country
Philippines
Since a thread was made for this, might as well ask my queries:

1. After system transfer, can't we just connect a different NNID on the first 3ds? Why does the guide state that NNID will be unfunctional if it will not be transfered back after a week?

2. Continuing my first question, isn't it easier if we just do a factory reset on the second 3ds after a week then reconnect the NNID to the first 3ds?

Thank you in advance.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,144
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,094
Country
Australia
2. Continuing my first question, isn't it easier if we just do a factory reset on the second 3ds after a week then reconnect the NNID to the first 3ds?
Doing a factory reset allows a new NNID to be created on the second 3DS, but the original NNID is still linked to it according to Nintendo's servers and cannot be used in any other console. If you want to move NNIDs you must do an official system transfer, or call Nintendo and ask them to unlink/relink on their servers.

For the first question, you can if you don't mind losing all your games, activity log, Mii Plaza progress, and saves (to create a new NNID you'd have to do a system format since your system will think it still has the original NNID even though the eShop etc disagrees) you can backup your save games and reinject them afterwards though.
 
  • Like
Reactions: annson24

annson24

The Patient One
Member
Joined
May 5, 2016
Messages
1,191
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,843
Country
Philippines
Doing a factory reset allows a new NNID to be created on the second 3DS, but the original NNID is still linked to it according to Nintendo's servers and cannot be used in any other console.

Thanks for the quick response. A followup question, I know an nnid can only be linked to a single 3ds but can a single 3ds be linked to many nnid's? Thanks again in advance.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
 

annson24

The Patient One
Member
Joined
May 5, 2016
Messages
1,191
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,843
Country
Philippines
Thanks for the quick response. A followup question, I know an nnid can only be linked to a single 3ds but can a single 3ds be linked to many nnid's? Thanks again in advance.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Bumping this one up. I'll be downgrading quite a few 3DSes on the following days and I would like to know if I could use a single O3DS as the source system, of course I'll be using different NNIDs on different downgrades and will be purchasing the game on each downgrade too.
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,144
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,094
Country
Australia
Thanks for the quick response. A followup question, I know an nnid can only be linked to a single 3ds but can a single 3ds be linked to many nnid's? Thanks again in advance.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Yes. You can format and then create a new NNID. If you want to sign into an old NNID format and sign into the previous one.
 
  • Like
Reactions: annson24

justln

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
718
Trophies
0
XP
604
Country
Bumping this one up. I'll be downgrading quite a few 3DSes on the following days and I would like to know if I could use a single O3DS as the source system, of course I'll be using different NNIDs on different downgrades and will be purchasing the game on each downgrade too.
How? Nintendo doesn't allow you to system transfer more than once per week for each 3ds.
 
  • Like
Reactions: annson24

Redirr

X11 Extreme.
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2014
Messages
539
Trophies
0
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
XP
587
Country
Brazil
I made i thread about this with some question like that.

Another question i have. Its both 3ds are stuck with 7 days to bew transfer?
I meaning the source and the target 3ds cant do transfer before 7 days?
 

Redirr

X11 Extreme.
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2014
Messages
539
Trophies
0
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
XP
587
Country
Brazil
Correct, both have a 7 day wait.
So sad.
This limitation should be apply only to the target system.

The source system has nothing inside anymore so in theory its become brand new system.

This good time to find a way to bypass this into source console. But i think its a hard thing to do.

Well 11.0 its new the reality for out of box consoles i hope a better downgrade come up
 

vb_encryption_vb

That hardmod guy....
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2015
Messages
1,995
Trophies
2
Age
41
Location
Acworth, GA
XP
1,942
Country
United States
So sad.
This limitation should be apply only to the target system.

The source system has nothing inside anymore so in theory its become brand new system.

This good time to find a way to bypass this into source console. But i think its a hard thing to do.

Well 11.0 its new the reality for out of box consoles i hope a better downgrade come up
Its tied to Nintendo servers, im sure the next update will patch this method anyhow.
 
Last edited by vb_encryption_vb,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Xpk24, Sure thing.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    But this is the general chit chat. Nobody responds to questions.
  • Xpk24 @ Xpk24:
    esta bien pero tu lo vas hacer porfa
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Saying it like that sounds like you want others to do it than doing the research yourself.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    I've already posted a link to the Nintendo DS section so that you can post something regarding your DS flashcart. Just make sure all of your posts are in English as this is against the rules.
  • Xpk24 @ Xpk24:
    no yo no estoy diciendo eso solo necesito una información que necesito calmado
  • Xpk24 @ Xpk24:
    no se no donde sea si pero aca en venezuela las consolas de ds esta descontinuadas y la poca información que consigo en internet no es la que nesecito
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    You know, finding information about DS flashcarts isn't that hard. They can be found pretty much everywhere and a lot of them can be still bought, however, these are clones from previous generations.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    My apologies if I'm boring you. But if you'd like help with your DS flashcart, then I highly suggest making a thread to get a quick reply. Nobody is going to help in the chat section.
  • Xpk24 @ Xpk24:
    Hola chicos. Compré una nintendo dsi de segunda mano y viene con una tarjeta r4 pero no encontré su firmware/kernel. ¿Pueden ayudarme chicos? Este sitio dice: R4I-GOLDHK pero el enlace ya está inactivo
  • Xpk24 @ Xpk24:
    no tranquilo solo quiero informacion sobre esa tarjeta y bueno ya puede entrar en el discord de enlace
  • Xpk24 @ Xpk24:
    mas bien me alegro que alguien me responda este sisto wed
  • Xpk24 @ Xpk24:
    gracias por tomarte tu tiempo en explicarme
  • Xpk24 @ Xpk24:
    oye estas por hay?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Sup.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Please speak English.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Or get banned.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Veho, I asked them to translate their messages, but they didn't listen.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    For some reason..
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yeah man it's so much Spanish even my browsers asking to translate it
  • Xpk24 @ Xpk24:
    Hi guys. I bought a second hand nintendo dsi and it came with an r4 card but I couldn't find its firmware/kernel. Can you guys help me? This site says: R4I-GOLDHK but the link is already inactive
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://youtu.be/8YQov9O7e7Y?si=vywOcLkttFP9tVSC