Hacking Homebrew FBI doesn't give the option to install any cia file (3DS HomeBrew)

RAHelllord

Literally the wurst.
Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2018
Messages
764
Trophies
1
XP
2,916
Country
Germany
If you've hacked your 3DS via boot9strap and Luma3DS I'd recommend just following the guide along again to get your homebrew setup sorted out again, particularly the Finalizing Setup page walks you through the process of installing FBI properly.

Though I would also recommend double checking all the firmware files for luma are all in the right places according to the guide.
 

CoolMe

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
7,653
Trophies
1
Age
29
XP
35,070
Country
United States
I didn't think it was an sd card adapter "lock" issue, or the sd card going read-only, because of what you said in your first post here. 👇
I am not sure if this is relevant but I also have hshop installed and have had no issues downloading games from there.
Post automatically merged:

But yes, i would check the sd card for errors with h2testw to make sure it's not faulty or dying.
And @YamiKami after checking the sdcard, if you have a spare sd card adapter it wouldn't hurt to try with it as well. Or with a different sd card altogether just for testing sake.
Also goes without saying but, make sure it's formatted as Fat32 32kb cluster size after you're done testing it with h2testw.
 
Last edited by CoolMe,

YamiKami

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 10, 2023
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
40
Country
United States
I didn't think it was an sd card adapter "lock" issue, or the sd card going read-only, because of what you said in your first post here. 👇

Post automatically merged:

But yes, i would check the sd card for errors with h2testw to make sure it's not faulty or dying.
And @YamiKami after checking the sdcard, if you have a spare sd card adapter it wouldn't hurt to try with it as well. Or with a different sd card altogether just for testing sake.
Also goes without saying but, make sure it's formatted as Fat32 32kb cluster size after you're done testing it with h2testw.
It looks like it was the sd card after all. Still testing and its giving corrupt and lost data.

Warning: Only 250966 of 250970 MByte tested.
The media is likely to be defective.
29.2 GByte OK (61248351 sectors)
8.1 GByte DATA LOST (17042593 sectors)
Details:0 KByte overwritten (0 sectors)
0 KByte slightly changed (< 8 bit/sector, 0 sectors)
8.1 GByte corrupted (17042593 sectors)
0 KByte aliased memory (0 sectors)
First error at offset: 0x000000074d26be00
Expected: 0x000000074d26be00
Found: 0x276daf5209e57640
H2testw version 1.3

Thank you for your help.
Any idea where I can get a legit micro sd card? There seems to be a lot of fakes out there.
Post automatically merged:

Thanks to everyone who took the time to help me. Unfortunately, the cause of the problem was because of a faulty micro sd card. I wasn't expecting that to be the case since I've been using it for a long time. I'll have to search for a legitimate micro sd card and start from scratch. I appreciate the effort this community put forth and once again, thank you!
 
Last edited by YamiKami,

CoolMe

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
7,653
Trophies
1
Age
29
XP
35,070
Country
United States
It looks like it was the sd card after all. Still testing and its giving corrupt and lost data.

Warning: Only 250966 of 250970 MByte tested.
The media is likely to be defective.
29.2 GByte OK (61248351 sectors)
8.1 GByte DATA LOST (17042593 sectors)
Details:0 KByte overwritten (0 sectors)
0 KByte slightly changed (< 8 bit/sector, 0 sectors)
8.1 GByte corrupted (17042593 sectors)
0 KByte aliased memory (0 sectors)
First error at offset: 0x000000074d26be00
Expected: 0x000000074d26be00
Found: 0x276daf5209e57640
H2testw version 1.3
You did empty it before testing right? Also make sure to run it with the "read & verify" setting.
It's better to be the sd card that's faulty and not something else hardware-wise on the 3ds..
Any idea where I can get a legit micro sd card? There seems to be a lot of fakes out there.
Idk, Amazon? Aliexpress has some good (genuine) ones (i bought from there myself) but you might have to do some research like checking the seller, low reviews, pricing..
Though whatever sdcard you might end up getting, always check it for errors with h2testw, before loading it with data.
 

YamiKami

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 10, 2023
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
40
Country
United States
You did empty it before testing right? Also make sure to run it with the "read & verify" setting.
It's better to be the sd card that's faulty and not something else hardware-wise on the 3ds..

Idk, Amazon? Aliexpress has some good (genuine) ones (i bought from there myself) but you might have to do some research like checking the seller, low reviews, pricing..
Though whatever sdcard you might end up getting, always check it for errors with h2testw, before loading it with data.

Yeah I emptied it before testing (with read & verify setting). I'm really inept when it comes to technology but I can learn.

I've heard there's a good amount of fakes throughout Amazon so I wanted to try something else. I'll look into Aliexpress too. I've researched a bit and found that B&H is reputable but I've never heard of the company before. I don't know if it would be safe buying from them.

Whenever I do get the sd card, would I have to copy the 3ds backup onto the new sd card (after testing and formatting) and start over the homebrew process or do I just copy over the homebrew I started with?
 

CoolMe

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
7,653
Trophies
1
Age
29
XP
35,070
Country
United States
Whenever I do get the sd card, would I have to copy the 3ds backup onto the new sd card (after testing and formatting)
You have to copy the Nintendo 3ds, since that's where your games are installed (and saves). The homebrew apps you could get easily, if you lost them or if they got corrupt..
Copy the other data (you backed up from the old sd card) if you want to.
and start over the homebrew process
No, you don't need to re-install cfw. Worst case scenario is your Nintendo 3ds folder is corrupt too, and you might need to make a knew one..
or do I just copy over the homebrew I started with?
Redo the steps here if you're not sure.
And also get the latest Luma3DS from here.
 

Av9nx

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Mar 20, 2023
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
12
Country
United Kingdom
Hey! I'm new to both this community and to homebrew. I have run into an issue where FBI on the 3ds does not give me the option to install any cia file (the only options are Delete/Rename/Copy/Paste). I looked all over and can't seem to find a fix. I've tried deleting and reinstalling the FBI application but in order to do that I have to install FBI as a cia file which did not work to begin with so I'm stuck. I've made sure the FBI.3dsx file is in the 3ds folder and the FBI.cia file is in the cias folder. I am not sure if this is relevant but I also have hshop installed and have had no issues downloading games from there. I do not think the sd card is the problem but I'm too green to know where the issue really lies. Please help me!
The same is happening for me the only difference is it is just 3ds games I cannot install
Post automatically merged:

Hey! I'm new to both this community and to homebrew. I have run into an issue where FBI on the 3ds does not give me the option to install any cia file (the only options are Delete/Rename/Copy/Paste). I looked all over and can't seem to find a fix. I've tried deleting and reinstalling the FBI application but in order to do that I have to install FBI as a cia file which did not work to begin with so I'm stuck. I've made sure the FBI.3dsx file is in the 3ds folder and the FBI.cia file is in the cias folder. I am not sure if this is relevant but I also have hshop installed and have had no issues downloading games from there. I do not think the sd card is the problem but I'm too green to know where the issue really lies. Please help me!
The same for me difference is it is just 3ds games I cannot install
 

YamiKami

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 10, 2023
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
40
Country
United States
The same is happening for me the only difference is it is just 3ds games I cannot install
Post automatically merged:


The same for me difference is it is just 3ds games I cannot install
Sorry I'm no expert, but are your files marked as .cia? If not then that might be the issue. Also make sure you have enough space on your sd card.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BakerMan
    I rather enjoy a life of taking it easy. I haven't reached that life yet though.
    BakerMan @ BakerMan: fuckin heavy storm over here