Tutorial Oldies EverSD ROM & Artwork Scripts for FW 2.x Stock UI

esmith13

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
463
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
South Jersey
XP
1,180
Country
United States
That doesn't seem to work either, I tried using another sd card, but no succes. I tried a fresh installation but still the same problem.

I could save with save-states, but the in-game saves are not working at all. Should I make a save directory?
If you used my stuff for retroarch you need a 'saves' and 'states' folder on the root of the sd card. With stock emulators, saves and states are placed inside the 'game' folder next to the rom itself.
 
Last edited by esmith13,

Ninodude01

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 26, 2022
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
17
Country
Netherlands
I have all of those folders but it still doesn't seem to work, I have no idea what went wrong. Could anyone else save just fine and then quit the game, open the game and load the in-game save?
 

esmith13

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
463
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
South Jersey
XP
1,180
Country
United States
I have all of those folders but it still doesn't seem to work, I have no idea what went wrong. Could anyone else save just fine and then quit the game, open the game and load the in-game save?
I don't currently have a stock setup but I'll try to throw together a quick test on my VS. Name one system and one or two specific roms for that system for me to use that you can't get to save.
Preferably games that allow you to save right away so I don't have to play a lot first.
 

Ninodude01

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 26, 2022
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
17
Country
Netherlands
Super Nintendo - Chrono Trigger.

You can save the game once you enter the worldmap just right after you leave your moms house.
 

esmith13

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
463
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
South Jersey
XP
1,180
Country
United States
Super Nintendo - Chrono Trigger.

You can save the game once you enter the worldmap just right after you leave your moms house.
I tried a few games on both VS and handheld and had the exact same issue... Odd. I will have to look into this further...
As a side note, retroarch saves and loads fine. It's only the stock emulator that has issues...
 

esmith13

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
463
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
South Jersey
XP
1,180
Country
United States
UPDATE: Scripts version 1.5b have been released (see first post for download)

CHANGELOG: (v1.5b) - EvercadeVS Retroarch initial support! (See Notes Below) New art script "Create_Banner" for VS banner art. Also made changes to stock emulator roms script to increase compatibility with the system and resolve random line feed errors that resulted from creating unix style files on windows PCs.

NOTES for Retroarch on EvercadeVS: EvercadeVS support is experimental - especially since there has not been an EverPatcher release that supports it yet. Because of this, a SD card built with my scripts for EvercadeVS will likely NOT work in the Evercade Handheld (and even if it does, it's not ideal). I'm using some janky tricks to copy the retroarch binary to the VS temporarily and run it. Also, the new download includes the RA binary which MUST be on the root of the SD card and named 'retroarch2'. If you decompress my v1.5b tools to the root of you SD this will be done for you. You must also still add the 'retroarch' folder to your SD card like you would for an Evercade handheld RA setup. Lastly, my new download comes with two retroarch config files the will appear on the root of your SD card - one for handheld (as a backup - it's the same as the one in the EverSD RA download) and one for VS. If building a card with my scripts for the VS, you MUST copy the 'retroarch_vs.cfg' to the /sdcard/retroarch/config folder and rename it to 'retroarch.cfg' or you will not have the proper settings or input controls for RA on the VS. Please post any bugs or issues and I'll help and update the scripts as best I can. Hopefully EverSD will come out with a proper, jank-free setup for the VS soon.
 
Last edited by esmith13,

Ninodude01

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 26, 2022
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
17
Country
Netherlands
Okay, thanks in advance. I hope there will be a fix soon. Or if Retroarch will be working on the VS. it would be even better.
 

John91UK

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 28, 2022
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
8
Country
Italy
Hi guys, I'm new here, I'm John.
I'm going to buy an EverSD for my Evercade! I just read this tutorial, but I don't think that I've understood everything, it looks like quite difficult for me. So, I was wondering, is there a video tutorial too that shows, step by step, how to install games correctly and let them work?
 

esmith13

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
463
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
South Jersey
XP
1,180
Country
United States
Hi John! Welcome aboard!

There isn't a video tutorial but I promise you it's easier than it sounds - especially if you just want to use an updated retroarch to play your games instead of the built-in retroarch/blastem/mame emulators. I'd be happy to walk you thru it here via a 'conversation' or on discord if it's easier. You can even build your SD card while you wait on your EverSD to get a feel for the process - although you obviously can't test the results until it arrives.
 

John91UK

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 28, 2022
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
8
Country
Italy
Hi John! Welcome aboard!

There isn't a video tutorial but I promise you it's easier than it sounds - especially if you just want to use an updated retroarch to play your games instead of the built-in retroarch/blastem/mame emulators. I'd be happy to walk you thru it here via a 'conversation' or on discord if it's easier. You can even build your SD card while you wait on your EverSD to get a feel for the process - although you obviously can't test the results until it arrives.
Thank you so much, so kind! Yeah, I'd prefer Discord. Where can I find it? Or can you give a link so I can subscribe?
 

esmith13

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
463
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
South Jersey
XP
1,180
Country
United States
OK. I accepted it.
Hit me up whenever you ready to start messing with it. You'll need your uncompressed roms and (optionally) boxarts handy to work with.
 

EverSD

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 11, 2021
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
96
Country
Netherlands
That doesn't seem to work either, I tried using another sd card, but no succes. I tried a fresh installation but still the same problem.

I could save with save-states, but the in-game saves are not working at all. Should I make a save directory?
If you have problems, please do not hesitate to contact us for support via email.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://youtu.be/DS_SpOcn8HQ