Eternal Darkness Will Not Load on Wiikey 2 + Softmod

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by SharkSmile, Jul 13, 2010.

  1. SharkSmile
    OP

    Newcomer SharkSmile Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Turkey
    Hi guys. I have a problem that's been driving me crazy since last night. I wasted 3 disks, tried 2 different isos with no solution whatsoever. I googled all around the net but i can't even get a decent solution. Hell, I don't know if there is a solution...

    Problem is this: I just bought Gamecube controller and memory card for playing Eternal Darkness and Twin Snakes on my Softmodded AND hardmodded (with wiikey 2) PAL wii. First I burnt Twin Snakes, which worked wonderfully. But when i tried to burn and launch Eternal Darkness, it gave me an error at startup screen (at edgar allan poe Poem, something about referring to the booklet).

    Things I tried:
    Different Media (Verbatim, Diamond (Philips) Burned at 1x 4x 8x
    Different Speeds as I said above
    Gecko OS Multi Disk (I tried it)
    Patching with FSTFIX
    Patching with VIPER
    Fiddled with various settings of modchip (audio fix on-off, changed read speed to 3x and then 6x, turned region patcher on off etc).

    And nothing, ABSOLUTELY NOTHING made this game work. I'm beginning to think that it is about Wiikey 2, but why also softmod (Neogamma, GC Backup Launcher 0.1, 0.2) does not work? I installed MIOS patch too, but it doesn't work. My original disc doesn't work either :/ (I thought maybe my disc was not reliable and also tried downloading different ISO's from different regions, doesn't work)

    Any suggestions other than removing the chip and what causes the problem?
     


  2. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Are you getting a red screen error i know the game works all but the audio glitch
    I use UsbloaderGx to load my GC disc's and i use DARKCORP-v1 wiigator mios
    If you dont want to use a HDD then stick a usb stick in to boot the loader and use its disc channel
     
  3. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    You need either to install a clean MIOS(NOT cMIOS!) and run it from disc channel or you need to use WiiGator's cMIOS + latest NeoGamma set to GC mode internal. Right before the moment you get that error, eject the disc and reinsert it. NeoGamma R9 beta30 will most likely be able to play it without the eject trick, but it's not finished yet.
     
  4. SharkSmile
    OP

    Newcomer SharkSmile Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Turkey
    No, not red screen. In the opening, right on the Edgar Alan Poe Poem, an error pops up "An error has occured. Turn the power OFF and check the Nintendo Gamecube Instruction Booklet for further instructions."
    USBLoaderGX gives the same error at the same place.
    I don't think it's about DARKCORP or whatever, those IOS's are about Wii, right? I'm installing them now, but i don't think it will change anything.
    I have MIOS v4 from MIOS patcher which came with GC backup launcher 0.2, so i think it's Wiigator's MIOS v4.

    WiiPower, are you talking about original disc or backup disc? By the way I also happen to have a Wiikey 2 installed as I stated, can it affect anything with NeoGamma?
    I tried the eject trick with one of the backups (PAL) and it gave the SAME error at the SAME place right after I put it in. I also tried the original now and it doesn't work... Maybe I didn't press Eject soon enough? I will try again and post the results.

    Tried. Doesn't work at all... :'(
     
  5. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If the eject trick doesn't work with the retail disc, you might have a big problem.

    Forget DarkCorp and cIOS, mostly the MIOS matters*, and you can only have 1 MIOS or cMIOS installed at one time. Since you have a modchip, you have to treat the game as retail disc. This means that WiiGator's loader WILL fail to load the game as it's not retail disc compatible.

    I see the following options that should work for you(if you chip doesn't completely screw it up):
    Original MIOS + disc channel OR any loader that just boots MIOS
    Waninkoko's cMIOS + disc channel OR any loader that just boots MIOS
    WiiGator's cMIOS + latest NeoGamma set to GC mode internal
    The 1st method should even work without the eject trick, the other 2 will need it.

    Funny thing is that an Eternal Darkness backup on a "only" softmodded Wii instantly works, just without the speech. If the chip only makes the Wii believe it's a retail disc, but doesn't support the streamingcorrectly at the same time, you have currently no method to play the game.

    *Well as long as you don't use one of the major fail cIOS like rev11,12,15,16 or 18. When using NeoGamma, i recommend getting cIOS rev19.
     
  6. SharkSmile
    OP

    Newcomer SharkSmile Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Turkey
    I have Rev 14 installed. Should I update it to 19? I'm afraid that WAD Manager etc. will be broken because their versions are old.

    Also, there is no speech on Eternal Darkness when you start it from a backup? So there is currently no way to properly play the game with backup...
     
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    On a softmodded Wii there's no speech in Eternal Darkness, but you have a modchip that is supposed to take care of that.
     
  8. SharkSmile
    OP

    Newcomer SharkSmile Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Turkey
    So even if I remove the modchip, and go all the way softmod, I still won't be able to play it as backup... But I can play the original disc from disc channel when I remove the modchip right?
    Well, it's not happening anyway, since I don't want to remove my modchip for just one game...
    Is there ANY hope for me in future [​IMG] Anything...
    BTW i tried all of your methods, none of them works :'(
     
  9. Fudge

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure you installed a clean, official MIOS? Get it from NUSD.
     
  10. SharkSmile
    OP

    Newcomer SharkSmile Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Turkey
    What is the title ID of official MIOS? It says "enter a title ID below..." and do i convert it to WAD?
     
  11. SharkSmile
    OP

    Newcomer SharkSmile Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Turkey
    Some bumpness [​IMG]
     
  12. chop

    Member chop GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Pontefract
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    How do you mean 'no speech' I have speech on the opening cut scene the cop talking to the dead guy's daughter.
    I haven't played the game just made sure my copy loads.
     
  13. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This problem only happens when trying to run it using a loader, it should work ok through the disk channel.
     
  14. SharkSmile
    OP

    Newcomer SharkSmile Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Turkey
    No, it also happens through the disc channel to me. Can this be about Wiikey 2? God, why did I put that chip in my Wii in the first place...
    BTW, can anyone confirm chop? Is there speech in backup version of Eternal Darkness?
     
  15. terminal_illness

    Member terminal_illness Dark Hadou Master

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Canada! Mah Fukas!
    Country:
    Canada
    i have a wiikey 2 + softmod. my wii works fantastically. every gc game ive ever thrown at it plays perfectly from disc channel.
     
  16. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you check to see if audio fix it turned on? use the config disk to do this.
     
  17. SharkSmile
    OP

    Newcomer SharkSmile Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Turkey
    terminal_illness,
    What is your Wii's region? NTSC? PAL? What is your Wiikey 2 config settings and what's your firmware (1.2,1.3 etc) And did you try Eternal Darkness?
    Also which media are you using? I'm using Verbatims, tried to burn the game in 2x, 4x, 8x, 16x with no luck. Also with GeckoOS, audio fixes etc...

    I have a PAL Wii and it has this problem. Probably your Wii is NTSC, so you can play it without any problems.

    Tanas, i checked of course. I've turned that setting on and off, region patcher on and off, tried PAL version, NTSC version... None of them works...
     
  18. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Exactly, thanks.
     
  19. SharkSmile
    OP

    Newcomer SharkSmile Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Turkey
    Okay, i have a problem with Wiikey 2 then.
    Let's see what terminal_illness got to say.
     
  20. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Checked a few forums and found that it doesnt work with the wiikey 2.
    You'll need Gamecube Backup Launcher to run it using B, but the game has issues.


    This is taken from the Gamecube Backup Launcher Compatibility List.
    NTSC-U/-J Press 'B' to start. Works perfectly, until you die. The game resets after the Game Over screen (by design). Works on multi. Does not work shrunk. Tested on Xi/0.2. No background music in 0.3 gamma.

    PAL unshrinked does not work, shrinked freeze by the video of emperor charlemagne/Both shrinked and unshrinked boots fine with WiiGator's GC Backup Launcher version Xi. Press start to skip the intro after Video Mode selector otherwise it may freeze. Works fine with multiboot, just press start to skip intro.
     

Share This Page