Dumb question concerning batteries and personal profile data...

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by astrangeone, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. astrangeone
    OP

    Member astrangeone GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Is there any way to keep your personal data on the DS the same when you swap out a battery? I just bought a 2000 mAh battery, and would like to keep the data - if I remember correctly, it forces you to reregister your DS as a set.

    Weird.

    *Offtopic tangent* There's snow on the forums! Wheeee!!! [​IMG]
     
  2. Diosoth

    Member Diosoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    United States
    I believe all that info is stored in onboard flash memory. Otherwise you'd lose that info if the battery ran out of power.
     
  3. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its not that big a deal to re-enter a language, Name and colour is it? Just suck it up and do it although note that almost all "2000mah" batteries are crap and last less time than the official ones.
     
  4. XWolf

    Member XWolf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    745
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Diosoth: No, when you swap the battery it completely resets the lot. The DS will not turn on once the battery is lower than a certain point but it does not completely drain either - keeps the settings. If you had a ds sitting around long enough it would eventually lose it all.

    Jamstruth: I think he is worried about having to re register as a set for certain games, such as GTA and Transformers - which treat a card and a DS as a unique pair for online purposes.
     
  5. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The DS and card thing will not be reset by removing the battery as far as I know. Whatever serial number it uses for that is stored in the firmware so no problems should arise from that.
     
  6. XWolf

    Member XWolf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    745
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thought that might be the case.
     
  7. astrangeone
    OP

    Member astrangeone GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Ugh. Seriously? Okay, that's not a good thing...*sigh*

    Figured it was like a bios battery as well. *pout*

    I'm NOT A GUY! I'm an innie not an outie!
     

Share This Page