Dual Firmware -- 1 Card

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Shadz, Mar 15, 2010.

Mar 15, 2010

Dual Firmware -- 1 Card by Shadz at 8:24 AM (955 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Shadz
    OP

    Member Shadz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Down Under in Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Currently using an r4 card with YSmenu firmware, but I also want r4li firmware.

    Is there a way I can run both (as in start with one but choose to alternate to the other simply) or something like that =)
     
  2. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    download the firmware of the r4li
    find the .dat and rename to .nds,then run
    note:this won't work always,but R4 clones should be able to this with themselves,also firmwares from other carts(Acekard,Cyclo etc) will never work
     
  3. Shadz
    OP

    Member Shadz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Down Under in Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    So if I just chuck my r4li firmware in a folder, rename the .dat to a .nds and I can run it at will....

    Also, how would I go back from running the r4li firmware to the YSmenu, same thing??
     
  4. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    thats pretty much it,so copy TTMenu.dat and paste another one and do the same
     
  5. Shadz
    OP

    Member Shadz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Down Under in Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    All I can find which are .dat files are the _DS_Menu.dat

    Is that the file that I rename??
     
  6. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    yes....
     
  7. Shadz
    OP

    Member Shadz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Down Under in Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Ok...(Sorry for playing 20 questions, took me like 20 hours to get the firmware right)

    Sadly, its not letting me rename it or change it to a .nds it's just staying as a useless .dat file...

    I know I have to show the file extensions in the name, but can't quite rememeber...

    Edit: Got it. Testing now.
     
  8. Shadz
    OP

    Member Shadz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Down Under in Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Ok...I run the _ds_menu.nds for r4li and it just freezes...

    im on the gbatemp.net IRC channel...quicker discussion if anybody is available..
     

Share This Page