DSTT on a R4i-sdhc

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Axl Rose, May 28, 2010.

May 28, 2010

DSTT on a R4i-sdhc by Axl Rose at 7:36 AM (3,400 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. Axl Rose
    OP

    Newcomer Axl Rose Newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Germany
    Hello together,

    I am looking for a solution to run DSTT firmware directly on a "R4i-sdhc".
    I got it working with Ysmenu, but want to boot directly into DSTT firmware.
    Has anybody a solution for this?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Fresh™

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    Place the TTMENU file on your microSD. Scroll down your games menu until you find it, then press A. That's it.
     
  3. yellowperil

    Newcomer yellowperil Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Greece
    I think he was asking about directly running it, not running it from the firmware he already has.

    Replacing the firmware he got from the flash cart.
     
  4. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    On this cart DSTT and YSMenu are obsolete. The firmware that comes with with it is updated frequetly and plays all the new games. My question is why run one of the other firmwares? Unless you have one that is only compatable up to firmware v1.09.

    EDIT. Did a little tinkering with the autoboot YSMenu and got it to directly boot DSTT. You can get it here.
     
  5. Axl Rose
    OP

    Newcomer Axl Rose Newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Germany
    @hundshammer: Thanks for this. But this is YSmenu, isn´t it? When I try to load a game it says ttpatch.dat NO_BOOT_LOADER...

    The reason, why I wanted this is, that the R4 always corrupts my savegames from Pokemon.
    I tried to launch TTDS after R4 and then the same happened. I had another Card here with TTDS firmware, but this did not happened on this one.
    So I wanted to try out direct boot into TTDS and hope that this savegame issue wil be solved.
     
  6. yellowperil

    Newcomer yellowperil Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Greece
    Basically your wanting to mod a firmware for another card to work on your r4.

    I think if someone actually made a step by step explaining how the cards firmwares worked people would start modding and making their own.

    Obviously its not so simple as changing file names to make it work on another flash cart.

    My guess its about how it auto patches, etc.
     
  7. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    @ Axl Rose - I found the problem and fixed it. I have updated the link in my previous post to a working one. The problem was the ttpatch.dat file was missing, so I copied it over, and viola it worked!

    @ yellowperil - This particular cart is a DSTT clone even though it says R4 on it. Someone else made an autoboot YSMenu for this cart and I modified that to autoboot DSTT.
     
  8. Axl Rose
    OP

    Newcomer Axl Rose Newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks hundshamer!
    It works!

    But another question....
    Is ist possible to boot the TTDS menue and its features?
    I saw this and must say that it looks pretty well.
    Or do I have only to change the skin?
     
  9. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    All the features should be there. You may want to change the skin but that should be a simple affair. I was more worried about function over fasion.
     
  10. Axl Rose
    OP

    Newcomer Axl Rose Newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Germany
    O.k.
    But when I star my DS, I get following screen:
    [​IMG]

    Shouldn´t it look like that?
    [​IMG]
     
  11. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Ysmenu (top) is made by Yasu and is an extremely basic interface (based off of the R4's interface), whereas the TTDS firmware (bottom) is the original firmware that goes with the TTDS right from the beginning.
    Features-wise and compatibility-wise, they are mostly the same (although some games don't work on ysmenu using the same files as the TTMenu for some odd reason, though its a small number). Notable differences would be speed of the GUI (ysmenu is faster and can handle more files faster) and of course the looks of the GUI.
    So right now you look like you have done everything correctly (if it works at least...).
     
  12. TheCypher

    Newcomer TheCypher Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Brazil
    A quick question about the file,is it a YSmenu or another thing and if it a YSmenu is it a updated version?Just curious
     
  13. Axl Rose
    OP

    Newcomer Axl Rose Newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Germany
    My son tested it yesterday.
    Playing works fine. Then he saved his game.
    After that I started again and the savegame was damaged.
    Slowly I´m getting angry. [​IMG]

    I do not have any idea, what I should do, to make it work....
    Anyone else maybe?
     
  14. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Are you updated to 1.22b? If so check this thread, because it may be a formatting issue and not a firmware issue.
     
  15. Axl Rose
    OP

    Newcomer Axl Rose Newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Germany
    I updated yesterday to 1.22b. Reformatted my SD.
    And until now it works. *fingers crossed*
    So I do not know exactly, if this was a firmware or SD matter.

    But thanks anyway for everybodys help.
     
  16. Axl Rose
    OP

    Newcomer Axl Rose Newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Germany
    Thought I solved my problem.
    But now it´s getting more heavy.
    Everytime the save game is deleted when I restart the DS.
    I only have the chance to open it in pokesav then save it, copy to the card and then it works.
    Has anyone an idea what this could be?
     
  17. nijiko

    Newcomer nijiko Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    China
    This card has a hardware anti-fake. So you can't use other kernel (even it can be ran) to boot up.
    When hardware booting, it will check some string in R4.dat.
    The way to do it, only way, is injecting ttmenu.dat into r4.dat.
     
  18. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Actually on their forums (upgrading at time of post so no link yet) they have a kernal that boots directly to DSTT.
     
  19. Juanmatron

    Member Juanmatron Slater Color

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,667
    Location:
    SEGA's World
    Country:
    Spain
    DSTT firmware is the worse firmware I´ve see in a flashcard. Is piece of shit.
     
  20. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan

Share This Page